We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our favorite place to stay on the North Shore”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silver Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Marais Lakeside Cabins
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Silver Bay
Clinton IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“our favorite place to stay on the North Shore”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Lakeside Cabins at least 8 times and love them all. This year we plan to stay at one of their colonial cabins located down the road a mile or so.
If you are looking for nice, clean housekeeping cabins near the lake, look no further. They are well situated near a number of great parks that feature wonderful trails and waterfalls and many family oriented attractions.
If you can`t find what you need at the office, there are towns nearby - Silver Bay (11 miles) or Beaver Bay (15 miles) that have grocery stores and various shops. But don`t go to Lakeside Cabins for the conveniences - go for the wonderful memories that you`ll take with you when you go back home.

Room Tip: Cabins 4 thru 7 are probably the most popular because they are literally right on the lake. When you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orr, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Because their single cabins were full, we stayed in half of the Corrymeela cabin. There was a bedroom with one bed, and the sitting area had a futon that opened into another bed. It was a bit small, but that was okay because we were there for only 2 nights. We spent our days up and down the North Shore and relaxed in the cabin after dinner. Very peaceful and quiet. Even though the cabin and kitchen area were small, there was a frig, stove and microwave. There was plenty of space on the deck for storing coolers. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: You will be able to look out onto Lake Superior from any of the cabins. There's a nice lawn bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maude59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We (two couples) wanted a place to stay after a few days in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area. The Blue String Cabin was an excellent choice. The inside of the cabin is beautiful and has all of the amenities that we needed. We enjoyed beautiful sunrises & moonrises, fishing off the rocks and reading in the swing overlooking the lake. Beautiful views from the deck & from the rocks. We played cards out on the deck & inside the house. There is a TV with DVD & VHS player as well as a stereo system, which we never used. Communication with the managers Patty & Dean was great before & during our stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PSInhofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshalltown, IA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed in cabin 4. A quiet place along the shore of Lake Superior. A great deal for this area. Very relaxing to sit by the fire rings or sit by the picture window and watch the moon at night. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Cabins were very clean and well furnished. Plenty of parking room. Very nice gift shop. Would love to go back. (Also nice to know we would still have a cabin to stay in when the State of Minnesota was "shutdown".)
One bit of advice--be sure to budget for fire wood. We probably spent $40 in the 5 nights we were there.
Must Sees while in the area:
Grand Marais
Gooseberry Falls
Cascade Falls

Also took the drive to Ely to see Wolf Center. Worth the trip.
In past years we have also gone to Grand Portage, Thunder Bay and Fort William. Also worth the drive.

Finally, visitors MUST go to BETTY'S PIES north of Two Harbors. Wonderful, wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatieLiz2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Bay
14.7 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
10.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
24.4 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
17.1 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
19.9 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Marais Lakeside Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Marais Lakeside Cabins

Property: Little Marais Lakeside Cabins
Address: 6476 Highway 61, Silver Bay, MN 55614-4220
Region: United States > Minnesota > Silver Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Silver Bay
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Resort is centrally located in the Arrowhead region of Minnesota right on Lake Superior's shoreline. All of the North Shore attractions are within easy reach, whether it be hiking, sight seeing, shopping or just plain relaxing by the cool waters of Superior.We have two cabins locations, both pristine and uniquely different. At our Lakeside Cabins the cabins are right at lake level in a park like setting with trees and grass right up to the cobble strewn shoreline. These one and two bedroom cabins, most with full kitchens and fireplaces, all have picnic tables and charcoal grills, as well as fire pits in front of each cabin. Many of these cabins are just 25 Ft. from the waters edge, all of the cabins have a gorgeous view. A perfect location for children, with a swing set and plenty of play area.At our Colonial Estates Cabins you will find yourself high above the lake well off the road with an abundance of trees and grassy areas. Here we have two rustic cabins that rent and two new units, a Log cabin and a two bedroom cottage intermingled with private summer cabins. Absolutely beautiful views, the cabins are about 40 ft. above the lake with pathways or staircases accessing a secluded ledge rock shoreline.In our gift shop The Eagles Nest you can find unique gifts and souvenirs of the area as well as Ice Cream and Sodas, cabins cuisine and condiments. If you left any necessary items behind you may just find it here. We have two year round rental houses, a two bedroom house at the upper level of the Lakeside Cabins called Elsie's House it has a large kitchen a huge living room with a family room with an amazing unobstructed view of the Lake sitting on four acres all by itself. The Superior House is a three bedroom house furnished in Antiques, with a fireplace and it's own private shoreline. This house sits on 4.5 acres. Our Vacation rental houses give you much more space and large kitchens for that home away from home feel. Both with great views and a shared Swing set. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing