We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value for money”

Black Horse Caravan Club Site
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Densole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Horse Caravan Club Site
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Thursday night is steak night. Set price for a couple of Steaks and drinks. Plenty to eat, good food well presented friendly staff. Sat out in the garden on a lovely summers evening. 2nd visit and will be going back again.

Room Tip: only used the pub didn't stay at park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We travelled down from Teesside on a Friday afternoon and traffic was very bad around the Dartford Crossing area. The owners called to say they knew the traffic was bad and that they had an entry system at reception if they had closed. I paid over the phone and we arrived just after 8pm and owners were still there. Pitch was nice and big, hard standing and close to the hook up points. Very handy for our Dover to Calais crossing the following morning. Very peaceful site, however there was some road noise from big trucks, it wasn't a big problem but at one point we thought a truck was going come through the site it was that loud. That said it was only once or twice in the night and it definitely wouldn't put me off staying again the future and the owners were very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsg3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for one night before heading to Dover for the Calais ferry crossing. There is a separate area for ferry departures, arranged in order of departure time. It's close to the main road but was a quiet site nonetheless.

The pitches were large hard-standings with hook-ups close to each. Dish washing area and showers were clean and included in the site price. The facilities are clean but a little dates.

I would stay here again as it was only around 15 minutes drive to the ferry.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our first trip out in our caravan, we were given a map on arrival and parked up on the gravel space which had room for our awning and car
The showers were really clean and warm the two days we were there, also the room where you can wash up was tidy and warm
We are with the caravan club so it was really reasonable
The park for children is ok for older children but not suitable for our four year old
We would visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We needed somewhere to stay for one night near to Dover and as this site had good reviews I decided to try it out. I am not a caravan club member so had to pay £10 extra and when I rang to book, the lady said that if I’d not stopped in a caravan club site before I was “in for a treat”. I asked what was so special about a caravan club site and she said that the toilet facilities were really good. Having now stayed at this site I have concluded that although the facilities are good they are not any better than several sites I have stayed at which are not caravan club sites, so I am at a loss to understand why these sites charge such a lot.

That said, we had a good sized hardstanding pitch with electricity, tap & drain and although it was near the road had no noise problems. The toilet block (women’s) contained 1 hairdryer, 2 washbasins, 4 private washbasins, 4 showers and 5 toilets - all of which were very clean. Other facilities included 2 washing machines, 1 tumble dryer plus sinks and there were 2 or 3 (can’t remember) dishwashing sinks.

Reception seemed very efficient and handed out a site plan with ferry, tunnel, village & fuel station directions. This site is very convenient for an overnight stop before catching the ferry or shuttle train.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank christineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Densole
4.1 mi away
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
2.8 mi away
The Marquis at Alkham
2.6 mi away
Abbot's Fireside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rose And Crown Inn
Rose And Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Elham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Duke Of Cumberland
4.9 mi away
Derringstone Manor B&B
Derringstone Manor B&B
#2 of 2 in Barham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Caravan Club Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Caravan Club Site

Property: Black Horse Caravan Club Site
Address: 385 Canterbury Road, Densole CT18 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Densole
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Densole
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of farming country in the Kentish village of Densole on the Downs, Black Horse Farm Caravan Club Site offers a quiet and relaxed country getaway. For families wishing to visit the many interesting local attractions of this lovely area, the caravan park will not disappoint. Now with an additional 15-20 hard standing pitches and some new serviced pitches Black Horse Farm Caravan Club Site places you within easy reach of the historic city of Canterbury. Made famous by the masterpiece of literature The Canterbury Tales, the city offers ancient landmarks, a wealth of shops and numerous delightful pubs and restaurants. Food lovers can enjoy the annual Canterbury food festival, taking place in September. The caravan site is also a treat for nature lovers - there are many walks along the excellent system of footpaths in the area. The site is also in a great location for those with an interest in the National Trust and English Heritage, with several properties and sites nearby. With buses departing just outside the site and frequent departures, the attractive towns of Folkestone and Dover are virtually on your doorstep. Local shops and a convenience store can also be found close by to the site. Black Horse Farm welcomes tent campers and has tent pitches available to both members and non-members. Pitches can be booked online or by phone ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing