We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shoreview
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here when moving our daughter home from college. The staff was courteous and room was clean which is usually my #1 priority. The location was great right by a Target and Trader joes. The breakfast was ok but fine because it was free. We have stayed at the Hilton garden Inn next door before and thought this was just as nice!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2nd floor room right by the side entrance which was very handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodfanatic5201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for a nice review! I'm glad the staff could make your stay enjoyable. The Hilton Garden Inn is a great property. We are flattered to be compared and measure up to their high standards. We hope to see you again in the fall when school is back in session.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    87
    36
    13
    3
See reviews for
123
47
20
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, CA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We recently returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Normally we wouldn't stay at a hotel without an elevator, but the location was good for us, so we decided to put up with lugging our suitcases up the flight of stairs in order to get the top floor. We did get a quiet room in the back, so we did not hear any road noises. They were completely booked insofar as double Queens, so we got the King with a sofa bed. This was one of the smallest rooms we have ever had in a Hampton Inn. It was cozy and clean. The bathroom was also small, but we appreciated the heat lamp and the large counter top. The bed(s) were very good. But what the heck is going on with their housekeeping department? One day they skipped us entirely! Just never showed up. We were gone all day and when we returned at 5 PM, it was obvious they had never come at all. The front desk person seemed surprised and so, when we went out to dinner a bit later, she did send someone to change towels and empty wastebaskets. I was surprised because we had left a tip the day before. Then, the following day, between 9:00-9:30 AM, we were getting ready to depart for the day, and had put out the "do not disturb" sign. My husband had gone down to the lobby for something and I was in the bathroom. When he returned, we found a note under the door saying that since we had the "do not disturb" sign out, they wouldn't be doing a housekeeping service for us that day. Now, every other hotel that we have ever been in does checkouts first and then daily services later in the day. So I never expected them to get to us that early. In other hotels,if they've been cleaning on our floor when we've had the sign up, they've always come back later to see if the "do not disturb" sign is gone, which ours would have been 20 minutes later! In that case, my husband took our dirty towels and went down the hall and exchanged them for clean, but that's not my point. My point is.. no other hotels have ever done that to my knowledge, so I really have to wonder about their policy concerning housekeeping. Regarding the breakfast: It is certainly adequate. Not exceptional. The problem is - they have meetings right across from the breakfast room and when there are meetings going on in the mornings (which happened several of the days we were there), the breakfast room was a chaotic mess. People attending meetings were wandering in to get coffee and helping themselves to pastries, etc and we could barely move, much less get to the food. So, while this Hampton Inn has some positive aspects, it does not live up to other Hampton Inns we have stayed at and we were disappointed.

Room Tip: Around back by the "woods" is very quiet. Top floor requires climbing steps, but if that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachmeisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. The housekeeping issues you shared are definitely not the norm and something I will be addressing with our staff today. You should be able to expect daily housekeeping and yes the staff should return to your room later in the day to see if you have removed your "do not disturb" sign before they leave you a note. I assure you this will be remedied immediately. It is good to know that other things about your stay were positive. Yes the breakfast and meeting area can be a really busy place some mornings. I'm sorry you had to fight for space. Please be assured that we will be reviewing some options to see what we can do to prevent future issues like this. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, MN, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Excellent stay - this hotel was very conveniently located for my daughter's wedding, reception, groom's dinner and a following picnic. It is clean, well-staffed; the complimentary breakfast is excellent; Green Mill pizza attached is some of the best in the Twin Cities. Housekeeping did not always shine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Mr. D, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so glad to hear that overall our amenities worked so well for you and your family. We enjoyed hosting your event and will be sure to share your comments with the staff. I assure you that the issues you experienced with housekeeping have been addressed and we are working to improve our guests experience. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I own bed and breakfasts and vacation rentals so was surprised that my niece recommended a Hampton Inn for her guests in Minneapolis/St Paul for her wedding celebration. Was delighted with the facility and especially the staff - kudos to Peggy, Tammy and Helen. You are the best! A few hiccups with housekeeping but that happens anywhere. Highly recommend this hotel. Decent breakfast, great coffee, complimentary high speed internet, close to the freeway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank FredaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We have very high expectations for our staff and we are very proud of them as they consistently are going above and beyond to cater to our guests. I will make sure to share your comments with Peggy, Tammy, and Helen, as well. I will also be sure to share your comments with our housekeeping staff so we can work on improving our service and prevent future issues of that nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have never stayed anywhere that the entire staff--front desk, cleaning staff, breakfast workers, everyone--was friendly and welcoming. They all smiled genuinely and greeted us whenever we met any of them in the hallways. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Although there were a lot of young people staying there and our room was in a high traffic part of the hallway, the room was quiet. I'll definitely stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if stairs are a problem, ask for first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you. We have very high expectations for our staff and we are very proud of them as they consistently are going above and beyond to cater to our guests. I have shared your comments with our staff and they are thrilled. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERZ, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The staff were great. The breakfast was superb. We really appreciated the free wifi, too. The beds were very comfortable. One of the things we liked best was how close we were to places--this hotel has a very convenient location. We walked to a gas station one night. We ordered pizza from Dominos. We ate at the Green Mill, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Its so nice to hear that our staff and amenities made your stay so great. We look forward to having you back next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great hotel experience! Very friendly and helpful staff who were eager to make sure my stay was comfortable. Free wifi was wonderful and efficient! Breakfast was very big and had lots of options with nice/modern dining area. Hotel amenities felt modern and warm, and rooms had fridge and microwave making it possible to customize my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 20bethanyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
So glad to hear the staff and amenities suited your needs so well. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoreview
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roseville, MN
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseville - St Paul
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview

Property: Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview
Address: 1000 Gramsie Rd, Shoreview, MN 55126-2949 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Shoreview
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shoreview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus(R) St. Paul North/Shoreview hotel. Enjoy the convenient location in Shoreview, just minutes from the twin cities of Minneapolis-St. Paul. Whether travelers are heading to a meeting at Boston Scientific, Land O'Lakes(R), Country Financial(R), or Deluxe Corporation or visiting Bethel University or the University of Minnesota, location is important and our Shoreview hotel is minutes from each of these! Guests at this Shoreview hotel are also a short drive from many attractions such as the National Sports Center(R), Mall of America(R), Science Museum of Minnesota, and the Minnesota State Fairgrounds. Discover great shopping at the Rosedale Shopping Center, only four miles away, or catch a NHL game at the Xcel Energy Center(R), MN Twins game at Target(R) Field or some football at the new U.S. Bank Stadium. Our hotel is situated just nine miles from the National Sports Center(R) in Blaine, offering comfortable and convenient accommodations for sports teams visiting the venue. Take the free shuttle service, Monday to Friday, to the wealth of business headquarters, shops, and restaurants within a three-mile radius of the hotel. We offer a range of thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation like free high-speed Internet access in every guest room, room service, a fresh bed, a fitness center and an indoor pool. Wake up to free full hot breakfast every morning. Our on-site restaurant Green Mill serves up delicious meals for lunch and dinner - enjoy in the restaurant or in the comfort of your own room. Attached to the North Metro Event Center, guests can simply walk to the meetings, events or tradeshows that are hosted in this 5600 square foot space that seats up to 280 people. Our dedicated events team is ready to help you create the perfect event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / St. Paul North Hotel Shoreview
Hampton Inn Shoreview
Shoreview Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing