We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakfast and lovely meals”
Review of Bluebell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluebell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely bed and breakfast and lovely meals”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for one night in a very nice converted barn right next to the very quaint pub. The rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed with breakfast provided in the room in the form of cereals, pan au raisin, juice, milk, yoghurt in the fridge. Tea & coffee were also provided. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and were served lovely fare. The pub also has a few real ales and a lovely friendly atmosphere - we would have stayed there all night if we hadn't a party to go to! I would happily stay there again and would recommend it if you are in the area.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms so get there early so you have your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy l L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We've eaten twice in this old established pub in Lound which has only recently added restaurant facilities.

I didn't want to send a review after the first meal just in case it didn't live up to the second tasting but I have to report that the second outing was better than the first. I'd had fish and chips on my first outing and whilst the fish was very fresh and the batter light, the chips let it down a bit. This time round I chose from the specials and had tempura battered Thai fish cakes which were excellent and the chips that came along as well were better than before, I guess the chef has taken on board comments and got a different make of potatoes in. I like places that react positively to customer feedback.

The main menu has most of the usual favourites on it but every day there are a couple of interesting specials as well and these often seem to be even better than the main menu staples.

The prices not only for the food but also for the wine are extremely reasonable as well. given this place doesn't pretend to be a gastro pub the quality of the food is in my opinion well on the way to getting there. Service is swift and attentive. Sorry we didn't stay in the rooms so can't comment on them.

Well done Ivor and Joanne for taking the plunge to add food, very overdue!

Thoroughly recommended but note food only available Wednesdays to Sunday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BushmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. We ate in the pub one night with a bunch of friends and the food was really good. The rooms were a great size and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just one night but wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms are beautifully converted - and now the restaurant is up and working, there is a great menu too. It's a really traditional local pub which is a bit of a rarity these days and we're pleased to report the restaurant feature doesn't interfere with the atmosphere at all. The Chef clearly knows his stuff. We will be back!

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and what we could see of the others as we left, they're all on a par. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Only stayed for one night and didn't spend much time in the bar or the room, but it was very nicely decorated and the supplied breakfast was lovely. Room was very spacious. Excellent value for money and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

A wonderfull welcome from the owners, in the lovely quaint village of Lound. Fantastic beer and home made food and the cleanest toilets you will ever see. Will definitely come again. Thank you for a lovely day and evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our second time staying at The Bluebell Inn and again cannot fault the place or the hosts.
We will be going again when we visit family in the area. Haven't tried the restaurant as it hadn't opened yet when we were there but going by the standards of the place this will be excellent.
Highly recommend the Bluebell Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lound
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Blyth A1 M Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Lawns Guest House
The Lawns Guest House
#2 of 10 in Retford
74 reviews
3.8 mi away
Elms Hotel
Elms Hotel
#9 of 10 in Retford
194 reviews
5.5 mi away
Angel Inn & Lodge
Angel Inn & Lodge
#2 of 23 in Doncaster
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell Inn

Property: Bluebell Inn
Address: Town Street, Lound, Retford DN22 8RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Lound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lound
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite bed and breakfast available at BlueBell Inn, Retford. Top quality modern bed and breakfast just outside Retford, in the countryside village of Lound. Bed and breakfast, B&B accommodation in Retford and close to Clumber Park, Sherwood Forest and Doncaster Airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing