We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Move over, we're staying!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forest Field

Forest Field Cottage. Level access from a sunny patio.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Forest Field Cottage. Level access from a sunny patio.
Old School House and  Cottage Living Room - Bright and Comfortable
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Forest Field Cottage. Level access from a sunny patio.
Old School House and  Cottage
Living Room - Bright and Comfortable
Well equipped kitchen area
Bedroom arranged as a king size double
Bedroom arranged as a twin room
Bathroom with separate shower and bath
Laundry Room
Terrace - soak up the morning sun
Early Signs of Spring in the Garden
A spring walk in the garden
Spring - Rhododendrons/Azaleas produce a garden spectacular
Garden pathways
Garden Summer in the Lakeland fells
Garden in Winter - cosy inside though!
Tarn - 2 min walk away
Colton Church looking towards Coniston - 2 min walk away
Lake Windermere from Gummers Howe (10 min drive)
Stunning scenery: Coniston Lake (10 min drive)
Fairfield Horseshoe from near Hawkshead (20 min drive)
Tarn Hows (25 min drive)
Langdale Pikes from Tarn Hows
Derwent Water (60 min Drive)
Lesser Known Lakeland - Crummock Water (70 min drive)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Colton, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
murie84
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
“Move over, we're staying!”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

After spending a lovely week in a Bisley cottage we thought nothing could get better. Wrong.
We had a very hard time leaving this cozy and beautifully done cottage. Everything one needed was there. From lovely china to great library to easy to cook a full meal in kitchen to the bathroom from heaven. When I saw the bath I started to dream of doing mine just like it.
Organized and warm support from our lovely hosts.
We will definitely hope to spend longer time next time. Great windows and views, wonderful bed.
We are now relaxed, at peace and planning our return.
Sincerely, Muriel and Bob

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Forest Field so much and felt relaxed whilst you were here. We look forward to welcoming you again at some future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peace, perfect peace.”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Set in beautiful walking country, approached via a single track road, traffic is virtually non-existent, just the occasional tractor or horse. Transport is necessary as Colton is some distance from Ulverston, the nearest town, but this pays off in terms of peace and quiet, and you have your own off road parking.

The cottage is compact, comfortable, and contains pretty much everything you need to stay for a week or two, plus a charming view from the windows.

The owners, Mike and Mary, are lovely people, friendly and helpful and their garden is particularly lovely.

We have stayed there several times, going back this year after a break of five years, and it was great to be back.

Thanks Mary and Mike.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments. It was lovely to see you again and we're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Look forward to being able to welcome you again when you are in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanball1...
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquility Assured”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Another restful ,restorative stay at the cottage. The welcome from Mary and Mike, the cleanliness of the cottage, the flowers, milk and flowers all go to making you feel special. Access to the lakes and many places of interest, all within easy reach. The opportunity to sit and relax in the house gardens, well worth it. Walks in and around the area many varied and well researched by Mike. A fabulous retreat which we will keep going back to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
It was lovely to meet you both again. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we're ready to welcome you again whenever you come this way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberstrin...
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm and comfortable retreat for a windy winter weekend!”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The accommodation is in a beautiful location in the Rusland Valley, with walks from the door - including a walk across fields to the local pub. We stayed for a long weekend over Christmas and found the accommodation to be lovely and warm and comfortable, and the owners very welcoming. The property is on one level, so would be ideal for someone with limited mobility.
The kitchen area is well-equipped although a little small which might not suit visitors who want to do a lot of cooking on their holiday. But as there is a pub within walking distance, and plenty of nice eating places a short drive away, most people probably won't want to spend too much time in the kitchen anyway!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Many thanks for your feedback which is much appreciated. We're glad you kept warm and cosy in spite of the weather outside and that you found many of the great eating places around here. We hope to be able to welcome you again at some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamil41
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very charming and relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Forest Field is a lovely cottage. Set well away from the road, but close enough to permit easy transit to the Lakes, Forest Field is a haven of tranquillity. Mike and Mary, who own the cottage, are a very genuine, warm and friendly couple who made us feel exceptionally welcome. We have visited four times and are already looking forward to our next visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Pleased you enjoyed the peace and quiet. It was good to see you again and we look forward to being able to welcome you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleyhay...
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, relaxing retreat.”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have stayed at Forest Field many times and love the location and homeliness of the property. The property is ideal for two people and is well equipped. Having use of the garden during your stay and sitting in the summer house watching the sun go down is a real treat! We enjoy walking and cycling and there are some lovely routes right on the door step. The owners are close at hand and make you feel very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Lovely to see you both again. Glad you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you both again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy882
British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful location, very helpful owners”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage is quiet and comfortable. The countryside around is idyllic. I loved walking in the garden and sitting in the summer house by the pond. Mike and Mary were extremely helpful, yet unobtrusive.
I particularly appreciated the pocket-sized maps of walks in the area, of which there are many.
A restful vacation, yet close to many scenic and historic attractions which can be enjoyed by car a short distance away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
It was really nice to be able to welcome you and we're glad you got to know this lovely part of the UK. Thanks for your comments which we very much appreciate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing