We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local gem!”
Review of Rivertown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A local gem!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We attended an event in Stillwater, which is why we decided to stay at Rivertown Inn. Our stay in the Alfred, Lord Tennyson Suite was too short. We didn't spend much time in our room or at the house, but the time we did spend there was very comfortable. The staff of this beautiful bed & breakfast have paid close attention to every detail, soft towels, quality toiletries, and romantic decor. The grounds were well kept and inviting.

Our special, five-course, themed breakfast was well researched and delicious. I enjoyed that Chef Ray explained how each dish was prepared as it was served, and especially loved the house muffins.

I did have a couple of small issues that I brought up with management, and they were resolved quickly and graciously. Very much appreciated!

I can't wait to stay here again and explore more of this amazing property.

Room Tip: The Alfred, Lord Tennyson Suite was spacious, as it has a sitting room with a second fireplace! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarlettVetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    12
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
180
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hutchinson,mn
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

this was our second time back to the Rivertown inn and this time we were blessed to be able to stay in the oscar wilde carriage house.... what a gorgeous room and experience.
the the whole inn is amazing, accommodating, beautiful and will not disappoint! .
the wine and cheese social hour is so good, and our in service breakfast to our room was top notch!!
I am a foodie, and this meet all my expectation and then some.
it took us some time to be able to get back here, but will now be a yearly getaway for us.

Room Tip: carriage house is is perfect for a quiet, private , romantic escape... pure luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonHutchinson_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I could not have been more impressed with this place! It was worth every penny and then some! The best part is you don't have staff walking around while you are there. They are gone by 8 pm and let you enjoy the ambiance with the other guests. Even when they are there, you rarely see them. I have already set up our next visit!

Thanks to all at the Rivertown for a great experience!

Room Tip: They are all good.... don't worry about any of the choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

From the first appearance to the "see ya next year" our experience at Rivertown was great. Can't wait to eat the next wonderful breakfast on the porch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFLARSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was our second stay at the Rivertown Inn in the past two years, and once again, the bar has been set very high. We stayed in the Lewis Carrol room and loved it! The weather was amazing for St. Patrick's Day and as a result, we were able to enjoy the social hour (complimentary wine, cheese, crackers and meat) on the lovely porch. Breakfast Sunday morning was also served on the porch and it was outstanding! Chef Ray served us this go-round and his menu was fantastic.

We have stayed on the third floor for both of our visits and perhaps next time we will try a room on the second floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My hubby and I wanted to stay here every since we walked past it one summer. The inside excellence match the outside beauty! Super clean, great food, nice staff. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

A great value through a Living Social offer, the Rivertown Inn had every amenity hors d'oeuvre with multiple cheese/unique crackers & fruit, wine & gourmet cookies in the evening to an extremely healthy and equally delicious four-course breakfast, presented by Chef Ray on a beautifully apportioned table. Each room had both a double jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace, whether in the cozy Lewis Carroll room to the largest suite. Luxuriously thick robes available for both of us were unexpected. Excursions, cooking classes, and massage options available. The Stillwater area, coupled with beautiful surroundings of the Inn, both inside and out, would make for a special celebratory stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelmor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
336 reviews
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale
7.2 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Property: Rivertown Inn
Address: 306 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4932
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivertown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing