We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Norbert does it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bingil Bay Cafe

Bingil Bay Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bingil Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Norbert does it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Well Norbert is one of the 'front men' here, and he is a character. One needs a developed sense of humour with him, and when you do 'get it' he's a good guy.
The restaurant is the 'soul' of this area. It seems to emit a 'feeling.' On Tuesday nights there is a quiz night which is fun, but rigged, as lately I haven't won:-) As far as food and beverages go. The food, excellent, the Beer list comprehensive, but the wine is sometimes pretty plain. Not all that often.
Would certainly recommend as value for money and funky service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Medici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    67
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
“Just perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Saw the place as we drove past looking for our B&B. On our hosts recommendation, we went back here for dinner. Great place.. We shared a pizza and a snack plate. Great food, great hosts, great atmosphere. Shall be back, don't go anywhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ottafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting amidst the passion fruit vines & plants. Tasty burgers & huge meals. Service with a smile that goes the extra mile!

Helpful?
Thank SarahKateMahalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tickhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eclectic Mix of beer and music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Bingil Bay Café is a place to visit and very different from the bars in Mission Beach. The café is very relaxed with great food and selection of European beers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ashley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Dining with the locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We ended up here having a nice diner. It was trivia quiz weekend, and we were immediately adopted by the locals. Food is good, price is more than fair and the staff is very friendly.

Highly recommended!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeMies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bingil Bay Cafe also viewed

Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
Mission Beach, Queensland
 
Mission Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Bingil Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing