We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great get-away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great get-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I went up to Bluefin Bay Resort for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary. We had been to another resort approx. 15 years earlier, and were happy with Bluefin Bay. Our room was a double Jacuzzi upper floor one bedroom suite in the newer side of the resort. The room was nice and had a wood burning fireplace, deck, and vaulted ceiling. The view of the lake was great. We ate at the Bluefin Grill for breakfast and dinner a few times. The food was very good but a la carte, so not cheap. They had live local music one night in the bar area which was fun. The resort is close to Lutsen (6 miles) and Grand Marais (24 miles). Hiking is very popular in the area with several trails and rivers to hike along. The resort is turning 30 years old but is well maintained. Nice place!

Room Tip: Watch for rooms next to the outdoor pool. Can be noisy but pool closes fairly early. Our deck faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveswarmweather33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    141
    38
    25
    14
See reviews for
140
287
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved our stay at Bluefin. The room was more than we expected, so beautiful and cozy, with the best view of Lake Superior. And nothing better than a real wood fireplace. We really enjoyed the guided hikes. They took us to some cool places we had never been before and saw awesome waterfalls. Since it was spring, the falls were in full gush! Our guide gave us info on other great places to hike. Had great weather for a stroll on the lakewalk and a wonderful meal at the Grille. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmorton27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

A great place to stay. Lots of activities. Great lakewalk and beach. Plenty of areas to hike and look for rocks. We love the Grille and CoHo Cafe. This was our first staying in a three bedroom town home. We have stayed many times in a smaller hillside room. I was impressed at how clean it was and everyone had their own room. Lake deck was nice to sit and enjoy the water and the birds. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootallt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We've stayed all over Lake Superior's north and south shores at various resorts, hotels, & houses in MN, WI, and Canada but after 20 years our favorite remains Bluefin Bay. No other place offers a comparable location right on the water plus great service, amenities, and food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantorville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
303 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Bluefin Bay Resort on a ski trip. Our family couldn't have been happier with our stay. There were so many amenities and fine little touches that made our stay wonderful. We stayed in a three bedroom unit. It looked out over Lake Superior. Every room of the unit was clean and comfortable. We had a wood-burning fireplace (with a large supply of wood stored right by the front door of the unit), a kitchen, flat screen TVs, a jacuzzi bath, board games and books for down time, and a walk out deck and balcony. The front desk provided s'more packs to make at each evening's bonfire. There were movies available to rent from the front desk. There was skate and hockey equipment available to use on a very large sheet of well-maintained ice. They had snowshoes to check out. During warmer times they have bicycles to ride on the local trail system. The have a large pool and arcade area. All in all there was more available than we could do in our three-day stay, so we plan to come back to this resort soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I'll be honest, upon check-in I was a little discouraged as we were instructed our accommodations were about a quarter of a mile down the road. However, DO NOT let this discourage you. The place was quaint and well kept. To the north of our place was a beach front where you could do a little "exploring" and just take in the beauty of Minnesota. To the south of our place you walk to an outdoor pool that is less than 50 yards away. There is also a board walk on the lake connecting from our place to the main lodge, activities, and Bluefin Grill. It was an awesome walk. My fiance and I went in April, however there was about 4 feet of snow on the ground. We were nervous about this as we are over winter and want nice weather, however Bluefin offers SO many winter activities to take part in. Their complementary activities were a great way to spend our time. The staff was also extremely helpful in planning activities, guiding us on where to go to do snowshoe hiking, and more. We ate at the Coho cafe, it was good. I will say that the lady who served us was not as friendly as I would expect, but I go to a restaurant primarily for the food, so it was okay. We also ate at Bluefin Grill. We both got fish, it was awesome. We sat upstairs by big open windows overlooking lake Superior. It was beautiful. At Bluefin grill, be expected to pay. They are pricey, however you are paying for ambiance, food quality, and over all experience. It was worth the money. If you like being outdoors Bluefin is DEFINITELY a place to stay. Every night Bluefin starts a campfire (even in the winters!) and provides complementary pre-made s'more packages. Overall this was an amazing stay and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Salem, WI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I want to start out by thanking the amazing staff working at the front desk when we checked out. My son got a shoulder injury the day before while snow boarding & we needed to check out a day early to get him home. The staff didn't give us any trouble or question why we had to leave early. They all wished him a speedy recovery & hoped we would return to their resort again. With that said we will for sure be back to Bluefin Bay! We loved everything about it. We are a family of 4 that rented a superior 1 bedroom condo. The condo was very clean & spacious. The only complaint I have is that there was a door in the hallway as you entered the condo that was adjoining to the condo next to us. Every time the people who stayed in that condo entered we could hear them as if they where in our room. Once they moved past that door we could not hear them. Besides the beautiful rooms we loved all the amenities the resort offered. Our kids loved the outdoor skating rink. It was so much fun sitting by the bonfire while they skated! We also made use of the free snow shoe & cross country ski rentals. They also offer guided snow shoe & cross country ski tours. We did not go on a guided tour but decided to venture out on our own. They have maps available of local trails. There is also a very nice year round outdoor pool & hot tub. We didn't get a chance to try them out because of my sons injury but plan to on our next stay. If you are looking for a great place to stay along the North Shore I highly recommend Bluefin Bay!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof2boys_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
7.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
1.2 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
8.4 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
16.9 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Property: Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Address: 7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615-8615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on the lake. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluefin Bay On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Bluefin Bay Hotel
Bluefin Bay Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing