We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really unique and sweet experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northern Rail Traincar Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really unique and sweet experience.”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We had one of the largest rooms, giving us a living room to watch TV in the evening. It also allowed us to entertain another couple traveling with us in the evening.I believe it was the best B&B experience we've had. There are so many different experiences and sights to enjoy along the North Shore area near here, that it makes a freebase to day trip from.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimArogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    38
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
73
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Had a wonderful weekend staying at the Northern Rail! The hostess was extremely helpful from booking to exiting. I wasn't sure about the weather for the upcoming weekend and the hostess told me she had rooms available and there was no pressue to decide - just to call before 10pm on arrival date - extremely accomodating. Upon arrival, we were so glad we made the trip. The decor was awesome and each room was themed. We had our choice of rooms and stayed in the lighthouse room. The room was extremely clean and very comfortable. The hostess was amazing with her recommendations, maps, and stories of the history of the traincars and the local area. We were sad to leave, but took many great pictures all over the property, including on the railcars. We hope to be back again and hope they are able to obtain a caboose car.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and I spent a couple nights there celebrating our 20th anniversary. We were very impressed with the hospitality and cleanliness. The staff went out their way to make it enjoyable stay. They even recommended we visit a beach with pink stones. It was very quiet except for an occasional creak of the wheels on the rails.

Room Tip: Our room looked out to the woods in back. There were deer feeding there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hookertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I went up north for some relaxation and we were so glad we stayed at the Northern Rail. Perfect spot and very cozy! Clean, well put together and so quiet. We loved it. The hostess was wonderful and it was great to see the deer by the lobby while we munched on our breakfast. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: We had the King sized beds, and they were extremely comfortable. Slept wonderfully every nite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our family rented out the entire place for 2 days over Christmas and everyone enjoyed the ambiance which was spectacular!

Room Tip: Tell them what you're looking for and they'll recommend the right room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhoffman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stay here each winter for our annual snow shoe trip. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. It is clean, charming and quaint. Away from the husle bustle of the city, but close enough, that it is just a short trip into town. The staff is helpful with any questions you may have and there are many things to do. DVDs, books and games. Snowshoe rental and wild life to watch outside your room window. Excellent continental breakfast. Something for everyone--it is a great place to stay for families and/or a great honeymoon retreat.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the website as it shows and describes the rooms. All rooms seem very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We found this place on TripAdvisor and were really pleased. Setting aside the unique facilities (which really are quite cool) and just evaluating it as an inn (which it feels a bit more like than a B&B), it stacks up very well. Very clean, comfortable facilities; very good Continental breakfast, with many more options than the typical hotel breakfast. There are games, puzzles, and DVDs to borrow. And the decor is not fussy, just comfortable. We're going to recommend it to friends and family, and come back ourselves - a great find.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesota75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
3.2 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
182 reviews
20.1 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
515 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
1.6 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
414 reviews
3.1 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Rail Traincar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Rail Traincar Inn

Property: Northern Rail Traincar Inn
Address: 1730 Highway 3, Two Harbors, MN 55616-1182
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Rail Traincar Inn is a "Unique Hotel with a B&B Feel"! Nestled in the woods our accommodations provide a relaxing northern getaway 1/2 mile from the north shore of Lake Superior. There are 14 rooms in 7 boxcars (1/2 car each) called Porter and Porter w/Sofa rooms and there are 3 full car Suites (there are 10 cars total). We have several themes for our rooms: Oriental (inspired by the Asian influence of the Orient Express) Safari (Inspired by the Safari trains of the early 1900's) Victorian (Inspired by the era of train travel) Northwoods rooms for something different: Fishing, Bear, Golf & Lighthouse. From the charming platform hallway to the unique rooms and the peaceful surroundings Northern Rail appeals to anyone looking for a unique experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Rail Traincar Hotel Two Harbors
Northern Rail Traincar Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing