We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous views, great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Binalong Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay of Fires Character Cottages
De Haan, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights in de deluxe cottage, higher up the hill.
Perfect stay, well equiped cottage, very clean , nice deck and great views.
Perfect stay for visiting nice region, beaches...

It was not clear where the entrance and reception was, but we had a warm welcome.

Restaurant at bottom of driveway serves decent foOD

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMIELANDMARLEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your kind words.
It is extremely gratifying when guests enjoy their cottage and the lovely area that we are so blessed to live in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in Dotril and it was gorgeous; the weather was amazing and the view is incredible. The cottages are well appointed and clean and I could happily have parked myself on the deck and not moved for days.

One thing: the reception is a little tricky to find at first, with the signage not quite clear. I'm not sure why they don't provide a mud-map on booking; it seems like a simple enough thing to do and would take the stress out of arrival. The roads between the cottages are narrow and steep and no one needs to be rat-running through them after a long day's drive.

Would love to come back again for longer. The area is simply gorgeous, though I suspect the weather was a big plus during our stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
So pleased you enjoyed our beautiful area and the view from Dotril Cottage.
It does state on our sign where Reception is and there are signs on the large stones as you come up the driveway.
I have now placed a simple explanation of how to find reception on arrival on our Confirmation/Receipt.
This has never really been too much of a problem but hope this will solve any issues.
There are also two entries and exits to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed in Dotril for one night which was beautiful. We arrived - not knowing where to go and went all the way to the top to reception which is a treacherous drive to find nobody there. So we went down to the cottage to find the key in the door - some instructions would have been nice - a greeting would have been nice - given the amount we spent.
The accommodation is nice, the view is unforgettable - we wished we had stayed longer and had more time to explore and that the weather was a little kinder. If you have time check out the restaurant at the bottom of the driveway.

Room Tip: Maybe ring ahead for instructions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I am so sorry that you had this experience.
I live on site and would have been most likely off servicing cottages.
If you pick the phone up at reception door I can be reached wherever I am and I would have attended to you straight away.
Unfortunately as we are a small business and I have everything to see to I am unable to man the office at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed in Dotril for just one night - and it was perfect. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer – but we'll be back. The cottage was exquisitely clean, simple, uncluttered and very comfortable and well equipped - and has the most wonderful views. We loved staying here it was so beautiful and wild and unspoilt. The restaurant down below is nice addition - lovely service and a good food and wine list. Thank-you Marion you run a great ship!

Room Tip: All the cottages appear to be lovely and brilliantly placed to maximise the views - no need to agoni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words Catriona.
So pleased you enjoyed the little cottage and the views and beautiful area.

It is very rewarding when guests have had such a lovely time.
We may see you return one day to really have the time to explore all that there is to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We only had a night here which was unfortunate as the weather was not kind although we were luck as a few days later it was really bad.

The cottages are well situated and all overlook the beautiful bay which on a sunny day would be absolutely magnificent. Each cottage has its own garaging facility. Our cottage was well appointed and very comfortable and also catered for those who like to cook and if the desire is there you can also do your own washing.

The beach is just across the road and there are plenty of places to explore.

For those who don't want to cook there is a café below which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the dinner we had was excellent.

For those on a short stay well worth a stop over and a must for those with time on their hands.

Room Tip: All the cottages have great views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for this lovely review.
So glad you enjoyed our area and the sea view from your cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here in October 2013 for a photography/blog trip.
When searching online for accommodation, we were baffled by the lack of decent and affordable accommodation near St Helen's, so we were thrilled when we found out there was availability at Bay of Fires Character Cottages.

We stayed in the Albatross Cottage which was beautiful and quaint. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean and waking up to the beautiful view was a treat.

Marion was so lovely and helpful and the cottages were very well maintained.
We couldn't be happier with our stay at Binalong Bay.

Room Tip: Optus mobile gets no service in this area unless you drive into town. Maybe consider getting a pre-p...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrhyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to post it.

If I recall I think the weather was a little inclement during your visit.
Hope you still managed to capture some great shots of our lovely area.
I recall telling you where to go to capture the full moon rising over the sea and the sunrise.
Hope that worked out for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legerwood, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed there in October 2013 for some R & R. There are major health issues between us and we are age pensioners and I felt needed a break even though we do actually live in this beautiful state of Tasmania. Rest is indeed what we got, and absolutely feel we got a bonus with staying in Kookaburra. Being close to beach and walkways made it so much easier to navigate on foot! Would stay in Kookaburra again. Just to say, looking at other reviews, we loved the two couches, and the way we could lay back on them to rest and enjoy the ambience... they are very impressive as are all the fittings, extra touches like tablecloth and fabric dining chairs... You are very brave! I know this represents extra upkeep so the cost was worth it even for seniors. Only negative? that darn waterpump which is quite annoying and I think you were just having it worked on as we were arriving. Note: still not good! Otherwise, wonderful and will book again.

Room Tip: Kookaburra is the lowest cottage as in ease of access. Other cottages are all located further uphi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharacterCottages, Owner at Bay of Fires Character Cottages, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
I actually made the booking with you but was away when you stayed
I hope you both went home feeling rejuvenated
I am sorry about the water pump but it is a new one and is more noisy than the one we replaced.
I currently am having a soundproof box put over it so that should solve the problem.
It only cuts in when water is used and therefor will not be heard throughout the night.
We would love to see water a sewerage come to Binalong Bay as it would make life so much easier for the operators.
By the way the cottage was Kingfisher in case you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binalong Bay
14.4 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
6.2 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
5.6 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Vista
Villa Vista
#1 of 1 in Binalong Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#5 of 10 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Fires Character Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Fires Character Cottages

Property: Bay of Fires Character Cottages
Address: Main Road, Binalong Bay, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Binalong Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Binalong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four fully self contained,tourism Tasmania accredited one to three bedroom cottages with an onsite (licenced) Restaurant directly opposite the Binalong Bay beach.The cottages are set in a hill of native flora and fauna.The view from each cottage is to the white sands of the Binalong Bay beach and the azure waters and red rocky outcrops of the Bay of Fires as far as you can see up the coastline to Eddystone Light House.Enjoy swimming,snorkling,windsurfing,fishing,walking and exploring this area and all attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Of Fires Character Cottages Hotel St Helens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing