We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd Stay Here Again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silver Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Silver Bay
des moines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I'd Stay Here Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Nice, very clean and comfortable. Great owners who only want to see you happy. Good location. Outdoor fire pit really adds that North Woods touch. Liked it there and would definitely stay again. Consider supporting this young couple as they make a go of this business.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank klmtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We choose this property to stay at for our snowmobile trip. great access to the North Shore Trail System.

We reserved the cabin, did not see the motel rooms.

2 adults & a dog.

We were very happy with our cabin. Clean, warm & cozy. Lots of wild life on the property as well.

The new owners are very friendly & accommodating.

We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123_HeatherM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Darling tiny cabin right off hiway 61. Perfect for sleeping only! Frig is too small to hold milk and a bottle of coke. Friendly staff. Convenient location. I did not see the motel rooms. This is an older property being upgraded. Ask for Pandoras Box

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercerKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights while we were exploring the North Shore Scenic Drive. It is a very small room and there was no sound proof: We could hear every conversation in the next room. The picture shown on the tripadvisor page is a wrong picture.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haeshin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very nice stay for a great price! Like others have said, it a 7 unit motel and a stand alone cottage. The room and grounds are very well kept, very comfortable. Some have said the bathrooms are small. Being 6' tall I found them to be just fine. The location worked out well for us. The room has a coffee pot, small fridge, and a microwave. So what do you need to know before checking in? Bring food or snacks, there isn't much in Silver Bay for dining options. You will have to go to Beaver Bay which has some really nice places to eat and shop. As with most of the North Shore, you will be off the grid. Cell phone signals are hard to come by and no internet here so plan accordingly. They do have Dish Network so lots of choices on TV but if you want to watch your own movies, bring a laptop with a DVD drive. I brought books for down time so I was happy and recharged! Would we stay here again? Ubetcha!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bearpawqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walhalla, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

A group of us decided we wanted to check out the ATV trail system around Tettegouche State Park. The Whispering Pines was the perfect place for us to stay. Room to park the pickups & trailers. Able to drive our ATVs right up close to our rooms. The rooms were clean and reasonably priced, though rustic. The deck and the campfire were a great place to congregate in the evening. The owners were very accommodating to our group.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValleyCruiser57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have stayed at Whispering Pines Motel on numerous occasions over the years. It's a nice, cozy, reasonably priced place to stay and a great location for exploring the North Shore of Lake Superior. Friendly owners, fun times around the campfire with other guests, just a stone's throw from Tettegouche State Park and Palisade Head.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northwoodsgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Bay
8.9 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
4.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
21.5 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
25.7 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
18.8 mi away
Superior Ridge Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Motel

Property: Whispering Pines Motel
Address: 5763 Highway 61, Silver Bay, MN 55614-4215
Region: United States > Minnesota > Silver Bay
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Silver Bay
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing