We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Superior Shores Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Superior Shores Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Maple Grove, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I hadn't been to Superior Shores since 2004. The place is going downhill. Our rooms in the main lodge showed many signs of aging. My biggest complaint is the bedding. How anyone could be expected to sleep in a mattress that had absolutely no support left is beyond comprehension. I felt like I was going to roll off the side. We had a king-size bed and even then I could feel the wood in the platform that the mattresses sit on. The tile surrounding the jacuzzi tub was cracked and missing. Points earned - the breakfast food ordered in the restaurant was scrumptious and filling and large portioned and as always the view is amazing. I could sit for hours in the bar just gazing out to sea. Bottom Line - to the owners - - you need to start renovating to upkeep this beautiful property.

Room Tip: Depends on what you are looking for - - a couple celebrating an anniversary, a family of tourists, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tallsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    115
    63
    46
    30
See reviews for
153
156
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The decor is impeccable. No expesne spared and great views of Superior. However, we stayed in the next bldg down from the main lodge--read, get in car and travel for meals or other amenities apart from ice. No lotion, no newpspaer, one small shampoo, no conditioner, one soap, no place to stand outside and sip without getting wet or sunburned. The Inn owns the travel info store in town. While helpful, she told us that our room, (at $209 + taxes and fees off-seaon) was for two nights not one. Being MEA weekend, we had no choice. BUT--these folks are property developers, not hoteliers. They could care less about our comfort or convenience..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room in the main lodge with a fireplace and Jacuzzi. The heated outdoor pool, hot tub and fire pit were right outside our balcony which was somewhat noisy as in spite of the 30-40 degree temperatures, there was plenty of activity! Fortunately, they closed before 10PM. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice and open later. The hot tub was HUGE and set at a great temperature!
The rooms and beds were comfortable however the couch and hide-a-bed were fairly flat. It was fabulous to have a full kitchen to prepare meals and avoid having to eat out for every meal. We requested a few items including extra pillows, extra blankets, more forks, etc which were cheerfully and promptly delivered to our room.
The food and beverages in the restaurant and bar area were fantastic!

Room Tip: Exterior poolside room on the main level was convenient to access the outdoor pool, hot tub and fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I've been staying here for the last 3 years, outstanding place. I come up here 3 times a year and the views from this place is fantastic. They have an outstanding resturant as well, the food is good and reasonably priced. This is not a major chain Hotel but very well kept.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Plaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in one of the Burlington Bay buildings, which are newer and nicer in my opinion. The room was clean and we had a great view of the lake. I only have a couple of things that I wish were better - I would have preferred bigger pillows (very flat) and the beds could have been more comfy, but they weren't the worse that I have slept on. During our visit I did request that the temperature of the pool be warmer and they were accommodating. I called the front desk on Saturday morning and by the time we returned in the afternoon the water was warmer than it was the night before.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor if you want a better view of the lake. Make sure to stay away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed in a jacuzzi and fireplace deluxe room in the main lodge. The room was very clean and had everything you needed. They allow dogs and only charge 15 total a night not per pet, which most places do. The grounds were very nice and the beach was close and clean.We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JhShMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great Accomodations. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite in the main lodge. Upgraded to the lake view - definitely worth the few extra dollars. Friendly staff. Quiet setting with lots of shore line to find a remote spot. Location is very convenient for North Shore attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trog1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
21.3 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
6.9 mi away
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Property: Superior Shores Resort
Address: 1521 Superior Shores, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Superior Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Superior Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superior Shores Hotel Two Harbors
Superior Shores Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing