We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast while in Stillwater”
Review of Rivertown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is both a beautiful property, as well as one that offers food. Knowing it was highly recommended had us wanting to try it, and they did not disappoint at any level. The location is also perfect to easily access the entire beautiful downtown Stillwater business district.

Room Tip: We had a chance to look into several rooms, and all looked to be pretty special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have stayed at a few B&B's in Mn. This was at the top! We really enjoyed downtown Stillwater, the Inn and the room. My favorite part was the incredible breakfast prepared by the Chef in the morning. This was going above and beyond in my opinion.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Rivertown was my first B&B experience and I thought this would be the happy introduction to a long future of visiting exceptional bed and breakfasts. It wasn't just the introduction, it was the standard to which all future B&Bs would come to be compared by. This place is, in a word, exceptional. The grounds, house and indeed even your experience, are meticulously maintained.

The home is gorgeous. All the updates are wonderful. Stained glass and antiques throughout, a quaint bathroom under the stairs and a beautiful communal dining area with woodwork from an old church. Each room is themed after a famous author. We stayed in the Browning Suite, a beautifully appointed room with a harp, fireplace and elegant bathroom complete with a large jacuzzi tub and plush robes. There were quotes on the walls from the love letters between Elizabeth Browning and her husband and flowers, truffles and champagne were left in the room at my husband's request as we were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary. Classical music was softly playing when we entered our room and the whole ambiance was romantic, sophisticated and complete. Perfect.

There's a cocktail hour hosted by the inn each night where guests are invited to enjoy local wines and appetizers, complimentary, while mingling. The only complaint that I have is that when we got downstairs many of the appetizers had been polished off by the other guests and we weren't able to try them as they were not replenished. What we did try was very good however (which only served to deepen our regret at what we had probably missed).

The inn arranged for dinner in town for us at a local wine bar. Superb. It was a wine paired, chef prepared dinner that was brought out in courses. It was exciting since we didn't know what we were going to be served. They asked us about any dislikes and food allergies and then went to work. We actually thought we were done after the lamb bolanase and were shocked when a large filet was brought out. We were so stuffed! I can't for the life of me remember the name of the place but it was fantastic. Domacine or something like that.

The inn has a coffee and tea station available 24 hours a day and a fridge stocked with sodas and drinks as well. Breakfast is served at 9:00 at two shared tables. Breakfast was exquisite. I still dream about the strata. We were started with bacon and cheese scones and flax muffins, their signature pastry. Fresh and delicious. Also served was a no sugar added triple berry juice. Then came the fruit oatmeal bake, a family recipe explained the chef. Also delightful. Finally we were served with the strata. Two sauces, served on either side of the strata, a sort of chipotle pepper sauce if memory serves. So incredible. I'd go back just for that.

If you're looking for the family run, intimate type of B&B, this isn't the place. We've since tried B&B's with much more personable service that is operated by the family that owns the residence. Rivertown is run by a professional innkeeper. You won't get the feeling that you've entered the private residence of a family but rather the well run establishment of a extremely well kept hotel of sorts. Both types of B&Bs are great and serve their own niches. Personally I've stayed at B&Bs since where the stay and the home have left something to be desired but I've never considered telling the truth of it in a review because to betray the wonderful innkeeper by revealing a dusty room or peeling wallpaper would have been... well... rude. Many times I've arrived at a B&B only to find that the reviews I read online skirted past the obvious imperfections of the establisment only to realize upon meeting the innkeeper that they themselves are the reason why people give the place undeserved 5 star reviews where poor water pressure, hard beds and spider webs might have otherwise played a role in a lesser rating. The beauty of a place like Rivertown and the lack of the the personal connection between the guest and the innkeeper is that you feel more inclined to tell the truth. And I can honestly say that this place deserves every star they have. A near perfect experience. Well done.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Got_too_many_dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our 10th anniversary, and we couldn't have been happier with our experience. The inn and our particular room were beautiful and the food and hospitality were excellent.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stillwater is always a great town for a weekend get away! The Rivertown Inn is a gem we just discovered. It was a terrific place to celebrate our 44th anniversary. The room, the evening wine and appetizers, and of course the breakfast were all presented beautifully. We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely bed and breakfast to anyone wanting to stay in the St. Croix River area.

Room Tip: All the rooms we peeked into we're beautifully appointed and the online pictures are great, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It will be hard to ever find another B&B that will top Rivertown Inn!

We stayed in the Lewis Carroll studio room, and it was lovely. The bed was a bit too soft for my liking, but that's all I can think to complain about. The bathroom/tub were part of the room with a curtain separating the toilet somewhat. Everything felt very clean and was very well-maintained.

Breakfast was excellent and felt very gourmet. The ingredients were fresh, local, organic, etc. The chef came out to explain each course, and he was a fun, personable guy. It made the experience lovely.

The grounds were well-maintained and absolutely beautiful. We were there in the fall, so the colors were gorgeous. Also, the location is convenient; we walked to Main Street for dinner and shopping so we didn't have to drive and find a parking spot.

We will be planning another stay at Rivertown Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjetta17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We celebrated our 10th anniversary here and were absolutely pleased with just about everything. The property is beautifully decorated, the evening social hour very nice, and the breakfast and chef delightful. A very peaceful, quiet, pastoral setting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank rdowhower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
346 reviews
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Address: 306 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4932
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: £187 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivertown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing