We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort Poor Customer Service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tower
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fortune Bay Resort Casino
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tower
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I went to Fortune Bay from June 27th through the 29th. When I called to make the reservation Leigh was awesome! She was kind, helpful and eager to help as we were just married April 19th and really just wanted our first weekend away as a married couple. We had the King fire place suit room 512 just beautiful! I had read that the staff was very well with customers however that was not our experience. My husband and I arrived around 5:30pm and there was no wait to check in but they have a rope that forms a line and we went through that since it was there. James checked us in but was very rude about making us feel like idiots that we went through the line since there was no wait. We did not no he was ready to help us and though it would be rude if we just approached as he was on the computer. He was short with us and gave us our key and that was it. he did not expalin where our room was our how to get there. We then thought we would have a nice steak dinner at Sunsets Steakhouse. We walked up to the sign that said please wait to be seated. We were treated poorly asking if we had reservations. We did not and had no clue we needed them. It was very quiet in there 2 open booths by the bar and many high top tables empty. He seemed over whelmed with thefew customers in there so we left. We did go back the next night but called first. We had told the bartender that maybe the front desk should inform it's guest that they need resevations or at least put it on a sign out in front. He was much friendlyer Saturday and did agree with us. The food there was very good! We had never had a Tim hortons coffee or pastry so we thought we would buy some. We walked in around 10am on Saturday morning and there were 2 staff members working the skinny lady with the dark hair was leaning over the counter discussing hours with 2 other employees and Brittany was also discussing hours. No one greeted us or asked if they may help us. I made sure to tell Brittany a word of advice that when you have a paying customer in front of you help them, greet them smile at them. (Customer Service was so poor at this resort it is so sad. The resort itself is lovely. I have worked with some of the best customers service trainers around the country and your staff needs training. It's such a simple thing to smile and greet people to say hello. The old saying is treat people how you want to be treated is false. Treat people how they want to be treated is the way to be sucessful. We did have a lovely stay and will be back due to the few people like Leigh that really add value. Business meetings about work shifts when customers are present is very rude and I beleive that the staff doesn't even get it nor care. We felt very unvalued and Management should take note. Perhaps even doing shops on certain areas to see how the staff is doing may help. I hope that our next visit we will see a change in how the areas that I brought up will be improved on.

We really enjoyed our stay as the room value was great and we loved it out on the lake!
tender

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sadi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Good afternoon:

I spoke to our resort manager who will speak to his team member about the poor customer service you experienced. The same discussion will take place with our Tim Hortons team members and our Sunset Steakhouse crew.

You are right. Providing customer service is a simple task that we sometimes forget and we apologize for not recognizing the importance of that fact with you or your husband.

Please accept our sincere apologies. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was extremely impressed the the quality of my stay at Fortune Bay. The rooms are fantastic with great balconies--make sure to request one with a view of the golf course or the lake!

The hotel itself is huge, but the casino doesn't seem that big. The casino allows smoking, so the smell is pretty intense, but it is confined to the casino.

Breakfast is not free at the casino, but you have options. Rather than doing the buffet, I opted for a quick donut and juice in the little bistro which was only $3 and fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nels311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Good morning:

We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Have a great 4th of July holiday weekend and thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We visited the casino and were disappointed. Not that we are 'big spenders' by any stretch but practically all the slots are penny slots, we searched high and low for quarter slots and couldn't find any. That and the fact that entire casino is smoking, no non smoking areas did not make for a positive experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Kathy8MplsMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good morning:

Thank you for your review and for stopping by to visit us.

Just to clarify we do have plenty of quarter slots, dollars slots, etc. Sorry that you weren’t able to find them, but our staff is always willing to help out, so if you visit us again, stop by our Players Club with any questions you may have.

Regarding the smoking in the casino, we did have a non-smoking area, but the air quality could not be controlled well enough to truly call it a non-smoking area.

Thank you again for your recent visit. Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Great setting along the shores of Lake Vermillion with a nice boat launch and marina. We did some fishing in the bay the evening we arrived and caught a couple nice northern pike. We enjoyed an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant than headed to the casino. We were surprised by the amount of smoke in the casino area and didn't stay long. We don't go to casinos and probably won't start due to the air quality. The rooms are adequate but the beds were very uncomfortable with limited bedding and small pillows.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank MikenMary08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Good afternoon:

Sorry that your bed was not as comfortable as you would have liked. We are updating the bedding in our deluxe standard rooms during the next fiscal year.

We previously added new bedding and pillows in our suites and premium rooms so if you come back for another visit, we recommend that you reserve one of those rooms.

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We’re glad that you enjoyed your time spent fishing and in our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean rooms, easy check in, and that's about it. The steakhouse dinner is good, but the Tamarack buffet is horrible. The country fried steak is dry, the waffle and French Toast sticks taste like cardboard and the biscuits for the gravy are comparable to rocks. For $10 I could have fed a family of 4 at McDonald's and had a better experience. Oh, and as I'm writing this the coffee machine broke so there's that.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Axel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Good morning:

Sorry that your recent experience at the Tamarack Buffet was not a positive one.
Please call 218-753-7882 so that we can discuss your concerns.

Thank you and again, we’re sorry that your dining experience was less than satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Went up there for a snowmobiling trip and it was awesome!! Great trails around the casino and great fishing with a 10 minute drive or 5 minute snowmobile ride. We were able to park the sleds right out front and the hotel rooms were very nice. I would recommend the newly remodeled rooms with a balcony because they tend to be a little more spacious for a small fee. They have a great indoor pool and sauna along with a nice arcade for the kids. Gambling is also pretty nice, but I did not do a lot. The golf course in the Summer is TOP notch too.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the suite or balcony. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snoopdoug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Good morning:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our property.

We’re glad that you were able to enjoy our amenities and the amenities near our property.

Thanks again. Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We came here for golf, but spent a little time in the casino as well. Our king suite was lovely - very comfortable bed, Murphy bed in the living room, 2 TV's, Keurig coffee maker, fireplace, large closet, nice bathroom. The buffet was smaller than most casinos but there were still plenty of choices and the food was good. There is a Tim Horton's coffee shop here, which might be the only one in the US. Golf course is amazing - wish it wasn't so remote! Only two negatives: 1) There weren't many non-smoking rooms available; and 2) our toilet overflowed on the first flush and the maintenance guy was a little short with us for not turning off the water valve. But it was a small amount of water that overflowed (just the water from the tank), so that wouldn't have solved anything. The housekeeping lady who came to mop up the floor was very nice.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite, so it had an extra large balcony and a screen door so you could get fresh air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Good afternoon:

Thank you for your recent visit and for providing us with feedback regarding your stay.

Sorry that our maintenance team member wasn’t more sympathetic to your problem, but we are glad that our housekeeping team member was able to help out.

Thanks again, we hope to see you this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tower
16.8 mi away
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
22.8 mi away
Coates Plaza Hotel
Coates Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Virginia
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
22.7 mi away
Lakeshore Motor Inn
Lakeshore Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Virginia
60 reviews
22.6 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Bay Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Bay Resort Casino

Address: 1430 Bois Forte Rd, Tower, MN 55790-8111
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tower
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tower
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you enjoy gaming in our exciting casino, relaxing by our pool, fishing on beautiful Lake Vermilion, dining at one of our fine establishments, or playing our championship golf course "The Wilderness." Fortune Bay Resort Casino offers a little something for everyone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fortune Bay Hotel Tower
Fortune Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing