We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed birthday”
Review of Water Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Water Street Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
GreenLeadersBronze level
Evansville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointed birthday”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

do not bother getting the birthday pkg. I was disappointed in the room we were given,wallpaper was loose in the corner, tub was in the bathroom, not in the same room as the bed, like the website showed. balcony very narrow, so we asked if there was a room facing the river available, they were very gracious, and switched us. This room looked more like the website. enjoyed the tub, while looking at the river. The air conditioning however, did not work. luckily, it was cool during the night and we had all the windows open. we did get an extra bottle of wine because of that. I did have to ask for the wine that comes with the birthday pkg. The meal we had was just ok. Do not get the au gratin potatoes, they were cut from a pan, made the day before, very dry and cold. steak and walleye were just ok, and NO beverage comes with the meal, you have to pay for that! the next day when we came back for our second meal, (all of which we paid dearly for with the birthday pkg) the tables were not cleaned well, the napkin that wrapped the silverware was very dirty, and when we complained about the tables, we were not given any satisfaction. we left, not using the meal tickets that we had paid for already, and went to another restaurant, with CLEAN tables,
very disappointed and the customer service from the management afterwards speaks loudly, as to why so many complaints are here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your review. I will speak with our restaurant manager to address your concerns. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    63
    71
    56
    63
See reviews for
40
192
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

For my bachelorette party, the girls and I decide to splurge and get a hotel room downtown. We were out late and when we came into the room it was HOT! I called and they gave us two fans.. needless to say we did not sleep well in this HOT room. and then next day when telling the front desk about it they didn't even say SORRY! gave us $50 off. So we paid $260 for a room with no air conditioning! what customer service....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stillwater hotels

Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Traveled here as a nice place to stay before leaving on our honeymoon. It was quite a disappointment.
The biggest issue was the terrible quality of the bed. It was near impossible to sleep in. There are floors that are more comfortable!
The decor is an attempt at luxurious. However, it qualifies as gloomy or cave-like. Further, there were a couple of places where the wallpaper was bubbling out. The tub was so-so. The carpet was dirty and worn.
We were in room 314 which has an excellent view of the bridge. It is next to the elevator. The elevator noise was negligible. However, the drunk wedding reception guests confused about what floor they were on were extremely loud.
The service was mediocre. My wife forgot a pair of stud earrings on the bedside table. We called within a half hour of checking out to ask somebody to look for them so we could return to get them. We returned to the hotel about an hour after the phone call. The gal cleaning the room had managed to knock them from plain view to on the dark green floor. We were fortunate to be shown the room and allowed to search before she vacuumed them up. Getting access to the room was appreciated. However, the exact location of the earrings was called in and service could still not find them.
Overall, this was a terrible place to stay. We were hopeful with its appearance, but it was a huge letdown. I would highly recommend people go elsewhere. It is overpriced by double for the quality of the hotel. My wife and I will not be returning for any anniversaries.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank meanderer997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
I am very sorry to hear about your stay with us. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel staff was excellent and very friendly. If you are looking for a nice place in Stillwater this is your place. The rooms are very stylish and very large and comfortable. The beds are a bit soft but still provided a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Room 317 has a heart shaped Jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic right next to the river. The room was large. The shower was small. No countertop to put your toiletries on. The food served at breakfast was wonderful. We sat outside, under the covered porch, and watched the up and down bridge on the river. Very relaxing and romantic stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravelingLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and review. We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Paid way too much money for this room. Decorating was very inferior, no glasses I'm the room, comforter on bed was lumpy and linens inferior for the price of the room. No ice bucket, coffee pot or nice bath supplies you would expect. Room was warm when we arrived and noisy. Watersreet view was of the delivery truck early the next morning. Felt ripped off and wished I had just chosen a regular hotel at $100 less.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mraebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as you had hoped. We have addressed your concerns with our staff and management to ensure a better future product and value to our guests.

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I booked a room at the Water Street Inn because we were in Stillwater for a wedding that was taking place there. We chose this because of the convenience of being right there already and the lack of other options in the area. When we entered our room we were very disappointed. Most notocable at first sight- besides the gaudy decor- was the lumpy bedspread. not just a little lumpy, it looked like there were a half dozen cats sleeping under the cover. The actual mattress was not lumpy, just the comforter, but from underneath it we could see how the filling was all lumped together in some spots, and there was none at all in others. This was not just our room; walking past other rooms as they were being cleaned, I could see that all the other rooms had extremely lumpy comforters too. we also found our bed to be very creaky while trying to sleep, and just not comfortable. Also, our room looked out at a brick building and street, not over the river. The sliding door to the balcony was covered only with a set of vertical blinds, which did not do much to block the noise or light from the street and the sun. I had a hard time falling asleep at all because the noise was so bad, and my husband was waking up at 5am each morning from the sun streaming in through the blinds. While I can ignore the decor not being to my taste, the reason we get hotel rooms is to have someplace to sleep, and we were not able to sleep well here at all.

Other things that bothered us about our room were minor, so I won't get into those things, but the bathroom was also an issue for us. There was simply no counter space on which to put our toiletries! The pedastal sink was cute, but not practical, and the shower took forever to get warm water. I was just about to give up waiting for the water to warm up and just wash in the cold when it finally warmed up enough.

Lastly, the staff- when we could find some- were very nice, but seemed to have all the time in the world. We pretty much had to find menus and seat oursleves for breakfast in the morning. Thank goodness we found the complimentary coffee first. we ordered an overpriced breakfast which took a really long time to arrive at out table (they only had 2 other tables of 2 at the time, and all we ordered was eggs, bacon, toast. Shouldn't have taken as long as it did). Wasn't even very good and cost twice what it should have.

Next time we go to Stillwater, we will try one of the B&B's instead. The Water Street Inn was not worth the price AT ALL, despite their great location on the beautiful St. Croix. We would not stay there again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river would probably be quieter and not have the morning sun through the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasminefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am addressing your concerns with our staff and property to ensure a better experience in the future for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
2.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
7.2 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Inn

Property: Water Street Inn
Address: 101 Water St S, Stillwater, MN 55082-5150
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Water Street Inn in the heart of Downtown Stillwater. All guestrooms with double whirlpools, most with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the River. Restaurant with indoor & outdoor seating, Irish Pub overlooking the river, meeting, banquet and wedding facilities for 2 to 300 people. Stillwater’s only Inn on the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Water Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing