We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nature location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Hillsborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This secluded resort on the tip of Cape Hillsborough has a great secluded beach and nice hikes throughout the area. The highlight was waking up at sunrise and catching kangaroos and wallabies feeding on the beach. We stayed in the beach house which was clean and fully equipped with dishes and cooking utensils. We made use of the communal gas BBQ.

Friendly staff. Make sure you heed their advise of tide conditions for some of the walks - high tide will make parts of the walks unachievable. Closest town is Mackay - about half hour drive away, so make sure you come prepared with food stuffs. We drove here from Airlie Beach in just under 2hrs felt like we had discovered a hidden gem compared to the backpacker feel of Airlie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your review, Shane C. It is a very special part of the world, that's for sure! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found your accommodation clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ideal for nature lovers. Perfect if you have your own accommodation as the beach cabins are old and very run down. They are working on refurbishing some. Hosts are lovely and informative. Coastline and walks are picturesque. Encounters with kangaroos on the beach were our main reason to stay. Excellent photo opportunities

Room Tip: Bring your own accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAACAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello TAACAT! Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the unique wildlife encounters that are a big part of staying at Cape Hillsborough Nature Resort. You are correct in stating that we are in the process of refurbishing our cabin accommodation - some are completed, and this will be ongoing. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our first few trips were camping trips with our tent and then camp trailer. Very clean and tidy amenities & a tidy well equipped camp kitchen. We have since purchased a caravan and have utilised the van here 3 times now. So peaceful and plenty to do if you wish, fishing, nature walks, swimming etc. Then there is always the added bonus that makes the park so enjoyable..the wildlife!! It's always a pleasure to come and stay Ben & Renae! See you again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello Gavin B! It is always a pleasure to welcome back familiar faces - we believe that returning guests are the highest compliment we can receive. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I went to Cape Hillsborough for 2 days but ended up having to stay for nearly 3 weeks due to spraining both ankles and torn ligaments. If it wasn't for the kindness, support, patience, friendship and helpfulness of Ben, Renae and their team at the caravan park then I would have been lost. Its refreshing to know that there are still people out there who are willing to help others. I cannot thank you guys enough. I will definitely see you again and climb that hill!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank RebinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hi RebinaC! Thanks for posting a review. It was our pleasure to help you on the road to recovery - we are pleased you are on the mend. We look forward to welcoming you back for that hill climb when you are ready! Happy (and safe!) travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had seen this resort in a Caravans Parks Book of Queensland, even though we ourselves are members of TripAdvisor/FlipKey in our home state of Hawaii, we had not thought of it as a destination..
We are currently on a 6-week campervan trip of Australia, travelling from Brisbane to Cairns, then back to Brisbane.
Let me just say that we are a married couple in our 50's/60's, and take a major holiday somewhere in the world each year. Needless to say, we have seen a wide variety of experiences, and, being in the hospitality business ourselves.....well, let me just say... we're tough as nails on accommodations!
From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left....5 STAR all the way!
The owners greeted us upon arrival, and we were immediately made to feel at home, that this was OUR place to stay and enjoy! Responsible folks, they gave us the rundown on the rules, which mainly revolved around being good campers...but ESPECIALLY the right way to treat the animals in the Park! That's why we were here...to observe and protect the animals!
I personally was astounded at the guest service. I just had never experienced that level in a camper park, on any continent!
We checked-in, arrived at our site, and there were two Kangaroos to greet us, lying in the sun. Immediately we felt like this was a Heritage site. Special. I mean special.
The camp kitchen was glorious, with all we needed. Toast? A Toaster. BBQ? A Grill. Wash your dishes? A sink for that. Wash your hands and brush your teeth in the morning? A separate sink for that. Toilets? Hot showers? They are there. Need a huge, spotlessly clean swimming pool? It's there. Beer? Wine? Food? It's all there (extra charge, of course!).
Look.....these folks are doing it right, and I mean RIGHT!!
They work tirelessly.....I saw Ben work at least 14 hours one day, and he still had a huge smile on his face! I couldn't do it! They have a dedicated crew, and the place is spotless. I read a review from a previous party, who was not enchanted with the place. Come on, Mate! You came in late, get a spot when you were cranky, and did not take the time to realize this is NATURE, in a National Park....well, get some understanding man! Sometimes Nature has it's smells!
To sum it up.....I don't give GREAT reviews lightly.....but HEAR ME NOW....
This is a GREAT PLACE...AT A GREAT PRICE...And you will not believe the experience you will get here......
When's the last time you rose at sunset, to interact with Wallabies feeding on the beach, in such a pristine setting?
DON'T MISS THIS OPPORTUNITY!
Jeff and Seneca, Big Island of Hawaii.

Room Tip: Communicate with the owners. Tell them exactly what you ae looking for in your travel experience, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banyannook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi banyannook! Well, what can we say except thank you so much for your kind words! It is always very high praise when someone in the industry speaks so highly of us, and lets us know that we are on the right track. We are very proud of our facilities and the resort, and will pass your compliments on to our hardworking staff, who are always pleased to hear that their efforts are appreciated.
How lucky are we to get to interact with such amazing wildlife here? We truly feel very luck to be part of such a special place in the world, and even luckier to hear how much our international guests enjoy experiencing it with us. We hope to welcome you back again some day. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I should point out that we didn't end up staying here, even though we intended to. After a fairly long drive (and reading a glowing advert) we arrived with high hopes. We booked a beach hut, and went through a long rigmarole about what we could and couldn't do. Even had to pay a $20 deposit on the room key, something we've never come across before. Drove through the park to our beach hut, and were confronted by a row of old, dilapidated buildings. Opened the door to our hut, and were even more depressed. Old, faded, with buckling walls, and it stank.....of what, I don't know.
We drove straight back to reception for a refund. On the plus side, the girl at reception was charming, and the surroundings were beautiful Such a shame.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hello Sheila A. Thank you for your review - we are sorry to hear that on this occasion we weren't your accommodation of choice.
We are currently in the process of refurbishing, renovating, and upgrading our accommodation - this is a gradual process which is in its early stages. We are always looking for ways to improve and upgrade our facilities and resort, and thank you for your feedback as part of this process.
A key deposit is required here (and is standard industry procedure) to cover the cost of the unlikely event of a key being lost and needing to be replaced. This deposit is refunded at check-out.
The smell you referred to has also been noticed by us and our staff - it is sea spawn (a natural occurrence at certain times of the moon), so is completely beyond our control, and the process does allow our beautiful reef to reproduce and keep growing.
Again, our apologies that your expectations were not met on this occasion. We do hope to welcome you back again at some stage so that you might enjoy all that our resort and surrounds have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This place is set in the beautiful national park with lots of interesting beautiful nature walks all starting right from the resort! At night it's like camping in the bush with these little raccoons and bush turkeys running around and in the early hours of the morning head down to the beach to see the wallabies playing and feeding on the beach! Shower facilities are adequate but could do with updating and the pool is lovely as are the staff who were really helpful and offered lots of advice on what walks to go on.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Houps17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Houps17, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community! We are absolutely chuffed to hear that you enjoyed sharing your holiday with our local wildlife. We always feel really lucky to be located in such a beautiful area, surrounding by such an abundance of gorgeous flora and fauna; and love it when we hear that from our guests that they felt the same. We will make sure to pass your kind words on to our staff - we are very proud of our park, and also of our hardworking staff. Thank you also for your comments about our showers, we will take them on board for consideration - we always appreciate feedback from our guests on how they feel our park might be improved or enhanced. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Hillsborough
11.5 mi away
Dolphin Heads Resort
Dolphin Heads Resort
#30 of 34 in Mackay
161 reviews
5.6 mi away
Seaforth Holiday Units
Seaforth Holiday Units
#1 of 1 in Seaforth
41 reviews
18.3 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park

Address: 51 Risley Parade, Cape Hillsborough, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cape Hillsborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Hillsborough
Price Range: £21 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven nestled in the forest, and surrounded by the beautiful Cape Hillsborough National Park - the ultimate destination to seek respite from the pace of every day living. Awaiting you is private comfortable accommodation and beach front sites in an environment of natural beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hillsborough Nature Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing