We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
86
43
10
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
43
10
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoreton islandhot showershared kitchengeneral storefree tea and coffeebooking processcooking facilitiesbedroom unitwheel drivefishing gearcamp kitchensteak sandwichtangalooma resortfire pitbeautiful locationday tripafter a long day
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Firstly, Moreton Island is the epitome of untouched paradise. We swam with dolphins, snorkelled, fished and climbed the dunes, the weather was perfect the sky was blue and the ocean was some of the most amazing colours I've ever seen.
The staff at the Bulwer General Store (where the Eco Resort is located are brilliant, helpful, friendly and full of local knowledge.
The units however are just a step up from camping. So treat it as such!! If you like getting back to nature, (and lets face it with so many amazing things to do on the island why would anyone stay in their room??) tell yourself you are camping, except you have a flushable toilet a shower and a matress to get off the sand. Oh yeah and there is a TV in the room, if your not to exhausted to keep your eyes open at night. There is also a fridge / freezer which is a bit of a luxury for an island with only solar electricity and generators.
We enjoyed a beautiful meal at the Castaway Restaurant, everything else we supplied for ourselves and as it is advertised as self contained, prepared for ourselves.
Yes its very dated and could do with some loving but the location is great and the people are very helpful. Aussies who have grown up camping will appreciate it for what it is. Enjoy the island and dont build your hopes up about the room.
We cant complain about the value as we too used the Cudo deal and have paid more than that just to take our 4WD and family over on the Micat.

Room Tip: We had Room 8 I didnt see any others. It has 2 bedrooms a bathroom and a good sized kitchen / dining. + a living area. Pretty noisy if the generator is on but they do turn it off at night
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy_hc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

OUR EXPERIENCE: UNIT 3 - outdated decor but very large, absolutely clean, flat screen tv - very unexpected, generator power necessary unless you wish to sit in the dark, have no refrigeration, fans or TV, of course to boil water you used either the microwave or the gas cooktop. The store was very modern and appeared recently updated as was the restauarant very relaxing with a palm frond thathed roof - island style

Generator power does not support energy hungry appiliances such as kettles, hairdryers, hair straighteners but will recharge your mobile, ipad etc

Budget - absolutely, but this is an island where everything needs to be shipped in, theres no industry or manufacturing here just a pristine picture perfect island 75mins via the Micat from Brisbane !
Unfortunately our 4WD had an overheating problem and we limped back to the Wrecks, with no shortage of help from fellow 4WD enthusiasts - big thank you to everyone that stopped to support us! There was intermittent mobile phone signal particularly transitting Middle Road where we broke down.

The assistance that was offered to us by the fabulous caring team at Castaway Eco Resort was just fantastic, we really wanted to let them know how valued they made us feel when we had trouble with our 4WD.

Note there is no RACQ support on Moreton Island, the only mechanic belongs to the 4WD hire company affiliated with the Tangalooma Resort, the man at the 4WD hire said their mechanic was far too busy to help tourists but he could hire us a car for $325 + + from 0800am -500pm BUT ONLY IF WE WERE STAYING AT THE RESORT ! More ++$$$.

We were given a mobile number for a transfer from the wrecks at a cost of $80 each way so you could see our dilema when all our gear was still at the Resort miles away,

Surprisingly even the National parks office in Brisbane were unable to provide a mobile number for the Islands rangers, so they contacted Policelink who in turn ramped up the local SES to assist us, but fortunately we were able to difuse this response as we had by now reached The Wrecks.....

So after many frustrating hours in the hot sun It was more than we expected when the team at Castaway Eco Resort packed up all our gear and then brought it to us when we were stranded at the Wrecks - all for FREE.I

Gail, Angie & ++ need to be congratulated !

We managed to get home safely and uneventfully, the 4WD is now fixed, just a small heater hose ruined an otherwise fantastic weekend !

We want to acknowledge the entire team at Castaways/Micat they really were very helpful and welcoming when we arrived and overwhelmingly so when we had the 4WD break down !
Such an amazing island, who would know anything so pristine, was so close to Brisbane – we didn’t for many years, now we tell everyone !!

Go with an open mind. don t expect too much and enjoy the warmest welcome at Castaways !

We wont be deterred and feel sure we ll be back at the first opportunity.

Thanks again for your hospitality

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Safari747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Moreton Island......an amazing, awesom island!!!!!!!!!!...the staff at the eco resort..--very friendly and willing to help!!!! The eco lodge.....disgusting.....never took my flip flops off during our entire two night stay...the carpet was utterly despicable!!!! Kitchen lacked a basic kettle.....??????? Bathroom......even kept my flip flops on to take a shower.....shower curtain...ring of mould at the bottom of the curtain (how much would it cost to replace this plastic piece??)....linoleum strips peeling in various places. Mattresses...felt like I needed gloves to put my sheets on the bed...the twin bunk beds...yuck!!!!!!! No screen door in the bunk bedroom..as a result....we got bitten by many mosquitos!!!! I was ready to go home the minute I entered unit 3, but I was able to tough it out because Moreton Island was so pristine and breath taking!!!!!

I could go on and on,,,,,but please take my advise and do not stay here!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paintrena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Public Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for your honest feedback. We have made huge changes to the Eco Lodge since your visit. Every room has had a fresh coat of paint, all floors have been replaced from carpet to timber/vinyl and the bathrooms in every unit are being upgraded as we speak. It is always difficult to maintain a unit on an Island where the bore water stains most things and the sand dust takes a constant cleaning effort. I agree, there is no excuse for mould anywhere and we are in the process of employing new cleaners and adhering to new standards per the hotel rating system. Our staff are friendly Island locals who are incredibly passionate about their roles and with the new upgrades, should make their lives a little easier. We hope to see you back at Moreton Island very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My family takes an annual holiday to beautiful Moreton Island and for the past 6-7 years we have been staying at these units at Bulwer which have recently been renamed 'Eco Lodge'. After this years 5 night stay, we will not return to this accommodation until a serious upgrade has occurred.

We have only ever expected budget accommodation as was reflected in the price, however this year the price increased significantly to $150 per night and hence we were expecting to see some improvements to the property. How wrong we were. We stayed in unit 3, above the shop, which was in such a sad state of disrepair it's hard to know where to start - the 20cm ring of mould around the bottom of the cheap plastic shower curtain, the dilapidated bathroom vanity with peeling strips of laminate and rotten interior, the bunk bed mattresses so thin my kids had to double them up so they couldn't feel the bed springs, the stained and threadbare carpet, the broken or missing fly screens, light fittings with blown bulbs or the shabby 70s kitchen which didn't even have basic cooking utensils anymore. Clearly the unit had not been occupied for some time before we checked in as evidenced by the thick layer of dust on all the surfaces.

It was disappointing to see the deterioration in the unit since last we stayed there. The only improvement, to support the 'Eco' claim, is the installation of solar power to supplement the noisy generators. Also, the shop has been refurbished to include a cafe/restaurant, however it appears to have reduced it's stock of basic items to the extent that we had to pre-order and pay in advance for bread and milk to ensure supply.

As mentioned, we have been coming to this establishment for years and have never expected much. We accepted that the noisy generators ran 16 hours a day, that power used to cease around 11pm each night, we weren't there to watch TV or DVDs so poor performance of these appliances didn't matter, however is it too much to ask to provide a set of kitchen tongs to turn the steaks on the barbie? Oh and that's another thing, the BBQs have been removed, so no more barbie's on the verandah. Although none of the verandah lights worked anyway.

In our opinion, Moreton Island is one of the best destinations in this country and we will definitely return BUT we will find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RobTeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Nice quiet place for couples especially if you like fishing and your own company - make sure you stock up on essentials as transport around the island is limited and services.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews