We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odor in room; a/c sounded like dump truck; heater smelled like burning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Odor in room; a/c sounded like dump truck; heater smelled like burning”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

To begin, the hotel was generally fine. But we slept terribly. When we entered the room, we found it to have an odd, moderately foul odor. But we got over it. Also, our sleep was interrupted by the smoke alarm going off (without a fire) at around 2am. But such things happen.

The big problem was the air-conditioning-and-heating unit. When we ran it on a/c mode, it sounded like a dump truck pounding down the street. When we ran it on heating mode, it smelled strongly like burning rubber. When we turned it off, the air in the room quickly developed a bizarre and uncomfortable staleness; it's difficult to describe, but it made us not want to breath it. We called the front desk in the middle of the night; they had no other rooms available. We ended up sticking with the a/c dump truck for the night.

Everyone was nice. The hotel was otherwise good. But we slept terribly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    33
    18
    13
    20
See reviews for
46
28
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for one night at the Lexington. We had our two toddlers traveling with us.

The staff was very nice and the hotel is nice. Clean, up to date and I found the beds to be very comfortable.

We were there for a friends birthday that was taking place in downtown Stillwater - and while it isnt located in downtown Stillwater, it is a short distance away and I got a local taxi/shuttle for $5.00 to downtown. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor - made it very easy when moving lots of stuff in and out with two little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bps75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked this hotel for a girls trip to shop in Stillwater. Even though it's not downtown it is a great location of a five to ten minute drive from downtown. Rooms are very nice with fridge and micro. Very clean also. Rooms are up to date with Decore. The only kind of complaint I have is they provide the tiniest bottle of shampoo and conditioner ever made... Breakfast was good selection and hot foods. They also had a pool though I did not use. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCormicks130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Friendly, friendly, friendly. OMG, these people are some of the nicest we have ever met when staying at a hotel. The customer service is the same on every shift and the breakfast is nice too. The prices are reasonable, the rooms spacious and the channels on the TV are awesome. Definite stay again.

Room Tip: We used the suites for the kitchen and bar amenity and it was great. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricBosarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I Got this hotel through hotels.com who recommended it as for some reason that day everything in the area was booked.

Check-in was fast friendly. Hotel is clean. Rooms were good size. They were also clean. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom was big.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights as part of a wedding block and had a terrible experience. We reserved a non-smoking/king bed but were checked in to a room with 2 Queen beds that smelled like an ash-tray. The next day we returned to our room (approx. 4pm) to find a couple of Maintenance Request forms that the hotel staff left in our room that listing a 'faulty outlet' and 'broken toilet' both of which were true.. When I brought these forms down to present to the Front Desk and also explain that our room did not receive housekeeping service the only response from the gentleman was "Do you need more towels?"... One of the engineering/maintenance staff came up to the room with towels and a plunger a few minutes later as "there was nothing he could do about the toilet at this time..." Despite leaving our Do Not Disturb sign off, we did not receive housekeeping service for the entirety of our 3 night stay. I work in the hospitality industry and while the service was obviously not desirable the most disappointing part was the fact that we never received any follow-up or were we given any opportunity to voice our concern. Room issues happen but an apathetic staff is inexcusable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stillwater hotels

Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. Plenty to do and see in the nearby area. Do not plan on swimming laps in the pool, as it is quite short. The lack of a gymnasium on site is a negative. The front staff was outstanding in accommodating a room change due to an air conditioner that sounded like a freight train when it turned on.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.9 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
7.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
7.0 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 2000 Washington Ave S, Stillwater, MN 55082-7527 (Formerly Lexington Inn & Suites of Stillwater / Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lexington Inn & Suites Stillwater is a beautiful hotel located 2.9 miles from historic downtown Stillwater. We are also minutes away from the Washington County Fair Grounds. We are located 33 miles from Minneapolis International Airport, 20 miles from the Xcel Energy Center and 25 miles from the Target Center and Metrodome. The hotel includes complimentary hot breakfast, complimentary passes to a full sized off site fitness center. Free local and 1-800 phone calls, free HBO and satellite TV. Visit Stillwater, MN and Stay Smart at the Lexington Inn and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Inn & Suites Of Stillwater / Minneapolis Hotel Stillwater
Lexington Inn And Suites Of Stillwater / Minneapolis
Holiday Inn Stillwater
Stillwater Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing