We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting but uncomfortable beds ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tower
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fortune Bay Resort Casino
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tower
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great setting but uncomfortable beds ”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Great setting along the shores of Lake Vermillion with a nice boat launch and marina. We did some fishing in the bay the evening we arrived and caught a couple nice northern pike. We enjoyed an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant than headed to the casino. We were surprised by the amount of smoke in the casino area and didn't stay long. We don't go to casinos and probably won't start due to the air quality. The rooms are adequate but the beds were very uncomfortable with limited bedding and small pillows.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MikenMary08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Good afternoon:

Sorry that your bed was not as comfortable as you would have liked. We are updating the bedding in our deluxe standard rooms during the next fiscal year.

We previously added new bedding and pillows in our suites and premium rooms so if you come back for another visit, we recommend that you reserve one of those rooms.

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We’re glad that you enjoyed your time spent fishing and in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    52
    29
    23
    6
See reviews for
48
74
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean rooms, easy check in, and that's about it. The steakhouse dinner is good, but the Tamarack buffet is horrible. The country fried steak is dry, the waffle and French Toast sticks taste like cardboard and the biscuits for the gravy are comparable to rocks. For $10 I could have fed a family of 4 at McDonald's and had a better experience. Oh, and as I'm writing this the coffee machine broke so there's that.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Axel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Good morning:

Sorry that your recent experience at the Tamarack Buffet was not a positive one.
Please call 218-753-7882 so that we can discuss your concerns.

Thank you and again, we’re sorry that your dining experience was less than satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cook, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Went up there for a snowmobiling trip and it was awesome!! Great trails around the casino and great fishing with a 10 minute drive or 5 minute snowmobile ride. We were able to park the sleds right out front and the hotel rooms were very nice. I would recommend the newly remodeled rooms with a balcony because they tend to be a little more spacious for a small fee. They have a great indoor pool and sauna along with a nice arcade for the kids. Gambling is also pretty nice, but I did not do a lot. The golf course in the Summer is TOP notch too.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the suite or balcony. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopdoug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Good morning:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our property.

We’re glad that you were able to enjoy our amenities and the amenities near our property.

Thanks again. Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We came here for golf, but spent a little time in the casino as well. Our king suite was lovely - very comfortable bed, Murphy bed in the living room, 2 TV's, Keurig coffee maker, fireplace, large closet, nice bathroom. The buffet was smaller than most casinos but there were still plenty of choices and the food was good. There is a Tim Horton's coffee shop here, which might be the only one in the US. Golf course is amazing - wish it wasn't so remote! Only two negatives: 1) There weren't many non-smoking rooms available; and 2) our toilet overflowed on the first flush and the maintenance guy was a little short with us for not turning off the water valve. But it was a small amount of water that overflowed (just the water from the tank), so that wouldn't have solved anything. The housekeeping lady who came to mop up the floor was very nice.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite, so it had an extra large balcony and a screen door so you could get fresh air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Good afternoon:

Thank you for your recent visit and for providing us with feedback regarding your stay.

Sorry that our maintenance team member wasn’t more sympathetic to your problem, but we are glad that our housekeeping team member was able to help out.

Thanks again, we hope to see you this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This review only pertains to the concerts they provide. We have gone to many and yet almost EVERY time, from the first day it is advertised, you can NOT book a room!! Here it is 3 months away from the concert, it was just advertised and not a room available!! Maybe you should consider stopping the practice of giving your 'elite' members automatic rooms and often it's more than one room, and then they don't even stay overnight and use the room! You double or triple the price of the rooms for most top of the line acts, but how much do you lose because you let your elite members rooms go unused or they let their friends and family use the room for free! You have had great entertainment in the last few years but when the show runs late at night, people can't enjoy the concert and drive home afterwards so being able to get a room would sure be nice! Time to change your policies???

Room Tip: No rooms available for most concerts.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MissMn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

Once concert tickets go on sale, our rooms sell out rather quickly. Please keep an eye on our website at www.fortunebay.com to see the upcoming summer concert schedule and reserve your room early.

We also work with area hotels to provide transportation to and from the concert. Keep in mind that the hotels in our area have higher occupancy rates during the summer so make your room reservations as soon as possible.

Thank you again for your review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faribault, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I don't know how this hotel doesn't have a better rating. It definitely gets a 5 from me. Our whole room was very nice and updated and the bed was nice also. We also had a balcony overlooking the golf course. Another nice thing was the sauna and the fact that they have their own marina.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us this past summer.

We have added some new amenities (e.g. totally redesigned The Tamarack, added a credit union and a Tim Hortons Cafe & Bake Shop) since your last visit so we encourage you to come back for another trip to check them out.

Thanks again for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Fargo, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Having stayed at other area casinos in the past, I usually come to expect a warm room, decent bed average meal and good hospitality. Not much of a gambler, my business associate and I decided to stay here for a few nights and snowmobile the local trails. What we got was a warm reception, a ton of freebies - $40/nt off with sign up of players club, free drinks, free breakfasts, etc... A nice room and atmosphere was also unexpected but was appreciated. The topper of the whole trip is that we had rode 120 miles away from the resort and my partner's sled broke down. Stuck in the middle of no where, the resort came and picked us up - a 2+ hour drive! For no charge! Wow is all I can say. Of course we tipped them generously and could not believe they would be so helpful. We had decided to cut our stay short a night because of the breakdown and guess what, Fortune Bay refunded our last night! We have been many places in the area in the past for snowmobiling, golfing, etc... but will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jefxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Good afternoon:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Sorry that your trip was cut short due to problems with your snowmobiles, but we’re glad that our staff was able to turn your experience into a positive one.

We’ll make sure to pass along your comments to our team members whom helped you out, thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tower
16.9 mi away
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
22.6 mi away
Coates Plaza Hotel
Coates Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Virginia
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
382 reviews
22.4 mi away
Lakeshore Motor Inn
Lakeshore Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Virginia
58 reviews
13.8 mi away
Northern Comfort Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Bay Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Bay Resort Casino

Property: Fortune Bay Resort Casino
Address: 1430 Bois Forte Rd, Tower, MN 55790-8111
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tower
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tower
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you enjoy gaming in our exciting casino, relaxing by our pool, fishing on beautiful Lake Vermilion, dining at one of our fine establishments, or playing our championship golf course "The Wilderness." Fortune Bay Resort Casino offers a little something for everyone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fortune Bay Hotel Tower
Fortune Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing