We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad accommodation”

Canning Bridge Auto Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canning Bridge Auto Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Applecross
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We checked in and out within 5 minutes, while it looks very nice from the outside, our room, was unbelievable, Small cramped musty, there was a large hole in the fly screen and window didn't close, the light switch was on the other side of the room opposite the entry .As for the bathroom I am currently renovating and throwing away a toilet and shower in better condition. Over all a disgrace . Thinking of staying there think again.
When we said we would not stay, we were offered a better room( can't imagine they have any )at an extra cost, are you kidding me. Our room rate was $130 then offered alternative $160 which according to reception is normally $190. I recently stayed at the Hyatt 5 star for $130 .
This place is an embarrassment to our tourist industry.

Room Tip: Look else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have stayed here many times and am starting to appreciate what a well oiled machine it is. Parking is sufficient and the rooms are well maintained despite their age. They are refurbishing slowly. The rooms and bathrooms are in reasonable to good condition. The front desk service tries hard to help.

Pros - Sufficient Parking
Reasonable Rates
Lots of good restaurants in walking distance at all price ranges
Long way from city.
Has a basic breakfast menu
Internet works well and reasonable. By the day rate.
Gym across the road

Cons- Lots of crims in the area so secure your vehicle- lock it or lose it.
No internal sit down dining. Have to forage for yourself.

Room Tip: The local IGA just down the hill sell RTE mini meals etc. All rooms are reasonably decked out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hands down the worst motel/lodge/whatever I ever stayed in Australia.
You would get better customer service in McDonald's or any random car wash!
The girls who work here hate their job and are not afraid to show it!
I stayed here a couple of weeks. With today's standards of quality and customer service, this place looks really lagging behind.
The location is good as is close to PT, several cafes and restaurants and Swan River.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Xevak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times (and recently made another reservation) and have enjoyed out stays. The rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable and it is very quiet. Good location, Freo and the CBD are easilly accessible, restuarants and shops are a short walk away, and there is a bus stop nearby.

Room Tip: The spa in the honeymoon suit is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeighC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Perth is a hell when it comes to hotels, so I ended up staying between the city and Fremantle. There are plenty of buses and trains to catch.

The lodge is spacious, and quite basic. But I found the room clean. It's close to Canning hwy, so a bit noisy.

A great place to stay a couple of nights - don't be scared by the location. Plenty of restaurants in the area and good connections with Perth City and Fremantle.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ContrailsfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Arrived from Melbourne to attend a wedding and wanted to check in 1 hr earlier and we got yelled at. the phone got slammed down on us . the receptionist walked off into another room slammed the door shut and yelled at someone or something saying why do I have to put up with this ......... ! She came out and snatched my credit card then threw the door key at me and said you know where to go. Very unpleasant manner for a tourist to experience. Would never reckon this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stay there when in Perth on company business. Self contained usints. Failrly old but reasonable clean.
Had my vehicle broken into twice on sonsequetative nights. Sound some of my stuff on the parked on the third floor balcony in an alledged unoccupied room?
Receptions manner is simply rough. Asked them to order a cab for the airport early next morning. Didn't ha[[en and when phone cab company denied any booking was made. Made the flight very stressed.
Pros
Lots of resturants and eateries around the place. Rooms are large. Kitchen facilities reasonable with god size fridges.
Cons
Lots of theives in the area. Can't rely on reception to do stuff for you. No resturant on site which is a pain. Need to stock on food if you do not eat out. Pain if your travel plans have to be flexible.

Overall OK for what it is.

Room Tip: Rooms clsest tyo the highway exposed to thieves and noise. Keep your car alarm on all the time. Plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Applecross
1.7 mi away
Pagoda Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Broadwater Resort Apartments
3.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Perth
Metro Hotel Perth
#1 of 3 in South Perth
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sullivans Hotel
Sullivans Hotel
#34 of 66 in Perth
763 reviews
1.5 mi away
Windsor Lodge Como
Windsor Lodge Como
#3 of 4 in Como
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canning Bridge Auto Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canning Bridge Auto Lodge

Address: 891 Canning Hwy, Applecross, Melville, Western Australia 6153, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Melville > Applecross
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Applecross
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Canning Bridge Auto Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing