We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Happened?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tofte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Mpls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What Happened?”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stay at the chateau a couple times a year. We just stayed over the long 4th of july weekend and it was not the same. The whole staff was different that we could see and not real friendley and they didn't seem to know what they were doing. Our room that we stay in every time was not very clean at all and was missing alot of things. When we did see a staff member we knew and asked what was going on she told us the managment company has changed along with new staffing. All we can say is they better get these people trained in right or get the old staff back! We loved the chateau but i'm not sure if we will go back or at least for a year or so untill they get things figured out.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbug0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    37
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

I thought this hotel was just OK. The location was convenient and fun to walk along the rocks. The hotel room itself was TINY. They tried to cram all this furniture in it to make it look cozy, but it really just got in the way. They'd be better off removing some of the excess clutter so there's more comfort in moving around.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Brought our 12 year old for the first time - previously it was Mom & Dads secret hideaway..not anymore..she fell in love with the North Shore and the Chateau..Ginny made our trip so fun for Sara we are returning this year to spend an entire week over the 4th of July..can't wait and we've even upgraded our room to the Elite Condo's to accomodate my nephew Nick to join in the fun..Love the pool, the movies, the views and the staff!
Thanks Chateau and Ginny see you a few weeks..
The Gervais Family

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redredrobynMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We decided to take a trip up to the North Shore before things got real busy. We found Chateau on the internet and decided to give it a try. We were very pleased. We had a very comfortable condo and having a full kitchen was a big plus. The staff is very helpful and this was the perfect home base for our many sidetrips. We did lots of hiking at the Temperence River and Cascade park. We also walke dthe Gitchi Gami hiking trail to pick up some breakfsat at Coho. Next time, we are bringing our bikes.

  • Liked — The bedroom. The mattress was wonderful and there was a blackout shade in the room.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DSM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2008

Me and my hubby found Chateau online and decided to give it a try. We were so happy with how quiet and relaxing it was. The room we stayed in felt like our own cabin in the woods with the plus of a pool and hot tub! The people there are so nice and accomadating with anything you ask for. They even ran to the store to get us cards for the cribbage board. We will be repeat guests over and over for sure. Thanks Chateau for making our weekend getaway so wonderful!

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — No phone
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NutsForTravel_1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

My sweetie drove us up the North Shore to see fall colors and hike around. It was cold, but the drive was lovely. We were looking foward to a cozy romantic gettaway. When we got to the checkin desk, the lady there was slow, confused and flustered. When she found our reservation, we were given keys for a room on the bottom floor a few doors from the swimming pool. The room smelled like dogs and the slaybed in the tiny bedroom took up the whole room! It was stuffy and to hot. The value/price paid not good. We had trouble getting to sleep becuase of the noise above us, like kids jumping up and down upstairs. Hard to open and close our deck door. When we complained to the front desk, nothing was done to compensate for our stay. This place is run down and service is slipshod. Well never go back. Maybe other rooms are in better shape. We were so mad when we checked out that we didn't ask if we could see other nicer rooms. We left a comment card in our room about our weekend stay but never heard from anyone. I guess this is one of those places where nobody carres.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jodi_fenske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly-ChateauLeveaux, General Manager at Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 12 May 2008
I am sorry you did not like the room you stayed it. During the time of your stay we were in a staff and computer change over to new software making things run a bit slower as we learned it. I do apologize for the staff not handling your problems correctly. All of our units are owned by different people, thus making them all different as far as decor and furnishings. I did not receive the comment card you had left but I would like to discuss this issue with you. We do not like to see anyone leave unhappy. If you are interested in staying with us one more time I can certainly go over all the rooms we have with you and find one that will fit your needs. You can also see some photos and tours on our web page to also help in picking out the right room for you. Please feel free to contact me either by phone or my email, kelly-chateauleveaux@hotmail.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Kelly Sonner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owatonna, MN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2008

I just happened upon a review of Chateau LeVeaux during the famous outage. I was there that weekend and completely disagree with the last reviewer. You just can't please some people. It truly was an act of God that turned a much too-cold-to-ski weekend into an enjoyable adventure. I only wish the power had been out a bit longer. We lit a fire and enjoyed an escape from lights, TV, computers, and phones. The staff were great, our room was great. We will be definitely be back.

  • Liked — Location, ammenities, smallness
  • Disliked — Was a little hard to find from the hiway, drove past twice!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
4.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
23.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
5.4 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior

Property: Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior
Address: 6626 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615-8606
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to all area recreational attractions, Chateau LeVeaux features the most spectacular views of Lake Superior in the area. Condos include woodburning fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, walkout patio or lakeview balcony. Pet friendly/whirlpool units available. Indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and game room all under one roof. Honeymoon, Senior and Group Rates available. "Right in the middle of everything you want to do, and the perfect place to do nothing at all!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Leveaux On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing