We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost obscene” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store

Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost obscene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I ordered a "child's cone with a single scoop" (my exact order) and got a full size cone with three huge scoops of ice cream. I hate to think what an adult's triple scoop would look like, let alone how you'd get it out the door. Good ice cream, though--what I was able to eat of it. As another reviewer said, I'd rather pay less (or pay the same: $4.50) and get less ice cream. It's almost obscene.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ravenglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    21
    4
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I Scream You Scream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

...we all yell for ice cream. This is must see place in Stillwater. But
Don't be foolish and order a single! A child size is ALL anyone needs!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best ice cream by far!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I honestly don't care for anything sweet but when I have a craving for sweets, I definitely hit up Nelson's Ice-cream! I live in the area so I always have to save my left overs because I can never eat all of it in one standing. I recommend getting the smaller kids size. It is worth waiting in line for if you love good ice-cream!

Helpful?
Thank Nicolenels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Went there on a Sunday afternoon, line was very long. Portions are large, but do you really need that much ice cream? The biggest issue I had is that they serve Kemp's ice cream. This is good, but really to wait that long in line, I could have gone to the grocery store and bought a couple of containers of ice cream and saved dollars. Rather go to Izzy's or Cup N Cone. Don't waste your time. If you go, just get the child's size, I couldn't even finish that size.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judygolfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
371 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nobody needs that much ice cream!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was not a fan of Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store. The portions were way too big, I would rather pay less and get a reasonable portion size! The second thing that I didn't like was they are serving Kemp's ice cream which you can buy in any grocery store in Minnesota! Give me Izzy's or Sebastian Joe's any day where they actually make their own high quality, much better tasting ice cream! We actually saw a family who brought a tupperware container with them to put their extra ice cream in. The tables were also disgusting because nobody can eat that amount of ice cream quick enough to not have their ice cream dripping everywhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 7ContinentsExplored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store also viewed

 

Been to Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing