We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of all the places we like to visit on the North Shore. The great staff makes our experience even better. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, great breakfast. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank AgateJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    84
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
110
93
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is very centrally located for many of the activities we love on the North Shore of Lake Superior. It is clean, friendly and nicely taken care of. There are two restaurants, gas station and a grocery store near by. Beds are comfy and they have good info on the area. Internet is slow, but that's not what you go to Tofte for anyway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great service and great experience. The front desk receptionist even upgraded our room since we had the Americinn card. This hotel is right along the North Shore of Lake Superior and there is so many things to see and do in the area! You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaBwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a very relaxing and excellent experience with our visit to Tofte and the AmericInn. Great pool experience for the kids we brought, the breakfast was good and lots of choices and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Deer out the back window everytime we looked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

If you are looking nice place to stay for the reasonable budget , clean with some facilities for relax ( pool + sauna ) and convenient service for skiers ( shuttle ) - take this hotel . Standard breakfast available . Good location near the lake . The only disappointment was very slow internet connection ( advertised as high speed )

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Jerzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Wifi is totally unreliable - so much that this hotel should not advertise they have it. When I was able to connect (which wasn't often) I'd get booted off the network within 5 min. Staff just indicated they knew it was slow and couldn't do anything about it. It also took the staff over a day to get our tv working. Decent enough hotel, but the staff weren't very helpful and the wifi was a big problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank AKHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americinngmTofte, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the AmericInn of Tofte. I am very sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take great pride in our hotel & its amenities, and we sincerely regret when we fall short in the eyes of our guests.

I would also like to thank you for your comments on the quality of our Wireless Internet Access. We know that Internet access is a key factor in making the decision on where you choose to stay when you are away from home. I acknowledge that we currently have some limitations with our Internet speed and we are working with Cook County to help solve this problem. The good news is the county is currently moving forward with a plan to provide broadband internet to all residents and businesses within the county. However, there have been some delays in the process and the bad news is that the completion of this project is still 3 to 5 months in the future. We are hopeful that this service will be available to us by mid-summer.

It is with sincere hope that you will give me and my staff another chance to prove that we can make your next experience at the AmericInn of Tofte great. Please be assured that Internet connectivity will not always be an issue and that we are working through this temporary Internet situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

this place is great! my husband and I love to stay at this hotel when we come Snowmobiling! they have pet friendly rooms located close to an exit, a wonderful continental breakfast and usually pretty good deals( if you ask for their best pricing or have done your research)
we have stayed multiple times and never been disappointed... 1 tip... shower at night or get up early or you could have a cooler shower when in a very busy season

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktjane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
7.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
3.0 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
17.1 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
3.9 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
8.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Address: 7231 W. Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing