We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aurora Staples Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lowell Inn(Stillwater)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Water Street Inn(Stillwater)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hudson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
385
23
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
385
23
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housecroix suitepeacock roomb bmy husband and icoffee deliveredbreakfast was deliciousget awayseason porchhors d'oeuvres and wineother guestsbed and breakfastbeautiful housethe main houseglass of wineeach morningdecorated for christmas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Seems like this was the place to go to celebrate an anniversary. Everyone at the breakfast table, the day we were there, seemed to be there celebrating. Unfortunately, I got sick while I was there and was unable to eat breakfast, but my husband said it was great. I am kind of bummed I missed out on the raspberry cobbler sounding thing he said was dessert. Only downside of our room, no shower. Had to shower sitting down in the big jacuzzi bathtub, which was pretty tough for my 6'2" husband:)

Room Tip: Each room has its own unique environment, check the details of all of them. If you want a shower, make sure you look for a room with a shower. If you want a jacuzzi, make sure you book a room with one.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Megan, I'm sorry you were not able to come down for breakfast, but I'm glad your husband enjoyed it. If you like, we can email you the recipe for the cobbler we had for dessert. I hope you're feeling better, and will come again so you can have breakfast. Just for future reference, we do have rooms with a stand-up shower. If you let us know you need one, we'll recommend the rooms that have one, and all the rooms have whirlpool tubs. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have originally booked a room at Aurora Staples Inn for May 9, but that weekend a big storm producing tornados was going thru the area. So we called Cathy, the Aurora owner one day prior to our arrival and asked to reschedule to the weekend two weeks later. The cancellation policy did not allow for cancellations within two week of arrival, so we did not expect to get our money back. However, Cathy was very understanding and courteous and had no issues whatsoever moving us down two weeks. Plus, she offered us the much larger room in the carriage house, a completely isolated house on the same property, for the same rate. A couple of side notes; one is the breakfast that was delicious and plentiful. The other one is that Aurora is located within 5 min walk from Main St in downtown Stillwater with its restaurants and antique shops along the St Croix riverfront.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vlad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Vlad and Victoria, thank you for writing a review. We were happy to help you during the tornado warnings to keep your kids safe. We're glad you were able to come a different time, and hope you'll come again soon. Thank you. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just returned home today from a great 30th anniversary in Stillwater and the Aurora Staples Inn played an important part. What a wonderful B&B from the gracious hosts to the room with the 4season enclosed porch overlooked Stillwater and the St. Croix River, a bed that I would have loved to take home to the eclectic breakfast each morning that was absolutely delicious. This will be our home away from home when we return to Stillwater.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eiualumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Michael and Mary, it was really nice to meet you, and hope you'll return soon. Thank you for writing such a nice review. We really appreciate them, and they're so helpful to future guests as you probably realize. Did you decide to go to Red Wing? Thanks again. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I had such a wonderful experience while staying at the Aurora Staples Inn of Stillwater, MN. The home itself is absolutely beautiful, it felt like we were stepping back in time. The whole atmosphere of the home, from the dining area, to the common rooms, to the bedroom, was so calming and relaxing. The rooms were wonderful. Loved the fact that they each had a private bath and whirlpool tub. The innkeepers were so laid back, welcoming, and accommodating. The breakfast was beautifully prepared and arranged, and was delicious. Also, great proximity to downtown...just a few blocks walk. Definitely recommend this Bed & Breakfast, and hope to return ourselves in the future.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in the carriage house. Very spacious and comfortable. We loved the jacuzzi tub and fireplace! We were greeted with some wine and a cracker, cheese, and fruit plate. The bed was comfortable and we appreciated the cozy robes. Breakfast was delicious and we were able to have it served in our room. Stillwater is a fun town with nice shops and restaurants. We were pleasantly surprised that most shops and restaurants were open even though it is the off season. Great getaway!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escapeelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for writing a review. These help future guests to know what other guests experienced. We hope you'll visit us again. Thank you so much. Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews