We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful View!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Food was delicious, pricing was standard for the area, a little more than I'd normally spend, but is a resort. Staff were friendly and hospitable. The view from the back deck was amazing. I recommend stopping in. Maybe next time we'll stay at their hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elsiejane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    143
    38
    25
    14
See reviews for
142
289
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here two nights for our niece's wedding. The location is gorgeous! We had a room with a balcony overlooking the water and couldn't ask for a better view. The staff was very professional and friendly. The only drawback was the lack of air conditioning in the room. We needed to keep the windows open in order to cool the room, which meant a 5:30 wake-up call from the seagulls right outside the windows. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We needed an R&R break and took advantage of last minute pricing on a 1 bedroom elite condo. What a treat to find it exactly as described, with stunning views of the lake from both the bedroom and the living room plus a walk out which had us just seconds from the shore. This would have been enough. Smores by the fire, two pools, tennis courts with equipment provided, bikes and gear at the ready, and more only added to the R&R. While the place was nearly full, we shared the pool with never more than another family/couple or two and once in the condo, we heard nothing. Even sitting outside - lakeside - we had a sense of seclusion. Because of the location of the unit, we heard no highway noise either. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 enjoyable nights with friends at Bluefin
Most enjoyable stay. Found staff at front desk as well as at resturant were very friendly. Would go back with out question. Two bedroom one bath small but very reasonable

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pfrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have been working our way slowly up the North Shore over the years, after spending our annual family getaways mostly at Canal Park in Duluth, the move was needed due to a rapidly growing family, we have been lucky so far mostly by doing good research, this time we hit a home run..this place has so much to do for all ages, even our twin 7yr olds had a new adventure every day provided by the resort, we stayed 6 nights this time and already signed up for 7 next yr, this is the first time we are staying in the same place in 10 yrs, mainly because we got nowhere near doing all the things that this place offers.
This place really has put a lot of thought into what is offered, great people, outstanding views and layout of the property is nice. Price is high but so is everything on the lake.

Room Tip: Do your homework, all the condos have great views, I suppose the further away from the bar/restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
607 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have stayed at four of the Lutsen area resorts. (Eagle Ridge, Lutsen Resort and Caribou Highlands) Each one seems to have their own specialties which make them unique. Blue Fin and Lutsen Resort are our favorites, with Caribou next and lastly Eagle Ridge.

Bluefin's desk staff seem to have hospitality written all over them. They aim to please. The registration area is the most welcoming and accommodating of the other above resorts. Loved the complimentary bikes. The Gitchi-Gami trail is near Blue Fin and is a great bike trail. Blue Fin has more games and puzzles to borrow and bring to your room than do the other hotels. They also have coffee and flavored creamers.

The room was very clean and fairly up to date. Loved the uniqueness of the room. The soap/shampoo amenities were top notch. Next to the coffee maker were packet of Caribou Coffee and flavored creamers. This helped to give a pampering feel. The bed was very comfortable. The outdoor pool water was warm and then outdoor hot tub overlooks the lake. There is also an indoor pool area.

The restaurant is superb and we have never left disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

ALL of Bluefins property are exceptional. Our favorites are Temperance Landing and Surfside. Their employees are super and Andrew the manager has been top notch whenever I've dealt with him My only beef is the price. Over July 4th, we stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom and the cost.....a whopping 1330!! To put this in perspective our family can stay on Pensacola Beach Florida in a massive 3 BR condo, 140 yards from the water for 3 weeks for 3500. Do the math. Although I like the north shore, what people don't realize is that for many, the vacation is becoming unaffordable because the price for going to out to eat up there isn't cheap either.

Room Tip: The wifi on the north shore is horrible unless your on top of Lutsen Mtn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BongoDrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
7.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
2.8 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
8.3 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
16.9 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Property: Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Address: 7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615-8615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on the lake. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluefin Bay On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Bluefin Bay Hotel
Bluefin Bay Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing