We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful!”
Review of Rivertown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Perfect for romantic getaway, quiet retreat, balm for the soul. A new discovery of art and beauty at every turn, from the garden sculptures to the Victorian treasures in each room. Impeccable service and bountiful breakfast. We were treated like king and queen! Come early, stay late, and explore the property. Walk down to Stillwater for shops and dinner; the Rivertown staff will share the town secret treasures. We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Every room is special. Some beds are full, some larger... ask if you want bigger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    12
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
179
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, MN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Rivertown Inn to celebrate his birthday and get away for the weekend. What a wonderful experience! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We engaged the caretaker to learn about the history of the Inn. Overall, the Inn was beautifully restored and decorated, and impeccably clean! Our room (Tennyson) was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. And the breakfast in the morning was AMAZING! The chef truly provided a gourmet breakfast...3 courses, each presented beautifully and with very interesting blends of flavors! What a find overall! We would recommend this Inn highly!

Room Tip: Look at the website photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Rivertown Inn after several days of camping in Boundary Waters and it was just what we (she) needed to get reintroduced into society. The building and landscaping are beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly. We stayed over on a Saturday and had the breakfast on Sunday which was outstanding. We sat in the yard and were served a 4 course breakfast. We also enjoyed the social hour with appetizers and wine before heading a few blocks into town for dinner and drinks. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisG703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I hosted my friend's Bridal Shower at Rivertown Inn this past weekend. It was fabulous! All of the girls had summer dresses and facinators. Rivertown Inn was the perfect setting for this event.
Elise was amazing to work with. She was extremely accommodating and was there foreseeing our every need. The Chef helped to create a custom lunch menu. All of the ladies just LOVED it. And we all know pleasing 12 women can be a challenge! One of our guests let us know she was gluten free after the lunch service started and they accommodated her without blinking an eye. After lunch and gifts we went outside to their beautiful gazebo for drinks and "bachelorette" games before heading to The Freight House. It was the best bridal shower I have thrown and the bride-to-be LOVED it! Our suite was beautiful and I cannot stop thinking about our amazing breakfast. I will absolutely return to Rivertown Inn. Thank you to the staff for all of their hard work to make our event amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chastity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our stay here was wonderful. We were met at the door and the four course breakfast was unbeatable. Room was gorgeous. Left relaxed and would definitely go there again. We stayed in the Alfred Tennyson suite- it exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjohns25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife & I recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Rivertown Inn. We had a wonderful time. The property is very nice, our room was great (Browning Suite) and Chef Ray's breakfast was outstanding. In addition, we signed up for the dinner and wine pairing special at Domacin which was also very good. We would recommend both!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary this weekend in Stillwater,Mn. at the Rivertown Inn.
We were warmly greeted by the Caretaker (Larry) of the property since we were late arriving. We stayed in the Lord Byron Suite, which was amazing! For some reason, we had the entire house to ourselves. The Inn Keeper had the other rooms open, so we snooped in each of them. All the rooms were quite impressive.

The best surprise was the gourmet breakfast! The Chef who prepared our breakfast was busily working in the kitchen when we exploring the Inn. He was very friendly and informative. The breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesMoinesDudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
7.2 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Property: Rivertown Inn
Address: 306 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4932
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivertown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing