We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot, great place, great people”
Review of Sea Dragon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Dragon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
McLaren Flat, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Spot, great place, great people”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was my first trip to KI and the sea dragon lodge was the best palce for us to stay. We wanted somewhere away from the main tourist areas and the east coast was it. We found It was very easy to unwind. Steve made us very welcome and steared us to all the sights on the island. The accommodation was great. The secluded beach was fantastic, we share a fire, some good wine and good company around the fire one night. We had a meal prepared for us one evening and it was very good, we were not wanting for anything else after the meal, Well done Steve. George and Tracie

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Manager at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks George. It was lovely meeting you and Tracie, we really enjoyed having you stay. All the best Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
116
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our first trip to K.I. and the Lodge was the perfect place to spend a couple of days unwinding. Organizing the accommodation was a breeze and Steve was always very prompt in responding to my emails. The Lodge is in a great spot with a great view and it's own beach. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and the wood fire gave a great ambiance. We'd spent the previous day travelling all over the island, which is huge, so our stay at the Lodge was a nice way to give the car a rest. We walked to the nearby lighthouse and went on a very informative tour. The Lodge is on an unsealed road, however our little 2 wheel drive coped quite well. Make sure if you are renting a car that driving on unsealed roads is allowed. Overall, a great break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Brad,

thanks very much for you review, its greatly appreciated. really glad you enjoyed the stay.

best regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A great way to see a little or a lot of Kangaroo Island. Our first trip to K.I. was spent alternating between Steve driving/guiding us to the sights of the North and south coasts and days relaxing in or near the lodge. Our one day fishing had us all landing some squid (which Steve cooked up for us that evening!) and a nice haul of 16 whiting (which gave us a couple of delicious meals).
Steve has a great manner and is a relaxed but informative guide. The lodge is very comfortable and secluded and it was great having the whole place to ourselves but the soon to be completed villas will be equally good. The bird show is a must.
Definitely try the fishing day but take some warm clothes and a spray jacket!

Room Tip: If travelling as a family do like we did and take the "whole" lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Michael,

thanks very much for your review. Its greatly appreciated. I really enjoyed having Catherine, you and the kids stay and look forward to catching up again.

best regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was going to Adelaide for a business meeting over a couple of days, so thought I would take in some sights for a short break on the weekend before.I had been to the Barossa & Clare Valley thought I would give Kangaroo Island a try. From the minute I contacted Sea Dragon Lodge the response was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. Steve organised to pick me up & return me from Kingscote airport.
The couple of days couldn't have been better planned. The pace of the days & Steve's guiding knowledge, not overwhelming but very informative was superb.Visiting Islander Estate Wines with a tour by the very engaging owner Jacques Lurton was a highlight. A wonderful 3 course Greek lunch with wines at an old boathouse was a welcome relax in the middle of the day.The location was exceptional, the food excellent & the company engaging.The stories of the flying fox at Weirs Cove so very interesting.
I will leave it to Steve to let you know the great sights he can take you to, some wonderful surprises.
Sea Dragon Lodge has magnificent views & a private beach. The rooms are very comfortable & very clean. The shared lounge is very welcoming & homeley.
Steve & Gail are the perfect hosts, gauging exactly the amount of time to spend with you.
I will be returning with my grown up children & their children for a family holiday.
Kangaroo Island is still wild & unspoilt with no high density modern living.
Go there while it's still like this & stay at Sea Dragon lodge or maybe one of their new Eco Villas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Rosie,

Wow!! Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate it.
You were a lot of fun to have at the Lodge and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are very excited about having you and the family come back and stay. We look forward to it.

Thanks again
Steve & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Lodge at Cape Willoughby was a perfect spot from which to explore the island and with the help of Steve and Gail we were able to see some amazing sights. We saw Kangaroo Island as it really is.....from the Australiana of the Eucalyptus distillery to the delights of kangaroos literally outside your bedroom window. Our stay was a unique experience. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the food was freshly prepared (try apricots in the Moroccan Lamb Steve) and excellent. A stay made more memorable by Steve and Gail's kind hospitality. This is Kangaroo Island as it should be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Ken,

It was great to meet you and Annette. We really enjoyed having you stay and thanks very much for your terrific review. Look forward to seeing you back. I'll try the apricots this time :-)

warm regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was our second visit to Sea Dagon lodge. It's the perfect setting for a secluded getaway, and we came away completely relaxed and satisfied that we'd seen enough of the Island.

The rooms are spacious and clean, and you can wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing on the private beach. Previously we hired the whole lodge, this time we stayed in one room and shared the living area with other guests. It was nice to get to know some really lovely people. There's a lot of wildlife spotting to be done on the property, even from the deck you'll see kangaroos, lizards, eagles, hundreds of birds and some very friendly chickens.

Steve and Gail are great hosts, managing to strike the balance between helpful, welcoming and entertaining and giving us space to do our thing. They tailored our visit right down to the finest detail. Steve gave us a snapshot of everything the Island has to offer – the pristine, deserted beaches; wineries; wildlife (so much wildlife!); and of course the key attractions Admirals Arch and The Remarkable Rocks. But the highlight of the trip had to be the five star, three course lunch in a converted shack on one of the most beautiful beaches we've ever seen.

We're already planning our next visit. They're installing a couple of Eco-villas in the coming weeks, and we're really keen to check them out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Matt & Lex,

Glad to have you back again. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Lex the chickens are pining for you :-)

Cheers
Steve & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittagong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just had one of the best holidays I've ever had at Sea Dragon Lodge, Kangaroo Island. Run by Steve nand Gail Lane, they welcomed and looked after us like we were family, while at the same time gave us tme and space to do our own thing.
The smallest detail was taken care of and from the moment we were picked up by Steve at Adelaide Airport we had nothing to do but relax and enjoy, From the first wine tasting to the last home cooked meal, the food and wine were superb. Steve and Gail catered for every taste(we had 1 vegetarian and 1 coeliac amongst us). Fresh seafood to exotic curries, nothing was too much trouble and everything was done without a fuss. Their passion for the Lodge and property, their business and Kangaroo Island showed in all they did and couldn't help but rub off on us as guests as Steve showed us the wildlife and landscape delights around his property and the whole island.
Sea Dragon Lodge itself has amazing views and its own beautiful private beach. It's loving looked after and maintained and as far as comfort goes no detail spared- coffee machine for early mornings, freshly baked bread daily, and a warm fire ready for your return if the weather demands it.
I wanted my husband to be spoilt for his 60th birthday and he and the whole family( two 30 yr ols and their partners) received the best break we've had together for a long time, right down to the gluten free chocolate birthday cake and french champagne!
Thankyou Steve and Gail. If I could rate you 6/5 I would so I guess you'll just have to settle for 5/5!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Margaret,

It was an absolute pleasure having you and the family stay. So glad you had a wonderful stay. Look forward to seeing you again

best regards
Steve & Gail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willoughby
75.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
29.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
19.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
30.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
38.8 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dragon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dragon Lodge

Property: Sea Dragon Lodge
Address: 2575 Cape Willoughby Rd, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Willoughby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Willoughby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Dragon Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dragon Lodge offers luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation providing a unique combination of:. Our very own Private Beach. Spectacular Coastal Scenery. 250 Acre Seafront Estate. Amazing Wildlife At Sea Dragon Lodge Resort, both the Lodge and our new Eco-Villas, offer luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation that overlooks stunning coastline and woodland. Our private sandy beach is just below. Wildlife abounds: kangaroos, echidnas, goannas and a bevy of birdlife. Coastal splendour and enchanting wildlife. Blissful seclusion and stunning views. A private world of relaxed, informal luxury. That’s the Sea Dragon Lodge experience.... Sea Dragon Lodge provides a tranquil Kangaroo Island retreat, with several types of luxury Kangaroo Island holiday packages to choose from ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Dragon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing