We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aurora Staples B&B”
Review of Aurora Staples Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aurora Staples Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We love Stillwater, MN and this was our second B&B experience there. The Victorian house is beautiful and not overly Victorian in decor, which we like. Jerry and Kathy were wonderful hosts...very friendly and accommodating, but didn't overtake the experience...(an inn keeper at the last B&B ... We knew her life story in the first 5 minutes.) We stayed in the Carriage House, separate from the main house...private, spacious, relaxing. My only complaint was "no view". The view out all four windows was of parking lots. The one wall with no window is a missed opportunity which would be a view toward the river...maybe no actual river view but at least a view of tree tops. That sitting area would have been a more wonderful place to sip my morning coffee if there was a window there. The gardens are beautiful and immaculately kept. The food was delicious and conversation with other guests at the breakfast table was enjoyable. We will visit Aurora Staples again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Hi Kristy, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. We would have loved to put a window on the back wall of the Carriage House, but the City has some ordinances that did not permit us to do that, but it is a great idea. We will look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area. Thank you again. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

我们来之上海,4人中三人第一次住B&B. 维多利亚式房子虽老,但是维护的极好并且很有分格。夫妇两人给我们的服务也温馨。早餐也满意!

We were a group of four from Shanghai! It was first time for three out four to stay in a B&B. We all enjoyed the well maintained old house and services given to us by Cathy and Jerry. The breakfasts were great too!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOveouting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Jeff, I wish I could write this in Chinese, it is so beautiful! It was a pleasure meeting you and your friends, and I hope to see you again next year during camp week! Thank you. Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and stayed two nights over the July 3 and 4th Holiday in 2013. We had a wonder stay in the PeakCock Room. This is a beautiful home with little touches everywhere that make you feel like how it must have been to live there in the late 1800's. We were just 4 blocks walking distance to a busy old down town. The antique shops were so much fun there are several right down town that are full of things to look at and bring back your home memories of childhood. We spent the evening downtown having dinner right near the St Croix River and walked back to Inn which is in a stately quiet neighborhood.

Both mornings we spent with a great cup of coffee on the wrap around porch enjoying the yard. Breakfast is a three course meal that you will not have anywhere else. Breakfast was so much fun we met couples from all over the world.

If you need a little romance and a time to reconnect with your special someone this is the place! Our room was beautiful with a whirlpool, robes, and a fireplace. May favorite thing was all the pillows! Can never have enough of those.

Room Tip: 3 out of the 4 rooms have a whirl pool. Two of the rooms face the St.Crox River and are larger suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine1985960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

We are so glad you were here over the 4th. It was wonderful to meet you. Thank you for all your kind words, and we hope we'll see you again real soon. Just a note, in case you'd like to try a different room on your next stay, all the rooms do have double whirlpool tubs in them. Thanks again. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Asked my husband to help me write this review...and we agree we've stayed at other nice b&b's over the years but we agree everything here was just a little bit nicer & "above & beyond" our expectations. We were in the area to attend the annual Back to the Fifties car show in St. Paul but choose to relax a day or two beforehand in beautiful Stillwater. Stayed two evenings & arrived late the first nite & Jerry welcomed us graciously & we truly enjoyed the glass of wine he offered after a long day. Met his lovely wife Cathy the next morning at the first of 2 wonderful breakfasts. My husband still is talking about how she brought him a cup of coffee outside when she saw him washing his antique car (which by the way we appreciated using Jerry's hose). Loved the room service coffee delivered to our room while I relaxed in the beautiful St Croix suite.
We had friends fromTexas join us for our 2nd evening & I know they truly enjoyed the Riverview Room with the adorable porch. Again, second morning coffee service & breakfast great again.
Property is close to downtown , menus available to look at from many area restaurants and beautiful front porch and backyard seating all open for us to enjoy. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and do hope to return there ourselves next year.

Room Tip: Each room is a little bit unique...S Croix suite largest but no shower which was fine for us...large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Lee and Kathy, thank you so much, and we would look forward to seeing you again next year. You were absolutely delightful, and we love the old cars in our parking lot. Thank you again. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had an excellent stay in the carriage house. Our first experience with a B & B and we were not diasppointed, The grounds are lovely, everything within walking distance.We have been coming to stillwater from milwaukee for many years and thought we would try a new place.
Thank you Kathy & Jerry for the gracious hospitality, the food was delicious as well as meeting the other people staying here!
Blessings ~
Roxie and Jim Rupnow

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Roxie and Jim, it was certainly wonderful to meet you both. I'm hoping sometime you're able to ride your bikes here! Thank you again for coming, and we'll see you again. Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed two nights at the Aurora Staples Inn recently because we needed to be in the area for medical appointments. Cathy warmly welcomed us, provided generously for us in many thoughtful ways, and we loved staying here.

The food was delicious, the inn was quiet and the bed was supremely comfortable, and the fireplace in our room (Giverny) was fantastic since the weather was cold and sleety.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you so much Julie, It was great getting to know you and your friends. We'll be praying for you on the 10th, but let us know if the husbands need a place to sleep. Our home is always open to you. Bless you, Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Well appointed property within easy walking distance to historic Main Street in Stillwater. Quiet and comfortable with an amazing breakfast each morning. Gracious hosts made our stay special. We stayed in the St. Croix Suite. There was a nice view of the river.

Room Tip: The St. Croix Suite has a two-sided fireplace you can see from the bed/sitting room and from the jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnesota_Mongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you so much. It was great to meet both of you, and we hope to see you again when you visit Minnesota. Cathy and Jerry and Zoe too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
1.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
10.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Paul-Woodbury
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Staples Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Staples Inn

Address: 303 4th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-4808
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: £87 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing