We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3.5 might be a better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Niles, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A 3.5 might be a better”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a decent hotel but nothing special. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. Nothing stood out as either bad or great. Breakfast was decent with a nice area to eat in. The lobby area is nice. The rooms were clean and in good shape. The worst thing here is lousy or non existent cell phone service and the WiFi was so bad we gave up.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorcycle-tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    90
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
116
97
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were there for 1 night and had a great stay. The lobby is one of the nicest we have seen - warm, welcoming and decorated perfectly for the North Shore. We didn't use the pool but the pool area was large and inviting. The patio facing Lake Superior would have been a great place to sit - if we would have had the time!
Our room was very nice and the breakfast good/comparable to other breakfast buffets at motels. We were on the second floor and the lofted area (with seating) overlooking the lobby was a nice feature. Again, the lobby was beautiful and being 2 stories high made it very unique.
We had reservations for 2 nights and decided to head south mid-afternoon after our first night. The staff was very gracious about letting us check out a day early - and with no cancellation fee. We were very impressed with the young lady at the front desk and how she handled our request to leave early so we would have more time at our next destination.
This Lodge is a good value for the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

All staff and help were friendly, Place was very nice but forget the internet. I suppose because of remoteness it was so sow as to be almost worthless. Since I was on vacation I did not get too upset.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waseca, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We've stayed at this hotel a couple times now & have really enjoyed our stays. Great breakfast area, large opening great room area & lots of places to just hang out. It rained the majority of our stay but we were in a great location to get to some great hiking areas & when it was pouring, the pool & hot tub were there for us. They also have games to borrow. It was a quiet place to sleep too. Super clean room. Overall great place & a great value!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, KY
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights while hiking along Lake Superior's North Shore. Room was very clean and comfortable. Large fridge, microwave, and single serve coffee maker in the room. Showers provided hot water without a wait and facility has a nice pool & hot tub on site. Breakfast was above average with scrambled eggs and either Canadian Bacon or link sausage depending on the day. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. They have bikes for rent although we did not take advantage of them. Location served our needs well as we traveled as far south as Gooseberry Falls State Park and as far north as Grand Portage State Park on the Canadian Border. Tofte park just down the street offers nice public access to Lake Superior and we found the Holiday gas station & store next door very convenient during our stay. My only complaint was that the free wifi is so sloooooooooooooooow that it is nearly unuseable, but I wasn't there for the internet so will not let that deficiency affect my rating. Vacancies were hard to find in the area during July and the Americinn provided a good value compared to other area rates. I hope we get to come back some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmcat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Before leaving home I read all the positive reviews for this hotel. I was very disappointed. On the positive side, the room was clean and it was furnished well. We had a King Jacuzzi room but did not take advantage of the Jacuzzi. We had a 3 night reservation but left after the first night for the following reasons: we had absolutely no cell service - this hasn't happened anywhere we've traveled in several years; the "high speed internet" was impossible to use, we finally gave up; the bathroom was very small, the tub was missing it's drain plug and the shower curtain rod was nearly coming out of the wall; Barb - who was the only person on duty from the time we checked in at 2:45 pm until we checked out the next day at 10:00 am and was also managing the breakfast by herself - was very accommodating and you could see she was working very hard but every time we went to the desk we had to push a button on the phone and wait until she came. I did appreciate being able to end our stay early and I was happy with the room itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kozikreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americinngmTofte, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your comments/review regarding your recent stay at AmericInn Of Tofte. We understand that cell phone reception/service as well as internet access are key factors when deciding on where to stay while you are away from home. I acknowledge that we currently have some limitations with our internet speed and we are working with the county (Cook) to help resolve this problem. The entire county is currently undergoing the installation process offering broadband internet access when complete. This project is expected to be completed and available to us during the fall of 2013. There has also been a AT&T cell phone tower installed in the town of Schroeder (just 4 miles away) and service is also expected to begin during the fall of 2013. We have some big, exciting changes coming up and we feel confident that once these services are available to us, we will be able to meet and/or exceed our customers' expectations. Please keep it in mind that internet service as well as cell phone reception/service will not always be an issue while staying with us. We appreciate your comments which are crucial in our continued quest to provide excellent service to our guests'. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a great stay. After Geocaching, hiking and taking photos in the state parks, we could not wait to get in the pool and hot tub. Everything was clean and breakfast as good as always. The only down side is the wireless internet. I could connect fast to the access points. From there the internet is slow, because I do networking I thought I would test the speed of the connection.

Day 1 evening - ping = 182 ms, Down = 0.13, and up could not get a reading to slow. I could check my e-mail but not pull up the message.

Day 2 afternoon - Ping 197 ms, Down - 0.11 and up 0.34. Better but still slow, I decided that my E-mail and other logs could wait until we returned home.

This did not have a bad effect on our stay, because we were not in the room long and we spent time enjoying the outdoors.

Room Tip: Great location half way up the north shore. Gas prices were the best next store to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsnsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
7.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
3.0 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
3.9 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
8.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
3.9 mi away
Superior Ridge Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Address: 7231 W. Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing