We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B ”
Review of Aurora Staples Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aurora Staples Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Aurora Staples in for two nights while in town for a wedding and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The hosts did a wonderful job of making us feel at home, the room was comfortable an quiet and the breakfast delicious. The in room coffee service in the morning was a really nice touch. We are already planning our next stay. Thanks so much, Cathy and Jerry, for your hospitality!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Klillybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Kelsey and Tim, hope your trip back to Colorado was uneventful. Thank you so much for staying with us, as we enjoyed having you here, and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll be able to visit again when it's a little warmer. Thanks, Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was our first stay of Aurora Staples (definately not our last!) and a wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary. The first night we stayed in the Carriage House - book it if its available!! It's like you own get-a-way in a get-a-way! The second night was just as lovely in the Peacock Room. The warmth of the fireplaces, comforts of the whirpools, and the graciousness of Kathy and Jerry were like no other place we've been!!

Room Tip: The carraige room is beyond excellent, but the others in the house were wonderfully done also!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Manager at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Todd and Tammie, it was great to almost bring in the new year. Thank you so much for coming and maybe we'll bump into each other in Duluth sometime. Thanks for your kindness in writing a review for us. We always appreciate it. Have a great new year. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Friends booked us into the beautiful B&B for two nights. What a wonderful selection they made! Everything was charming! The house had all the original character of a victorian: with inlaid floors, original wood trim, leaded glass and stained glass. We enjoyed the warmth of the fireplace with festive holiday decor and the lights of the christmas tree. I told Kathy that everywhere I looked was like a holiday vignette. Her attention to detail and comfort was spot on. We stayed in the Riverview room for two nights. Our cozy room had a fireplace and a little christmas tree. In the morning a tray of coffee was placed outside our door. At breakfast Kathy presented a beautiful table with antique dishes and serving pieces. The food was delicious. Kathy should write a cookbook!
Our bed was very comfortable and the linens were fresh and clean. We relaxed and enjoyed our surroundings. We felt very welcome. This is truly Kathy and Jerry's calling! People from Minnesota seem very genuine and friendly.
We ventured into Stillwater and walked through some of the shops.
We would like to come back and see how different the town and the St. Croix look without snow.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 797Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Cheryl and Sheridan, thank you for coming and bringing your friends Patrick and Kevin. It was great meeting all of you, and I look forward to seeing you again this summer. Have a great 2014, and thank you for taking the time to write. Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The place was beautifully decorated for our friend annual Christmas get-together. Kathy was wonderful and Jerry even cleared the snow off our cars! Very homey, relaxing and luxurious. Food was delicious and beautifully served. We sat by the fire and had wine and good fellowship. We opened our gifts by their gorgeously decorated Christmas tree.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Marlys and friends, thank you so much for sharing your Christmas get together with us. We really did miss you the next morning. We wish all of you a wonderful Christmas season, and a happy and healthy new year. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Fantastic hosts in a lovely setting. Cathie and Jerrie were very friendly and offered lots of local information and great restaurant suggestions.The jacuzzi was welcomed after a long drive and breakfast was awesome. The gas fireplace in the room really warmed things up.

Room Tip: All the room choices are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gbawpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you so much for all the nice things you said about the Inn and we are really happy you had a great stay. Please visit us again if you're able. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Aurora Staples Inn is a beautiful haven providing a respite from our busy daily life. We celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary with a 2-night stay. We recommend staying at least 2 nights to try mulitple breakfast menus and to have enough time to explore Stillwater. Give yourself enough time to decompress and relax!! The house and our room were immaculate. We loved the St. Croix Suite, so many amazing antique pieces mixed with modern ammenities in the room. The bed was comfortable and the linens fabulous. As many others write, Cathy the Innkeeper is a gem, a delightful hostess. We took advantage of the cards & games available as well as the books in the room. We especially appreciated the complementary cold bottled water. I loved having hot coffee outside my door in the morning. You will feel safe and well-cared for as a guest at the Aurora Staples Inn. We can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: We liked the St. Croix room because of the large sitting area and separated bath/whirlpool. The dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNcat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you so much, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. They are very helpful to us and to our future guests. We're glad you found some peace here, and thank you for all the wonderful things you said. We hope to see you again. Thank you. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was our first time at a B&B and I'm so glad we chose Aurora Staples. It was so romantic and extremely close to the Main Street of Stillwater. When staying here, you need to stay in the Riverview Suite. It is absolutely gorgeous and so relaxing! The best part about this room (and what sets it aside from all the others) is the private 4 season porch that's attached to it. We were able to enjoy our wine and hor' devours upon arrival out there, as well as our morning coffee. It truly added a whole other realm of relaxation during our 1 night stay there. The breakfast in the morning was prepared by Cathy herself and it was so delicious. She is a phenomenal cook! We will stay here time and time again. Aurora Staples is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Riverview Suite - hands down the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Amanda and Kurt, we so enjoyed meeting you both and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kindness, and we hope you'll be back again soon. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
1.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
10.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Paul-Woodbury
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Staples Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Staples Inn

Address: 303 4th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-4808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: £87 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing