We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok if you done mind thin walls!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tofte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Reviewed 7 January 2011

My boyfriend and I just wanted a nice get away from the cities. The location is really great since we really like to hike and be outdoors. Our room was nice, could have been a little cleaner but it was overall good. Our biggest complaint is the noise!!! The walls seemed to be paper thin. The people above us sounded like they were doing aerobic activities at all times of the day or maybe bowling from the sounds of it. It got pretty annoying. We overheard people at the pool talking about how thin the walls were also. If you can overlook the noise factor it was a good place to stay. Having a pool and hot tub was a blessing after a long day snowshoeing. The amenities are nice, but the noise about sent me out of my mind!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babushca11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2010

This was our second time at this property. Last one was about 5 years ago. The condos are owned by people and rented out. I can't say enough about the view and the beautiful night sky. Lake Superior right at your door. Both times we stayed here we booked it through a newspaper online auction and we get a great price. We had a fine time on our first visit and I'm surprised I didn't post a review. This time it seems the place is running down a little, the two young people that checked us in were just seemed to go through the motions. Our room had average furnishings. The futon in the living room wasn't the most comfortable thing to watch TV on. One of the cabinet doors in the kitchen is falling off it's hinges. But the worst thing was the people upstairs. I'm not sure if there were kids involved but the noise on the floor was ongoing throughout the 2 days we were there. Back and forth so many times. On our second day we came back from town and the man was taking up the planks on his deck and throwing them in front of our patio. The property was not crowded at all so if management was aware this was going on, they should have booked us elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milesb1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I arrived after dark, there were more stars than sky. When I awoke at dawn, I pulled back the drape and looked out into a sapphire blue sky, crescent moon hanging over the calm water of Lake Superior. Just a tinge of pink and orange kissed the hoizon where the sun would soon rise. I grabbed my camera and descended the wooden stairs to the stone cliffs below. Water gently lapped the lichen covered rocks, a squirrel chattered.
The power of the lake is hidden beneath the velvet surface this morning. I feel incredibly
inspired as I sit motionless feeling the embrace of lake,rocks and sky. I can't say enough about this place.... The setting is wonderful. The property managers are an absolutely darling newlywed couple. They told me about some great hikes and good places for photos and daytrips. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed for a few nights and had a wonderful time. Very nice, quiet and clean room. We stayed in one of the Superior rooms on the third floor. Most are townhomes however and this is one of three rooms that are available for shorter stays. The views are beyond compare and the staff is very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again. Close to all one would want to do on the north shore.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCMey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior - nice rooms, pool & hot tub - huge deck overlooking Lake Superior. Great place for winter or summer stay! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stay at the chateau a couple times a year. We just stayed over the long 4th of july weekend and it was not the same. The whole staff was different that we could see and not real friendley and they didn't seem to know what they were doing. Our room that we stay in every time was not very clean at all and was missing alot of things. When we did see a staff member we knew and asked what was going on she told us the managment company has changed along with new staffing. All we can say is they better get these people trained in right or get the old staff back! We loved the chateau but i'm not sure if we will go back or at least for a year or so untill they get things figured out.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelbug0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

I thought this hotel was just OK. The location was convenient and fun to walk along the rocks. The hotel room itself was TINY. They tried to cram all this furniture in it to make it look cozy, but it really just got in the way. They'd be better off removing some of the excess clutter so there's more comfort in moving around.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ms T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
4.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
23.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
4 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
23.6 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior

Address: 6626 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615-8606
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range: £59 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to all area recreational attractions, Chateau LeVeaux features the most spectacular views of Lake Superior in the area. Condos include woodburning fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, walkout patio or lakeview balcony. Pet friendly/whirlpool units available. Indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and game room all under one roof. Honeymoon, Senior and Group Rates available. "Right in the middle of everything you want to do, and the perfect place to do nothing at all!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Leveaux On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing