We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Bluebell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluebell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This great traditional village pub has just hosted my sister's wedding! They made it a truly memorable day!

Nothing was too much trouble and the service was excellent all day long. The fact that it is always busy reflects the popularity of this excellent pub. Suitable for locals like myself or visitors from afar looking for a comfortable place to stay or tasty home cooked food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Food ok although chips were frozen and not home made. Salad massively overdressed. Photo submitted. But more than anything the service was dire. Might of had dessert if they could be bothered to ask, but they didn't. That's all I have to say. Never again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Jaynechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful meal, started with the pate on toast a chutney,then for main pan fried duck on a bed of salad with home made chips,the portions were very generous as was the price but unfortunately I was too full for desert. We will be returning before too long ;-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We came across this lovely place after a long and tiring day of driving. Initially we intended to camp but once we had seen the superb bed and breakfast accommodation there was no choice to make. Really classy room - ultra comfy bed and superb bathroom and we were made so welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely meal in the pub in the evening. We would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecile172014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have had the pleasure of dining at this inn on a number of occasions and can highly recommend the quality of the food, the selection of real ales and the friendly owners. You are made to feel a part of the extended family just walking in the door and it gets better from there. All the locals exude the same welcoming attitude. The food selection is always outstanding and to point out out speciality, the fish and chip, on a friday, beggars belief. The portins are huge and cooked to perfection. If the Belly of Pork is on the menu I highly recommend that also. A truly, melt in your mouth experience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I have, over the last couple of years, put foreign clients up at the Bluebell as the accommodation is so good. Real five star at very reasonable rates. The food here is also excellent, great choice and very well priced. Joanne & Ivor are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The beer is excellent and no matter who you are, the locals are welcoming and up for a good chat.

Our daughter especially likes the well maintained play park in the quaint beer garden and if your after a bit of nature, a huge nature reserve is directly behind. Great for walking, cycling, dogs.. This place has it all! Room for caravans and plenty of parking.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Really really nice Sunday lunch, home made Yorkshire puddings, veg was lovely and they are very generous with portion size, much to my hubby's delight lol.. The puddings looked amazing but unfortunately I was too full to try one.. Maybe next time :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank angelawells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lound
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Cherry Park Hall
Cherry Park Hall
#2 of 2 in Blyth
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Blyth A1 M Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Lawns Guest House
The Lawns Guest House
#2 of 10 in Retford
69 reviews
3.8 mi away
Elms Hotel
Elms Hotel
#9 of 10 in Retford
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell Inn

Property: Bluebell Inn
Address: Town Street, Lound, Retford DN22 8RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Lound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lound
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite bed and breakfast available at BlueBell Inn, Retford. Top quality modern bed and breakfast just outside Retford, in the countryside village of Lound. Bed and breakfast, B&B accommodation in Retford and close to Clumber Park, Sherwood Forest and Doncaster Airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing