We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful B & B!”
Review of Rivertown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A beautiful B & B!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I went there for an overnight stay for our anniversary and this will now be an annual visit for us! We've been to quite a few bed and breakfasts in Minnesota and this one is by far the best! There is ample parking, and the house and grounds are absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the Oscar Wilde suite and loved it! The attention to detail in this themed suite was amazing. When we stepped into the room we felt so comfortable there that we wished we could have stayed for two nights. A very romantic room. The picture on the website doesn't do it justice! Very large shower with two shower heads and steam availability. A large whirlpool tub also. The bed was unique and so comfortable. The breakfast was delivered to our room and was delicious of course! Every amenity you may need is made available to you, from wine, coffee, to bottled water. We just cannot say enough good things about this place! Stillwater is a great town, if you are planning a romantic overnight stay, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    12
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
179
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The inn is conveniently located 3 blocks from the main shopping street, but beware becasue it is three blocks straight up! Not bad going down but a bit strenuous walking up! As with most of Stillwater, the Inn is Victorian with heavy furniture and a bit dark, even in summer sunlight. Our room was in the attic but there is air conditioning and a fan so it was comfortable sleeping even on a hot muggy night. The bed was comfortable and we loved the double whirlpool tub, especially after climbing up from downtown. WIne and snacks are served from 5 to 6 each evening. It was very pleasant to sit on the wide porch and relax. Breakfast was served on the porch the next morning with all guests at tables for two. This was, for us, a welcome change from the typical B&B where you all sit together and have to make conversation over breakfast. Not bad but on a romantic weekend away it was nice to have a table to ourselves. Breakfast itself was wonderful. The chef came out and described each of the four courses in detail which was interesting. Serously the best bran muffin ever! Fresh squeezed juice, great coffee. Overall great experience and we would go back.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures online and choose a decor that appeals to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 2nd anniversary by doing something unique so we stayed at Rivertown Inn for a night. Our experience was fantastic!!! We stayed in the Lewis Carroll bedchamber. The room was so cute and interesting. It was apparent that a lot of thought and planning went into the decor and theme of the room. We've stayed at a few B&Bs, but this one was unlike any other. There was a cocktail hour at 5pm with complimentary wine and appetizers and the three-course breakfast was out of this world! It was the fanciest, tastiest, most well thought out breakfast I've ever had. And the chef was there to answer questions and present each course. The experience and special touches at this inn were well worth the price. I hope to stay there again in the future, but next time I might stay in a suite!

Room Tip: Bedchambers don't have shower stalls. Suites have full bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franz131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This B&B is stunningly beautiful. The attention to detail in each and every piece on display in the common areas and rooms is amazing. We stayed in the Byron Suite and it was comfy, cozy and elegant. It's fun to just appreciate the artwork, books and architecture in the room. The social hour was fun and we met some nice people. And the breakfast was outstanding! The grounds are also beautiful.

The only thing that kept it from being a 5-star experience was the shower in the bathroom. There is a really great, 2-person jacuzzi in the bathroom with a pull-out shower head. Unfortunately, the shower seemed to only have two heat settings: scalding or freezing. That made for a bit of an unpleasant experience in the morning. But had that not occurred, it was a solid 5-star experience!

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauk Centre, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I have been here twice and the service was amazing both times. My fiance and I enjoyed our experience here so much, we decided that eloping here would be a great idea. After many emails back and forth to staff at Rivertown Inn to ask about vendor options, pricing, and other information, we finally called to confirm our registration and schedule our wedding (yay!).

While on the phone, we were told that the price we were quoted for our room and the elopement package was wrong, and they would need to charge us an extra $500 (an extra 1/2 of the original total cost). We stated again that we were quoted the first price already and the person with whom we were speaking stated that it was a mistake and there was nothing she could do about it. After my amazing experience here, I was appalled at how we were treated over the phone. We were not even offered an apology, let alone an offer to discount our package (as the pricing mistake was not ours).

We decided that we are going somewhere else to celebrate our special day. We expected better customer service and are very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shadowofeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The breakfasts were delicious! We had 4-course breakfasts each day, plus two fresh juices. Healthy and pretty to look at. It was nice out, so we got to dine outside. The appetizer/wine hour is also great. They had a few bottles of wine open and about 4 yummy appetizers. There was enough that I was able to have multiple helpings. :)

There is also bottled water, pop, tea, and coffee for the taking whenever.

The house and grounds are very pretty. We stayed in the Lord Tennyson room, which was nice. The whirlpool tub is huge! There isn't a separate shower, but the tub has a long spray nozzle. We were caught a little off guard by the fact that the toilet/sink area doesn't have a door (just a curtain), but it was fine. My one complaint is that, being on the third floor, it got kind of toasty up there. There is an A/C unit but it didn't have enough oomph, in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmmoore12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The Rivertown Inn is amazing in every way. The web site does not do it justice, nor does it give you any inkling of how wonderful the breakfast will be. This was our first B&B experience, I think think we were SPOILED! Gorgeous inside and out, top to bottom. As "old house people," we appreciated the attention to detail throughout.

Room Tip: We had the Jane Austen suite. A little warm on the third floor even on a cool day, but the AC works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LookingforSun1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
7.2 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
97 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Property: Rivertown Inn
Address: 306 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4932
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivertown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing