We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stopover”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clairview
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Arriving late, not feeling like setting up our tent we had the choice of different priced accomm eg. Queen or double bed, with or without ensuite ranging from $70 to $95 overnight. We chose e $95 option which gave us a brand new cabin with ensuite and kitchenette. We really appreciated a comfy bed after travelling for 12 hours and enjoyed the ocean view the next morning before heading off. The management was very obliging and gave us keys to inspect the different options of accomm which was appreciated. We would stay again if the opportunity arises. Thank you

Room Tip: The ensuite cabins are closer to the water and opposite the toilet block if required. The motel styl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just had a great weekend at the BarraCrab Caravan Park! We camped on a no powered site which was very grassy with plenty of shad and room to set up tents/gazebos. The shop itself has everything you need at a reasonable price including ice which was a life saver. We all had a ball fishing and crabbing on the beach which was quite successful and delicious with huge crabs! Will be coming back!

Room Tip: Newer cabins were nicer. Un-powered camp sites were much larger then the powered sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdrianM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Manager at BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. – and great to hear you enjoyed your recent weekend here. Fishing and Crabbing is definitely a highlight of this region – we often sit down to a feed of fresh fish and crab! See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Barracrab is a great caravan park right on the water. The staff a happy, friendly and very helpful. The bar and restaurant are very reasonable offering tasty evening meals at reasonable prices. Can't wait for our next visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swimmer1NewcastleNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Manager at BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return visit and trust that you will continue to see positive improvements to the park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Love this park been a few times now. Beautiful spot and great atmosphere. Lots of fun camping over looking the beach , relaxing sitting around the fire with possums coming in for a nightly visit. Great home cooked meals and bar overlooking the water or around the fire pit on cold nights. Fishing and crabbing or bush walking or laying on the beach reading a book.
If your into pristine big 4 style parks with neat slabs in a row and brand new pristine amenities this may not be for you but if your into simple fun and great bush camping in a remote pristine spot with characters and campfires this place is awesome Highly recommend for true camping lovers. There is a variety of on site accomodation available too.

Room Tip: There is no pool or organised children's activities There are sites that back on to the beach or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracie555au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Manager at BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We agree with you that it is the beauty of the area and the ambience of the park that we are trying to highlight as we improve the facilities. We trust that you saw and liked the refurbishment to the Mens’ amenities during your recent stay – there are plans to upgrade the female amenities as well.

In regards to kids activities, we currently do not offer structured kids programs, but have provided a few new options including the volley ball net/ball, totem tennis, and free use of kayaks (under parental supervision). We are also looking at offering more outdoor movie nights too. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Love your statement – “Highly recommend for true camping lovers!”. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Friendly staff, great amenities and lovely serenity. We camped only one night but was worth it... used the free kayaks in the morning and saw turtles!! Top spot for a quiet weekend getaway, will definitely be coming back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Manager at BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. – glad to hear that you enjoyed the opportunity of paddling the kayaks and that you saw turtles. Maybe next time you will get to see the dugongs as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

It is best to have high tide around midday if you want to go fishing or crabbing. Wind can also be a problem. Bar staff are friendly and helpful. Meals were very basic and overpriced for what you received. They were also inflexible in the time it was delivered

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Manager at BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. – and yes visitors need to be aware of the tides when boating and fishing. A lot of people enjoy checking out the rock pools, putting out/checking crab pots or relaxing when the tide is out.

In regards to the meals – we pride ourselves on offering homestyle meals – however we are in the process of reviewing our menu choices. Do you mind letting us know which meal was on the menu the night you dined to assist us in our review?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Arriving for a weekend away on a Friday Afternoon we rolled in and were greeted with friendly managers and an explanation of the renos taking place - NO Problems, love the communication. we stayed in the ensuite cabin, and although an older style accom, with a smaller size bathroom (WHO wants to stay inside when your away for the weekend at the beach) it was fresh and clean! lovely.
We ate home cooked meals, chatted with the locals and drank at the bar, the beach is the most relaxing place to walk and every corner on the beach has a new place to check out, even the mud flats were interesting. Fished off the beach and caught a whiting.
if you hope to relax and you don't want people at your feet, to fall over them, you will love this place! relax and take it in, one of the best weekends we will be back! service A1. Kids Loved it!

Room Tip: The Accom is being upgraded at present, expect clean and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Manager at BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thanks for your feedback – and we are glad to hear that you love the ambience of this place as much as we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview

Address: 1 Colonial Drive, Clairview, Queensland, Australia (Formerly Clairview Beach Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Clairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Clairview
Price Range: £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clairview Caravan Park is under new management and has been rebranded as "BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview". The reason behind the name of the Park is because Clairview is renowned for fishing and in particular for catching Barramundi and Crabs.The Park is undergoing general upgrades to both the facilities and the style of accommodation with new beach front cabins in the planning process.Clairview is one of a couple of places on the East Coast of Queensland where the highway almost touches the beach. So if you want a stop over on your way up or down the coast or if you want to come and catch some of the best fish in all of Queensland, call in and say hi to the friendly staff and stay a few days. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing