We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tofte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This was our first stop to Chateau Leveaux, and we really enjoyed it. We usually stay closer to Grand Marais in cabins, but had passed CL on the way up many times. The room was comfortable, and had a fireplace, and a Bose surround system for the t.v. and music. They have cabinets FULL of DVD's that you can bring to your room for free, (nice for winding the kids down in the evening). The staff was very welcoming, and met all of our needs. The price was very reasonable for all that they had to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    37
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I just love Chateau LeVeaux, we've been coming here for years. We've stayed other places around Lutsen (including the ski in/ski out condos at Lutsen) but we always come back to Chateau. Some of the condos are a little dated but at least they feel cozy and "up north". I'll take that over stark white, paper thin walled condos you'll find around town...
And, of course, the views are unbelievable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cschou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay in this unit. The price was right to provide two adults their own sleeping areas. Being so close to the lake was incredible. The nautical style of the unit wS on point and this property is very close to restaurants and a coffee shop.

Room Tip: you can view pics of all units to look for updates
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jods1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in Condo 25 -spectacular! The unit lacked for nothing and the view was 2nd to none! The owners took great care in furnishing this condo. The kitchen was well stocked, there were games, movies and reading materials, and the furniture/décor was perfect!
It was so nice to have space outside to grill, play yard games and build bonfires. We built a bonfire on the rocks lakeside. Where else can you do that?
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcat93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in pet friendly Condo 7. Stayed 2 nights. Full kitchen. I had a back ache from sleeping on the bed. Great deck. Outside security door was not locked. Multiple free fire pits. Pool and whirlpool were nice. Sauna was out of order when we were there. The Chateau is showing its age in general. Bike trail is right out the door.You have to drive about 5 miles to access the Superior Hiking Trail. I feel its a bit overpriced at $200 plus per night.

Room Tip: Like others have said, check pictures to see which owner has updated his unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen43031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
297 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

If you're looking for a quiet place to spend a few days, lots of hiking opportunities, boundless scenery, this is the place to go. Comfortable and spacious apartment style rooms with full kitchens, all facing beautiful Lake Superior. The units are owned by individuals so furnishings vary but the two I looked at we very nice. Free pits are available outside the rooms if you fancy a fire at night. Well stocked with utensils and cookware all you need bring are your foodstuffs. Highly recommended. Grocery shopping available within five miles.

Room Tip: Unit 9 is exceptional! Large living area and spacious dining area as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Late-Day-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in Condo #2. It is not air conditioned...some units are. The condo had a broken lid on the trash bin which was annoying every time we needed to use it. The complex said they were waiting for the owner to replace it. There would have been a real shortage of dishes had we done anything more than our light breakfast and light dinner dishes. There was only one ice cube tray in the freezer which was difficult to empty, and with no ice container to use to dump it. The Jacuzzi tub leaked every time we used it for our showers. We had to place towels on the floor to sop up the water. There wasn't a time we walked into the condo that it didn't have an odor like fireplace smoke. The window in the bedroom wouldn't lock, but we found a stick in the living room that was made to fit the window. The sliding glass door was not too great either. The deck in the common area was nice. Part of the time neighbors upstairs had 2 dogs that would bark. We went to go out on our porch on our somewhat basement first floor, and all we could hear were the dogs pacing back and forth on an open wood floor deck. We opted to eat inside. We stayed there 5 days, and made out OK. I asked about a washer and dryer to use, and was told a couple of weeks before our stay that it was broken. It was still not fixed while we were there. Again...we made out OK, but it would have been nice to wash some of our clothes. Because it was so unexpectedly hot, I ended up buying a couple of local T-shirts to get me through the week.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattycord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
4.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
23.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
8.4 mi away
Solbakken on Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior

Property: Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior
Address: 6626 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615-8606
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to all area recreational attractions, Chateau LeVeaux features the most spectacular views of Lake Superior in the area. Condos include woodburning fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, walkout patio or lakeview balcony. Pet friendly/whirlpool units available. Indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and game room all under one roof. Honeymoon, Senior and Group Rates available. "Right in the middle of everything you want to do, and the perfect place to do nothing at all!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Leveaux On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing