We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good halfway point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Silver Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Minnesota, USA
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good halfway point”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was a good location to stop while traveling from Grand Portage, MN back home (total 10 hour drive). The ferry from Isle Royale did not reach Grand Portage until early afternoon and we did not want to stay in Duluth to drive all the way home. As with most Americinns, the breakfast was standard, with very few vegan/vegetarian options aside from apples.

The staff was slow. Eventually they were able to look up the rewards number. However, it was faster for me to call a friend working at a different americinn and have her look up the number; she found it first. Next time I will remember to bring the rewards card.

Rooms were clean and we had a view of the ridge. If I stay again, I would try for a Lake Superior view.

Room Tip: Rooms either look towards the ridge and parking lot, or Lake Superior and grassy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    92
    34
    5
    8
See reviews for
201
92
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed a few days to snowmobile the area. The hotel is right on the trail and a great spot to access the area trails. The hotel staff was great. The pool was a little cool for me, but the hot tub and steam room were awesome after a long day riding. The hot tub was actually "hot" compared to more hotels. All in all a great place, great people and fair price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very friendly staff. Excellent customer service at check in and check out. We arrived early and they did everything to get our rooms ready immediately. Room was nice, bedding was very warm. Temperatures were very cold (-10 to -33) but trip was well worth it. Plug ins available for cars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Everyone was very nice rooms are clean pool area was nice had our dog with had no problem taking her outside Its a great area I would stay there again when were in Silver Bay hope everyone has a good time but watch out for all the deer

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Juline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed in Silver Bay for a hockey tournament and I could not help but notice a lot of chatter among parents from all of the teams related to how pleased they were with the AmericInn in Silver Bay. Their staff just "gets it" and they did all of the "little things" right. We all had varying schedules due to game times. I heard many parents were able to check in early of late accordingly as some teams had to travel quite a distance---staff made it effortless for them. The check in/out was friendly and effecient. Great ambassadors for the Silver Bay area. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermentown
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The staff was exceptional and our kids loved it! The accommodations were clean well kept. We have been to many larger water parks with our family and our kids have been asking to go back to here for 2 years. It was not a disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Large, easy to use parking lot for a big truck. Tea and coffee available in the lobby which was nice on a cold night. Looks like a nice pool for the kids. Plenty of outlets for electronic devices. We like that the sink area is outside of the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank JLet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Bay
4.8 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
530 reviews
17.3 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
509 reviews
23.0 mi away
Superior Ridge Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Address: 150 Mensing Dr, Silver Bay, MN 55614-1344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Silver Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Silver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime location in Minnesota's Superior North Shore region and wonderful amenities make the AmericInn Lodge and Suites your best lodging choice while in the Silver Bay area. The AmericInn is located on scenic Route 61 just outside the city of Silver Bay approximately one-half mile from Lake Superior and just minutes from the Superior National Forest and several showcase state parks. A variety of room types are available, including rooms and suites that offer whirlpools, fireplaces, balconies and spectacular Lake Superior views. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. The hotel also features two spacious meeting rooms for business meeting and social gatherings. Start your day off right with our complimentary AmericInn Perk breakfast buffet and stay connected with our free High-Speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Guests of all ages enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, large whirlpool, steam room, kiddy pool with frog slide, and, of course, our 110 feet figure eight Big Splash Waterslide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Silver Bay
Americinn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay Hotel Silver Bay
Americinn Hotel Silver Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing