We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Hillsborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Run down!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Set in the beautiful Cape Hillsborough National Park is the eyesore that is Cape Hillsborough Nature Resort.

We had travelled down from Port Douglas to Brisbane so stopped at a lot of other accommodation and this stands out as being the worst by a mile! The rooms are grim - the air conditioner didn't work and we were bombarded by all the threatening posters everywhere inside and outside the room. Would it not be better to print something off which could be handed to guests showing all the rules and regulations (this was the case at all the other places we stayed at). Apart from a small table and a couple of chairs we also had what appeared to be a small patio table and one chair but as there was only one chair and two of us and because there was another threatening poster about moving furniture we didn't dare put it outside on the 'balcony' for fear of reprisal!

I am surprised that the reviews for the campsite are so good as quite frankly when we walked around the place looked a complete mess, in dire need of a really thorough tidy up ie removal of all the threatening notices that litter the place, sweep all the fallen leaves up and instead of wire bins full of empty cans could they not be disguised in a bin cupboard.

On a positive note the kangaroos were great and the location is beautiful - it is such a shame that the resort is not!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jax6341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, jax6341. We do attend to all reports of maintenance requirements as soon as possible and endeavour to find the best way of making guests aware of the park rules to ensure the comfort and safety of all. The busy holiday periods do put demands on our grounds team, not to mention the somewhat wild weather experienced this January. Please be assured that the management and staff are committed and do everything possible to provide a clean and tidy park at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    78
    21
    10
    22
See reviews for
94
95
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had been told that there were kangaroos and wallabies on the beach each morning, so were off to Cape Hillsborough Nature Resort.
The resort in a national park and after a scenic drive we had arrived, greeted by a friendly staff member who told us there were a couple of resident kangaroos that liked to eat and sleep wherever, they are approachable but remember they are still wild animals.
The RV (recreational vechile)/caravan/ cabin area is as expected -- very busy - as expected with lots of people and people noises and activities but the short walk to the beach was so worth it. From here you can enjoy all the beach activites or just park your chair and enjoy -- the birds and watch the ocean.
Five a.m. we were down at the ocean and very soon the kangaroos and several wallabies arrived. A fellow had spread abit of grain and after eating this the wallabies proceeded to pull up the seaweed on the shore and eat the bulbs at the base of the plants. So cool -- got several really good photo's.
PS -- limited phone & internet but really can we not live without being connected for afew days!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panbk4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have visited this resort over the years since the early 1990's, enjoying every one of our visits. Since the new owners Ben & Renea took over some 2/3 years ago much needed maintenance has been done in the grounds, enabling a few more caravan sites to be added and with the overgrown vines being taken down from some of the caravan sites, thus allowing the cool sea breezes to roll in unencumbered from the sea. In 2009 following a day trip from our home in Mackay our daughter and her family (from South Australia) expressed a 'wish' to spend Christmas in this idyllic spot, where our son-in-law could live his dream of fishing on Christmas Day. Year 2013, we all lived that dream. Spectacular sunrises with the Wallabies coming down to the beach, wonderful walking trails which show how amazingly well placed the resort/caravan park is within Cape Hillsborough National Park. The Park cannot be seen from the viewing decks which have spectacular views from above nor can it be seen from the beach. Granddaughter spend more time in the pool that she did out of it. Wonderful to hear all the laughter and squeals of joy from the children who were with their parents in the large pool which is covered with shade cloth. Whilst there is still limited mobile phone and internet access within the resort area, none of us suffered from 'lack of Internet/mobile shock'. In fact the lack of this access made for a much more relaxing holiday with no one continually checking their phones. The South Australian crew are talking about coming back and bringing their friends. On our local news last week Ben announced that this year (2014) they would start working on upgrading the cabins and villas which have not really had much done over the last 20-30 years. My only fear is that the upgrading and the obviously new pricing (once renovations are complete) may mean some families are priced out of such a beautiful spot for a holiday. Positive word of mouth is the best advertising the park can get. We will be back - after all it is only 55k from our front gate :) :)

Room Tip: Whilst the office/reception area does have a good supply of groceries, frozen meats etc, if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback, Pamela F. We are pleased to hear that a long standing guest continues to enjoy the many natural wonders and just some of the improvements that we have made in the last few years. It is our intention to make Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park the best of both worlds in terms of comfort and affordability and in keeping with the sensitive natural environment. We were pleased to host your family this year and look forward to your return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent family vacation spot, staff friendly, showers hot, clean, great salt water pool. Close to mackay, low surf beach, wildlife birds, kangaroos, possums, great easy walks. Cabins, powered &unpowered sites. I have been coming here for years. Limited phone & internet within the resort, but available in park grounds. I can't rate it highly enough.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
As a family operated park we understand that a few extras like kids activities during school holidays and an outdoor movie can greatly add to the natural beauty that we are so lucky to enjoy. We love to hear that we have helped to create a holiday memory for families and thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is absolutely beautiful. At sunrise the Kangaroos and Wallabies go down to the beach which is spectacular. The accommodation is basic and simple but the position, wildlife and the friendly owners make up for this. Well worth staying here and at least try and spend two nights to get the most of it and definitely make the effort to see the Kangaroos at sunrise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was one of the best spots we stayed on our way to the daintree ,that good we stayed on the way back also .
Management & Staff were very helpfull and made the stay enjoyable.
A special thankyou to Ben for going out of his way to do some welding repair on our caravan.
As Arnie would say "we will be back"
Ross & Lee

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossHunt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
It is always a good sign when our guests return, rossHunt2013 so thank you for staying with us on your trips up and down the coast. We will always endeavour to assist our guests in any way possible so lending a few skills for repairs is just part of the service. We look forward to seeing you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The "Resort" is run down and the staff unhelpful. We arrived for a two night stay expecting a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Instead the management seem interested in only one thing and that is ripping every dollar out of their customers at whatever cost to the customers. It should be a place where everyone can relax and enjoy the beautiful location. However the rules are posted everywhere in a really unpleasant and heavy handed way, the owners inflexible. We were planning to bring a large group in the new year but will definitely not be doing that. The cabins and surrounds are run down and very over priced. Despite that the beach and walks are lovely it is a shame that the whole experience is ruined by bad customer service and unmaintained cabins. Is it any wonder the tourist industry in the region is finding it tough. How can you make what should be a paradise somewhere you wouldn't want to go again. Next time we will stay in Seaforth and travel to Hillsborough for the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97RyanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We are sorry to hear that your time with us did not meet your expectations. As relatively new management we have undergone an extensive upgrade program of the entire park and we are making progress. We do pride ourselves on excellence in customer service so it is disappointing to hear that this was not your experience and will share your feedback with the entire team. We hope that you reconsider and return to Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Hillsborough
15.5 mi away
Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
12.9 mi away
The Shores Holiday Apartments
19.3 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
112 reviews
5.6 mi away
Seaforth Holiday Units
Seaforth Holiday Units
#1 of 1 in Seaforth
39 reviews
12.6 mi away
Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park

Property: Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park
Address: 51 Risley Parade, Cape Hillsborough, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cape Hillsborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Hillsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven nestled in the forest, and surrounded by the beautiful Cape Hillsborough National Park - the ultimate destination to seek respite from the pace of every day living. Awaiting you is private comfortable accommodation and beach front sites in an environment of natural beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hillsborough Nature Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing