We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location/Something different”
Review of Water Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water Street Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 December 2005

We took our trip to Stillwater w/o any planning. We enjoyed our stay at the Inn. We had a room facing the town, and I think I might actually prefer it to one facing the River. There was a balcony. We went to shop, eat and have fun. This hotel is in the absolute best location. We walked to restaurants, stores and night clubs. Even in the cold weather walking is not out of the question. This historic inn had the feel of going back to a different time. Our beds and furniture were beautiful handcarved wood. The room was kind of dark, but I appreciate a different experience from the usual generic look of a hotel room. We did not experience any problems. We did not eat at the Inn so I can not comment on it. Savories is the best place to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KARtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 345 of 345 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, Minnesota
110
Reviewed 2 November 2005

We booked at the Water Street Inn at least 9 months before our stay and frequently reconfirmed our rooms. We were looking for a special weekend and had hand-picked a room overlooking the river on the fourth floor. But when we arrived, the hotel had moved our room to the second floor and next to a smoking room!!!!! The staff was unfriendly and stern about the switch. It was supposed to be a really special weekend, now we will never go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2005

We stayed at the inn for two nights. The first night was very nice, and we enjoyed it. The second night, however, there was a multi-room party going on all night. The rooms being used for the actual party were down the hall, but the room for partygoers to sleep off the alcohol was right across the hall from us. We had drunk, loud partygoers banging on the doors and walls trying to get in all night, often knocking on our door by mistake. Occasionally someone would open the door to the correct room and let them in. At one point, there was someone lying on the hallway floor, kicking the door, but everyone in the room was evidently too deeply passed out to notice. We called the front desk several times that night, but all they did was come up and let people into the room, if they came up at all. We should have called the police. Despite the fact that we called the desk several times through the night and complained the next day when we checked out, we were still charged for the room because there was no manager on duty. We were able to get our accounts reimbursed, but with all we went through, should not have had to go through that hassle. We were told we'd be sent a gift certificate for a complementary night, but were sent one in the name of the person across the hall ...

Stayed: November 2004
9  Thank tsgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis
244
Reviewed 7 February 2005

The main reason to stay at this hotel is the location. It is very nice to be able to walk directly from your hotel to the main drag of downtown Stillwater. Otherwise, I don't know that there is very much to recommend.

We stayed in a "vault suite," so named (according to the person I spoke to when making the reservation) because the bathrooms are former vaults used by the lumber barons of old Stillwater.

- The layout of our room was unfortunate -- it's a huge room, but the furniture is too small and spread out for the room to feel like anything but a big empty cavern. The (barely) double whirlpool is on one end of the room, while the small fireplace is tucked away at the opposite corner, negating most of the enjoyment you may get from either.

- The bed in our room was a small queen (perhaps merely a "full"), was not particularly comfortable, and creaked very loudly with every movement. Not only does this put a damper on any (ahem) romantic aspects of staying here, but it actually makes it difficult to rest, since shifting positions in your sleep caused the pistol-crack sound, waking you and your bedmate to wake up.

- The service in the bar was apathetic at best. My wife was interested in ordering a glass of wine, but couldn't really make out the labels. It would have taken the bartender just a few moments to describe a few of them and perhaps even (gasp) make a few suggestions, but merely went on with washing glasses.

At checkout, I had to initiate the conversation about our stay, as the clerk didn't bothered to ask us how our stay was, and was about to just go ahead and process the credit card. She apologized about the bed and started doing some sort of paperwork -- perhaps recording the problem with the bed or processing the discount -- I don't know. We found out that she had discounted our room when she handed back the credit slip. I did appreciate that gesture, but even that could have been handled better.

To be fair, other rooms may be better than the one we had, and the service issues we experienced may have been isolated to our stay.

Regardless, I know that we are not likely to be back.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2004

We stayed at this historic hotel in downtown Stillwater. It was great, large rooms with a balony over looking the river. We eat dinner out on their deck watching the boats go by.

  • Stayed: June 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RobertCrasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Брать номер с джакузи и видом на реку!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yulia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
2.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
129 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Inn

Address: 101 Water St S, Stillwater, MN 55082-5150
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range: £105 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Water Street Inn in the heart of Downtown Stillwater. All guestrooms with double whirlpools, most with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the River. Restaurant with indoor & outdoor seating, Irish Pub overlooking the river, meeting, banquet and wedding facilities for 2 to 300 people. Stillwater’s only Inn on the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Water Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing