We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Bluebell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluebell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lound, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Visited for an evening meal. Excellent "pub food". Well cooked, well presented and very enjoyable. Will definitely be visiting again. Would recommend to anyone looking for a reasonably priced good quality meal from a varied menu.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We are locals and so pleased to find a pub with good beer and food. The Kelham Island brewery beer was good served by Ivor, the landlord. Joanne, his wife, was front of house for the food and obliged with advice and personal mixed choices. My choice of sea bass, prawns and mussels was excellent and amazing value. Others had pie, belly pork and salmon - all good.
It was a Saturday night with a pleasant buzz of locals.
I have been other times with a different menu but still excellent food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a perfect getaway. A lovely friendly pub with very modern rooms at the back. It wasn't noisy at all. The rooms were big, spacious and clean having everything you need for a perfect night away. the breakfast was plentiful having cereal, fruit, pastries and yoghurt! A true feast. If you want a cute little getaway place that is not too far from larger cities, but in the country this is the place for you! I highly recommend it and if ever I am in the area again I will most definitely stay at Bluebell Inn!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kweaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for the weekend with the Notts Centre Caravan Club. We were well looked after and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were lovely and such excellent service. Thank you for a great weekend and we hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LHickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have visited the pub a few times recently but only last night did we eat there for the first time, this after hearing good reports and seeing how busy the place had been for ourselves. The lounge area was very busy again but the lady in charge soon found us a place to sit whilst a table became available. Time to sample the beer then. There are always 2 real ales available, Black Sheep is resident (unfortunately!) and a guest beer, last night it was Easy Rider from Kelham Island brewery, served in excellent condition. The menu is simple but quite comprehensive, with three monthly specials also offered. The food is not particularly cheap but is reasonably priced given the quality. We both opted for medium rare steaks (1 fillet @ £15.95 & 1 sirloin @ £12.95) and both were well cooked, tasty & of a good size. There were no complaints about the accompaniments either consisting of mushrooms, grilled tomatoes, chips (or potatoes), veg (or peas or salad) and a diane sauce served in a jug separately. Overall a very good experience and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetfordPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were very impressed with the quality of the rooms and the food. The rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast provided more than adequate. We had Sunday lunch in the pub and the food and service was excellent. The owners Ivor and Joanne were friendly and welcoming. We will definitely say again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We went on Friday night. Place was busy, but nothing they couldn't handle. We had a starter and a main all 4 of us had different meals. Everyone of us said it was really good and would definitely be going again. It won't be long before you have to book to get a table, can see this place getting a good name for its self.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sue e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lound
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Blyth A1 M Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Lawns Guest House
The Lawns Guest House
#2 of 10 in Retford
74 reviews
3.8 mi away
Elms Hotel
Elms Hotel
#9 of 10 in Retford
194 reviews
5.5 mi away
Angel Inn & Lodge
Angel Inn & Lodge
#2 of 23 in Doncaster
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell Inn

Property: Bluebell Inn
Address: Town Street, Lound, Retford DN22 8RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Lound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lound
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite bed and breakfast available at BlueBell Inn, Retford. Top quality modern bed and breakfast just outside Retford, in the countryside village of Lound. Bed and breakfast, B&B accommodation in Retford and close to Clumber Park, Sherwood Forest and Doncaster Airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing