We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Loyalty to Their Membership Program”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shoreview
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Loyalty to Their Membership Program”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I am a Club Carlson member and used my points to book a one night stay for my brother's 30th birthday. (28,000 points) I called the hotel twice to confirm that he was booked to a whirlpool suite - he was paying the room upgrade fee of $40 for the night. I was told by Ashley the front desk supervisor that he was for sure booked to whirlpool suite. When my brother arrived for his reservation they were sold out and he was told that there were no whirlpool suites available. The closest hotel that they were able to find that had a whirlpool suite available was in ELK RIVER! When I called and spoke with Ashley she informed me that her general manager overbooked them a whirlpool suite or that someone extended their stay and that is why there was no more suites left for my brother. Furthermore - they didn't even take care of his stay at the other Country Inn and Suites.

The worst part. I called the following Monday to discuss the situation with the general manager (Carl) and all he kept telling me was that because I was a Carlson hotel employee that somehow that is why I no longer had the whirlpool suite for my brother. (And he kept saying that the upgrade is based on availability and it was no longer available - which makes no sense because the room was already guaranteed to be a whirlpool suite according to Ashley.) So they bump my reservation because I'm an employee? Even though I was paying the same amount of Club Carlson points that any other member would have to pay? I asked him to refund me my 23,000 points that were used for my brother's stay in Elk River and he denied it, but offered me to stay with them a different time in one of their best suites. I rejected that offer. I don't want to stay at their hotel nor do I ever plan to. If this is how they take care of their rewards members by sending them to a hotel far away when THEY were the ones that overbooked a room type and on top of that not pay for it - I never would bring or recommend any business in their direction.

On a good note - the Elk River Country Inn and Suites was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl E, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience here with us. For Carlson employees we always try our very best to upgrade them when the rooms are available. In this circumstance it was not available for upgrading due to being 100% full. I again apologize for this and would love to try and accomodate your request for a future date when we are not 100% full. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    62
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
149
18
9
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This place is really nice and close to my regular visiting place. I would definetly stay at this place again. Breakfast was really good. Rooms were nice and well maintained. I did not get a chance to check out swimming pool but I guess it will be wonderful, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay1495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl E, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you so much for your nice feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is great to hear you will be back again! Thanks for your business and have a great day!

-Carl Eriksson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed here with 5 Tweens for a birthday sleepover party on a Saturday night. Belinda and Kim were both very friendly and accommodating. The pool area is nice for kids. It has a water slide, small regular pool, a separate small wading pool for toddlers, and fair-sized hot tub. Seems to be a popular place for families and kids on the weekends because of the pool. They do have adult only swim after 10 pm. The woman who worked in the pool area was incredibly friendly, great with kids and tried to make sure everyone had a good time. Room was clean, but fan did not work in the bathroom. Normal continental breakfast with malted waffles and scrambled eggs, etc. Rooms are well soundproofed as neighbors said they couldn't hear our really noisy kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeLotsOfPillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl E, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We would love to see you again in the future!

Carl Eriksson- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Terrible experience - some hotel's responsibility, some chance. For hotel, pool looked very dirty. My 10 yr old and I didn't want to swim after we'd had a look. The hot tub looked ok but was full of rowdy hockey players who had also set off the fire alarm. Nice staff but hotel seemed unprepared to handle to problems of wild teenage hockey players. Topper was broken shower. Pass on ever staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethJ-Palik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl E, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback, the pool area is currently undergoing a major renovation to make it beautiful once again! Please contact the hotel directly to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We decided to stay at this Hotel for our Holiday Travels this year and booked a 3 night stay based on the reviews and location. When we arrived we found this Hotel to be lacking in several ways. I can say that the Pool area is completely disgusting. In fact, my daughter refused to Swim in it as the discoloration was terrible. Overall, we found the hotel to be dirty and not well kept. I checked out the same night and drove an hour to another Hotel that was much, much better (Holiday Inn Express). I did have a nice conversation the next day with the General Manager who was very kind but in all honesty I would never, ever stay in this location again. Unfortunately, this hotel chain is very dated.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinTraveler324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl E, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for your response! Please contact the hotel directly to further discuss your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently with our grandchildren. We had a great stay. The front desk person(s) were all friendly and helpful. Our check-in was completed quickly and efficiently. We found our room on 3rd floor to be clean and inviting. The small fridge in the room came in handy for us. The pool was fun and refereshing. The pool liner is stained and appears dirty but as the manager of the pool area explained to us it is just the hard water used in the pool. She assured us the water was clean and I believe it was. There were many items available to choose from for breakfast. The coffee and teas were GREAT!

Room Tip: If you want to use the waterslide be sure to ask at reservation time if it will be up and running fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhs352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel and I had a suite which was not allowed by my company. I went down stairs to exchange for a regular room. They asked would it be acceptable with my company if they let me stay in the suite at the regular room price. I said yes indeed. That was so refreshing because the suites are awesome. The property is very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: This property is located near an Interstate highway and a well traveled local highway. Could be a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoreview
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Blaine at the National Sports Center
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
Address: 5995 Rice Creek Pkwy, Shoreview, MN 55126-5021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Shoreview
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shoreview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTICE: IN ORDER TO PROVIDE THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF SERVICE POSSIBLE, THE HOTEL IS UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS THROUGH JULY. WE APPRECIATE YOUR UNDERSTANDING WHILE MAKING THE HOTEL FRESH AND UP TO DATE. ALL WORK DONE IS PERFORMED DURING BUSINESS HOURS MONDAY – FRIDAY AND WITH NONE ON WEEKENDS AND MINIMAL DISRUPTION. Situated in Shoreview, this hotel is within 12 mi (20 km) of National Sports Center, National American University - Roseville, and University of Minnesota-St. Paul. Bunker Beach Water Park and Minnesota State Fairgrounds are also within 12 mi (20 km). Hotel Features This smoke-free hotel features an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, water slide, and a spa tub. Free breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, coffee/tea in the lobby, and conference rooms. Room Amenities All 83 rooms provide conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, plus free WiFi and cable TV. Guests will also find coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, free newspapers, and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing