We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay View Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge(Biwabik)(Great Value!)
US$162
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Ely Lodge(Ely)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Ely Budget Host(Ely)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(Ely)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine View Inn(Virginia)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeshore Motor Inn(Virginia)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
10
5
0
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
5
0
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great place on beautiful Lake Vermilion. Great Tiki Bar in the summer for drinks and food and live music several times a week in the summer. Best prime rib around. Ocassionally a wine tasting dinner is offered and is a blast with food and wine. Bartenders are a lot of fun. Owners are nice and friendly. Any questions ask Judd, he's an expert on everything. Can be a loud and wild party spot on weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrmcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Great place with a fun atmosphere! If you are looking for a place to hang out and let loose then this is the spot! One of my personal all time events of the summer is kicked off at the Bayview Lodge during the 4th of July festivities! I don't want to forget to mention the multi tier deck overlooking the beautiful lake which features outdoor dining and an exciting Tiki bar! Serving Vermilion all year round allows you to show up in a boat and dock at one of the many docks open to guests and the public. If its winter, great place to ride your sled to! Easy access by the road as well!

We make it a point to stop in every time we travel up in that direction!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Nothing beats a great dinner on the deck at Bay View on a warm summer evening. The sunsets over Lake Vermilion are worth whatever you've spent for dinner. If you're lucky, you will be serenaded by some great local musicians who play live music on a regular basis throughout the summer season. We live nearby and Bay View is where we bring our guests when we want a nice dinner out. They offer a reasonably-priced "bar" menu and a more moderately-priced dinner menu. The locals love their burgers and fish fry. They have great salads and specialty sandwiches. My son adores the prime rib and their pasta. The staff is friendly. I have special dietary needs (gluten-free) and the kitchen is always willing to work with me to find something I can eat. Bay View has been under new management for the past two years, so be sure to give the new owners a try.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Beautiful location on Lake Vermillion. The place has much potential it is just too bad that nobody has taken the initiative to do so. There is a Tiki bar and the food was actually very good. Drinks were also well made and the bar tender was a character. Unfortunately things rapidly went downhill as the night and morning progressed. We have nothing against a good time, but the people at the Bay View Lodge carried things to excess. The pounding music on the Tiki porch sound system ended at about 2:00. Things seemed to really pick up around the camp fire as drunken revelry was the order of the night. Things began to slow down at about 4:00am. We woke to broken beer bottles in the fire, beach, lake area and play ground. This was a Friday night and only served as a prelude to some very serious partying the following evening. Then we woke to find a drunk so far gone in his car the stereo was blaring and the drunk was oblivious. We also heard what we believed was an assault in the middle of the night. We packed up and moved on out at 6:00am after absolutely no sleep. We called the cops about the assault we heard, and high tailed out of there. We later read that just ia few months ago an individual drowned in his boat after partying at the Bay View Lodge. If massive amounts of drinking is your thing, then this might be your place. If enjoying Lake Vermillion, resting up or hanging out with kids is your thing, stay far far away.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Tillerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewLodge, Owner at Bay View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

I'm really sorry you fellas didn't have a good time. You were the only ones out of the other 200 ppl that didn't :-) I think our description on the website really sums it up, this is definatly a spot for those who like to party. Most of the other guys here were less that upset at the bachelorette parties that night!
We do have the largest bar on the lake and things do get a little wild so I really don't know what to say... Sorry for partying?!?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Bay View Lodge has the potential to be a great vacation place. Located on Lake Vermillion the resort includes a lodge with restaurant and bar facilities for guest use (closed to public). Large decks and (closed) cabana bar overlooking the lake. The website and brochure looked beautiful, shows a picturesque setting, charming lodge and bar area for guest use. Cabins are described as cozy, richly decorated, with a great view of the lake.

The brochure and website is misleading and inaccurate. What we found was a sad, run down resort; the buildings and grounds need major cleaning, repairs, and maintenance. Our cabin was dirty, cobwebs in most corners, the couch and “easy chair” were spotted and worn out, and our view of the lake was obstructed by trees.

The resort provided no boats, canoes, etc. for guest use, no bait shop as stated in the brochure; we did not see a sand beach with well-buoyed swimming area.

A very disappointing way to start a much needed and looked forward to vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sportsmomanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewLodge, Owner at Bay View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

This was prior to new ownership taking over, I'm really sorry you had such an awful time. I gaurantee things are much different now! Cabins have all been updated, new beds, bedding, linens! Come on back and I'll make sure you have a great time!! Mention this response and I'll knock 25% off the price! Thanks - Erik Lietz (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews