We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday retreat.”
Review of Sea Dragon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Dragon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were made to feel most welcome by our host Steve. The lodge was beautiful, clean and tidy with stunning views of Kangaroo Island. What a treat to have our own private beach and how we enjoyed supping wine in the gazebo with Steve after a dip in the crystal clear blue sea.
Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

We hope to return one day but it's a long way from the UK!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank catherinepearson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hi Catherine & Jim,

The pleasure is mutual.. We really enjoyed having you stay and it was great to meet you both and the family. Hope you had a safe trip back home. You'll be very welcome back, hopefully not too long!
warm regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Sea Dragon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Location, location, location. This was the most magnificent place to arrive at after a very busy Christmas week catching up with an extended family of over 30 individuals from all over the world. Having done the family "thing" Kangaroo Island was planned as a chill out session for me and my wife, my closest brother and my niece and her husband. Sea Dragon was all that we could have asked for and more. The view was stunning, Steve was a fund of useful information and the place is extremely comfortable and well appointed and reasonably close to everything. Even the chickens and sheep added to the entire experience along with an abundance of other wild life, Kangaroos, lizards, birds, echidna's, emus and so on.

Room Tip: Whole place is just fantastic!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Hi Chris
Thanks very much for your great review
Glad you and the family enjoyed themselves and were able to unwind and relax

All the best.
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was a perfect place to explore the eastern end of Kangaroo Island. The accommodation is perfectly situated on several acres, sheltered from the wind but with wonderful views of Backstairs Passage and some of the coastline of Kangaroo Island. We enjoyed wandering the paddocks to spot kangaroos during the day and especially at dusk. The site has some interesting walking tracks, including to a private beach. It is walking distance ro Cape Willoughby Lighthouse. A tour is worthwhile, as the guides are a wealth of knowledge on the lighthouse and its history.

Sea Dragon is beautifully appointed, with every thought gone into a luxurious stay. Steve, our welcoming host, thoroughly spoilt us with generous serves of fresh, delicious gourmet food including free range eggs from the live-in chooks. Steve was also a wealth of information on island activities and suggestions for sites to visit.

We loved our stay at Sea Dragon, would not hesitate to recommend it and would return with pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Hi Margaret
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate it
All the best
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Writing this in our last night in the property... truly refreshed after 7 wonderful nights at the Sea Dragon Lodge on KI.

Steve and Gail the owners have been both lovely and available when ever required (maybe once?!) .. hosts full of information and advice, yet completely private so you wouldn't even know they lived on the property and we had complete privacy - something I rate as essential. Fresh eggs from the "ladies" didn't go astray either, with beautiful offerings from their chickens!! Best poached eggs ever.

The lodgings are immediately comfortable and there is nothing that I wanted or needed from home in terms of cooking, or going about daily routine etc. Perfectly equipped for what you might need- we made everything from Mexican to Roast Pork, to the pudding I'm sitting with now!

Very comfortable bedding and high quality of furnishings throughout. It was day 4 though before we remembered there was a great coffee maker though... soon made up for it, and it was a really great addition. Little extras greatly appreciated.

We came on purpose in winter hoping to get some wild weather and were not disappointed ... plenty of cool weather for a lovely time lying in front of the wood fire, listening to the "crackle" with a book Ive been trying to read for months and a glass of wine! I personally got some good time in, in front of that fire!

We are 2 professional people who were looking for quality accommodation and surroundings in which we could decompress, relax and get away from it all - this has done the trick.

We were blessed with a few lovely sunny days too though, and ventured around the island.

The property is on a slightly remoter end of the island, a good 35 minute drive back into Penneshaw, but on saying that the roads are a little rough at the moment due to some heavy rains this season, probably a little quicker at other times. I imagine that the island is perfectly approachable with a regular car, but we have been happy to have our 4WD for a little off road action.

Hubby is a keen photographer and has been up at the crack of dawn every morning, no lack of places locally for beautiful sunrises. Away from it all, the darkness was perfect for night photography, star photography etc. and some magical sunsets.

The deck outside and the huge glass windows make for beautiful nights, watching the waves and bay, the birds, the wildlife. We hope to return in the summer time to make greater use of the beautiful private beach, Pink Bay.. I already have my rock picked to lie down on a towel and soak up the sun with another book... jumping in for a dip when I get a bit hot!

This property has been perfect for what we needed. Cant wait to come back.


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BinkyandSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thankyou very much for your very kind review, it was an absolute pleasure having you both stay at the Lodge. I really looking forward to seeing all the great photos that Steve took. Gail & I are looking forward to having you stay at the Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in this lodge for 2 nights and we wish we could have stayed longer.
The views were amazing.
The house was perfectly decorated, rooms were very comfortable and the kitchen and living room were excellent.
The owners were also very welcoming and advised us about the places to visit during our stay in Kangaroo Island.
Definetely, I would stay in this lodge. It is the best choice in the island and the best price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kea2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thankyou very much for your kind review, it was very much appreciated. You're right you really need 4 days or more to see most of what the island has to offer. I Look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy some of the other island highlights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at sea dragon for 5 nights in winter and even though the weather was cold,wet and windy, our stay by the fire over looking Pink Bay was wonderful.
On the other side there was a lovely isolated lighthouse on a rugged cliff top that we loved to wonder around.
We certainly intend to travel to KI again and stay at the Sea Dragon Lodge but next we will bring more wine to have by the fire!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi Craig,
Great to have you both stay at the Lodge we really enjoyed your company. You're right, KI can be an amazing place during winter. Nothing like watching the huge swells rolling around Cape Willoughby Lighthouse. Look forward to seeing you again.
warm regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed at sea dragon lodge with my girlfriend. whilst visiting KI. Although it was in the middle of winter and the weather wasn't the best, it was a beautiful place to stay. We were greeted by Gail who was very hospitable, she showed us around and offered us a glass of port to warm us up on our
arrival. The fireplace was crackling away and it felt very homely.We enjoyed cooking our own meals and the use of the DVD and book selections...and what about that view from the verandah, magic. The property was nice to explore aswell at the nearby lighthouse. If you don't mind driving a little out of the way to enjoy your own secluded slice of KI I'd highly recommend staying at sea dragon lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tress_denno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thanks very much for your review. It was great to meet you both. We love KI in the winter, with the beautiful green everywhere and just watching the occasional storms roll by from the comfort of the log fire. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you both back at some stage.
kind regards
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willoughby
75.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
19.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
416 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
844 reviews
30.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
30.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dragon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dragon Lodge

Address: 2575 Cape Willoughby Rd, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Willoughby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Willoughby
Price Range: £260 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Dragon Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dragon Lodge offers luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation providing a unique combination of:. Our very own Private Beach. Spectacular Coastal Scenery. 250 Acre Seafront Estate. Amazing Wildlife At Sea Dragon Lodge Resort, both the Lodge and our new Eco-Villas, offer luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation that overlooks stunning coastline and woodland. Our private sandy beach is just below. Wildlife abounds: kangaroos, echidnas, goannas and a bevy of birdlife. Coastal splendour and enchanting wildlife. Blissful seclusion and stunning views. A private world of relaxed, informal luxury. That’s the Sea Dragon Lodge experience.... Sea Dragon Lodge provides a tranquil Kangaroo Island retreat, with several types of luxury Kangaroo Island holiday packages to choose from ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Dragon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing