We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”
Review of Aurora Staples Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aurora Staples Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2011

My wife and I just got back from a night at the Aurora Staples Inn, and had a great, great time! Cathy, the innkeeper, was simply marvelous with us, and accomodated us with anything we desired. The tub in the St. Croix Suite was marvelous, as was the see-through fireplace from the room into the tub area. Breakfast was wonderfully prepared as well. We highly recommend!! And, for dinner, make sure you check out Marx on Main Street. Wonderful!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PastorTrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Aurora Staples Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

The house has an interesting history, lovely architecture, and nicely furnished. Excellent dining/shipping nearby (of course many are gifts and antiques). Very friendly hostess and a nice meal. Enjoyed the room. Skied nearby at Afton Alps (15 minute drive).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandleann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We began planning our 5th Anniversary almost a year in advance and the Aurora Staples Inn was the ONLY Inn that responded with excitement over our event and offered us several options to make our anniversary special, all the other inns we contacted told us with a Feb.18th date we were between Valentine's Day and a 3 day weekend and they could not help us. Cathy the Innkeeper made us feel SPECIAL.
The rooms were beautiful, we stayed in the St. Croix Suite and felt pampered and loved our time together. The Inn is well kept and the food great. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We enjoyed the St. Croix suite, a huge room with en suite bath, double sided fireplace and large whirlpool tub. The entire property showed immaculate attention to detail. We had the added bonus of visiting during the holidays when the place was decorated for Christmas. We could tell the innkeepers really love what they do. The breakfast was great, with some delicious, but out of the ordinary, menu items.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdwalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We enjoy a bed and breakfast once a month and this one has gone to the top of our list. We stayed in the carriage house which has it's own carport at the entrance. It includes all amenities you could think of...king-size bed, HUGE double jacuzzi tub, three-sided gas fireplace, lovely sitting area with small library of books, magazines and games, large bathroom with an over-sized shower, small refrigerator stocked with water and soda pop, small coffee-maker and ironing board, bowl of chocolates next to the bed, small dining table to enjoy coffee served in the room at 8:00 am. and a bountiful breakfast that is served around 9:00 am. If you should think that's NOT enough, additionally you are greeted with a glass of wine and appetizers that you will enjoy in the parlor of the inn. A DON'T MISS by all standards!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claretta_Woodbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I had the most amazing elegant evening here....my boyfriend and I stayed in the peacock suite and had a very warm and cozy time..the 3 course breakfast was splendid!!! Cathy was an awesome hostess as well as cook.. we will be back to explore more of the beautiful house...thanks Cathy..Ebone and Rumone

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I checked this hotel with wife and booked this in advance because of a scientific workshop in the city on the recommendation of the organizers. Since we couldn't find any other standard hotel, we had no choice. From the website we thought this could be quite acceptable and we could pass our time easily. When we arrived by taxi from Minneapolis, this was hard to find the main gate. When the lady came and saw us, her first response was "Oh, you are already here! But your room is not ready". Not a single word of welcome or feel welcome. When we asked whether you could place our luggage inside for sometime until the room is ready? Then it felt like a burden on her and she gave us a very cool response as if she has to do it somehow.
Well inside the room there are some small tables but all are occupied so practically you can't keep your things anywhere before replacing some objects. There is no phone extension in the room so that you could contact the reception. Also there was no TV to pass sometime watching news. The bed is full of pillows and was quite high. But, the most shocking thing was the bathroom and amenities. We were given an old used toiletry for our entire stay for 3 nights that was never changed. We never ever thought that we have to use an open bottle by others to use for our bath or shower. How you feel to use other's used material? This was disgusting. We didn't utter a word and used that we have with us. Somehow the shower could provide hot & cold water properly after lots of experiments that we have to do it everyday. The washbasin has two separate knobs for hot and cold water thus practically in winter you are either burned during washing hands or feel cold as you have no way to mix-up hot and cold water for washing your hands. Heating in the room was not working for the 1st night and lady did not think about this although this was so cold outside. On the 2nd say we have to ask for it. Although this is called bed & breakfast hotel, but breakfast and regulations were horrible. There was no selection or choice for you to eat at the breakfast. No yoghurt no fruit, no cereals and no toast bread, no choice. The lady told us that she couldn’t offer any intercontinental breakfast (in USA, this is shocking). She also told us that the organizers of this conference have told us to provide only cooked-French-Toast with cheese/eggs as breakfast. She prepares so called "French toast" one piece, juice, small amount of prepared fruit salad with syrup and coffee/tea. Same kind of breakfast everyday with slight variation and everybody is forced to eat what she prepared. The normal breakfast was served by 9:00 AM and not before. This was again shocking as all conferences start at 8:00. She did it only after several delegates asked for this at 7:30 AM. In US breakfast are normally served (self service) from 7:00 to 10:00 AM normally. Never between 9:00 AM and 11:00 AM. This kind of breakfast we never had in our lives in USA (we normally visit US 4-5 times a year since last 20 years) or in any part of the World. It would be better to have common buffet breakfast with cereals, milk, yoghurt, fresh fruits, bread to toast and apply butter, jam of your choice. The timing of breakfast we have to decide every day. Not like you have a freedom to come down have it on your own at scheduled time. Regarding privacy, this was a minimum. Not only the lady did not respect our privacy some unknown tenants also knocked our room even there was a sign of Privacy hanged outside the door and asked non-sense things that was not related to us at all. This was very strange. After making complain to lady about this, she was not surprised but suggested that this is sometimes OK. When we order a taxi to the airport on the day of our departure, and told her that we will go from here clearly. She ordered a cab and told the cab driver to pick up our luggage from the hotel at 11:45 and then meet us in the conference at 12:00. That means that an unknown driver will be allowed to take our entire luggage form her house (Hotel) and wandering alone to find us in the conference hall. What would have happened if the driver disappeared with this luggage? Alternatively, could put inside something that could be a security risk for air-travelers. How one could even imagine this? Was she not sensitive to our luggage but only sensitive to her checkout time at 11:00 and we need to stay until 12:00? Is this way guests are treated? When we told about this to the lady, she always blame that she misunderstood us, as if our English language is so bad that she couldn’t understand what we are talking about. This was the height of the absurdity. This hotel room (bed and breakfast) is not worth even 20 USD daily. We could get far superior good room and excellent services with breakfast and evening meals in Embassy suites in Minneapolis that is 30 % cheaper than this bed & breakfast hotel. In summary this was the worst hotel we stayed in our lives and we never ever repeat this or recommend this to anyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hssharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2010

I can certainly understand this gentlemens frustrations, and I know he had expectations we were not able to meet. I tried to be kind, but could not help him much. We do not have multiple rooms, Valet or Concierge, car service, elevators, or a restaurant with a menu. He told me as I tried to help him, that I was nice, but I know that a five room,100 year old Bed and Breakfast Inn was not what he expected. The others who stayed for the conference had wonderful things to say, and wanted to come back with their spouses, but it is unfortunate we are not able to meet his needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
339 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,692 reviews
The Saint Paul Hotel
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Staples Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Staples Inn

Address: 303 4th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-4808
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: £85 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing