We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Magnificent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elephant Walk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elephant Walk
Ranked #2 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“A Magnificent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our first Bed and Breakfast ever! We traveled here to spend a relaxing evening for my wife's birthday. Upon arriving we were instantly whisked away to 1800's Singapore. The eclectic mementos and cultural artifacts captured our minds and hearts from the beginning!

Having been to Stillwater many times before, we chose to stay in and explore the nooks and crannies filled with many curiosities. The room was luxurious and we felt like kings and queens of Thailand for the evening!

Breakfast the next morning was divine. We descended the staircase to a plethora of pleasant aromas wafting from the kitchen. At the ringing of the gong, we were beckoned to the table for a breakfast filled with wild delights and interesting conversation. Mike and Rita played the roles of both host and entertainers. Everything was magnificent! We will be back for more!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantWalk801, Owner at Elephant Walk, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your charming review. you must be a poet!
it is a pleasure to be back after relaxing for 4 months in Asia, we missed our guests and your review is the reason we love doing this.
Having guests relax and enjoy our home is the best job we could imagine.
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
209
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is the coolest bed and breakfast we've ever been to. My wife and I just needed a weekend away, and the Elephant Walk was the place for us.

Owners are gracious and accommodating. The room was simply amazing. We got the best sleep we had had in months, and breakfast was scrumptious.

You must visit Elephant Walk!

Room Tip: The Raffles room was amazing! Make sure to get a room with a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

surprise 30th anniversary night in the chiangmai room was wonderful! warm reception with a tour of all the rooms by kim. champagne, cheeses, bread, fruit, nuts, and chocolate-covered strawberries greeted us in our room. incredible breakfast by sasha after a comfortable jacuzzi plunge followed by a rejuvenating sleep by the fireplace. we'll definitely be back! thank you for the wonderful memories

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for our Valentine's getaway and had a great experience. We have been to a few Victorian houses, but were wanting a change, and we found it. A fun mixture of Asian artwork and décor and the absence of a tv in the room made for a very warm, romantic stay. The family/staff were upbeat and hospitable without being invasive. Breakfast was world class and we enjoyed our conversation with the three other couples who had stayed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awanderingmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've stayed at numerous Bed and Breakfast establishments (Beds and Breakfasts??), and have found the Elephant Walk to be the most perfect blend of luxury, solitude, community, and quirkiness! The food is absolutely exquisite, the owner/operators are perfect hosts, and the house is full of the most unique objects you could ever hope to find. It's like going to Thailand without the airfare. I was a little hesitant to book the Cadiz in the winter because I didn't know if the lovely deck would be enough of a value add/differentiation when it was too cold to go outside, but the extra space is definitely worth it. Oh, and the bed is divine (provided you like a soft bed).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teej1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Prague, Minnesota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Loved the foreign / travel themed rooms. Stayed on coldest day of this winter season and felt like we were a thousand miles away in the Raffles room. The jacuzzi in this room with the aquarium are much nicer than the pics. Being more private people, we really appreciated the extras that this B&B offered such as the bottle of wine and cheese plate that we could enjoy in our room. Sasha was very nice and professional. We have already booked our return for early March in the Cadiz Garden Suite.

Room Tip: Raffles is a great warm winter getaway room and Cadiz Garden Suite a better spring/summer room where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tree_and_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pkymouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Really cool decor, friendly staff/family, etc.

Highlights are the cheese/wine at check-in, unique room decor in each one, the radio (odd, but I loved this - really relaxed our time in the room), the Restoration Hardware robes (woh!), the other people there, the staff, the pineapple, etc.

Some areas for improvement: The breakfast would be awesome for sweet lovers - I liked it, but I'm not in to sweets, and it was a lot. The bed in our room also "rolls to the middle" a bit - so if two people are on it, you roll in to each other.

Overall thoughts: Next time, I'd maybe check to see which day we want to be there based on breakfast, but other than that, I'd recommend this to anyone going to Stillwater - awesome place, close to everything, etc.

Room Tip: Accidentally clicked Fitness Center - there isn't one there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.7 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Walk

Property: Elephant Walk
Address: 801 Pine St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-5685
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the world one room at a time. Each room has a country's theme.Whirlpool, refrigerator in room with complimentary soft drinks, a bottle of wine with a snack tray when you arrive,sound system with Ipod hook up-in other words , relax and reconnect. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elephant Walk Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing