We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Shores Burlington Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Superior Shores Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superior Shores Burlington Bay”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I've stayed here 5 times, winter, fall and summer. This time I took my teenagers for a Saturday to Monday trip. We stayed in room E410. The best part of the Burlington Bay is the spaciousness of the main room, and the separate large master suite. The king bed was comfortable and the pullout couch was easy to set up. There are 2 flatscreen tv's - one 42" in the living room and one 32" in the master - both with DVD players. We downloaded movies to our kindle and connected to the TV with an HDMI cable. Everything feels clean and modern.

There is also a fully stocked kitchen and a full dining table. We stopped at the local grocery to buy supplies. We had breakfast in the room and one night made spaghetti. Nice to have a big fridge to stock pop and food. Also used the stove, coffee maker and toaster. All good. The maid even loaded the dishwasher and ran it for us.

The bathroom was stocked with plenty of towels, soaps, shampoo and conditioner. Large shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Nice jacuzzi in the master.

The kids enjoyed the pool which we had to ourselves on Sunday afternoon. On Saturday it was packed, so we skipped that day. Especially liked the indoor/outdoor hot tub as the temp was around 60 outside with a foggy mist. Perfect temp - also used the sauna.

We had brunch Sunday morning at Kamloops. Eggs, hashbrowns, sausage and french toast. Assorted fruits and pastries. Just average and a little over-priced. Nice view of the lake from the dining room.

We went up to Betty's Pies - yum!. We also spent a few hours hiking at Gooseberry Falls. Very nice and the recent rains made thunderous falls. Parking lots were packed but didn't feel crowded.

One downfall is that wi-fi is not good. I used my iPhone as a hotspot so we could all get on our devices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    121
    67
    47
    34
See reviews for
167
163
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

2 nights stay, 2 adults and 2 children. Was disappointed to find that rather that a King and Queen sofa bed, it was actually a King and air mattress. Was not told about the air mattress at any point during the booking or check in, or else I would have requested a different room. No air conditioning and only one out of three screened windows could be opened. We would have left the deck doors open but it was pouring rain and when it wasn't, since it wasn't screened, the mosquitoes came in. In-house restaurant was pretty good except it took a half hour to get our desserts, and the waitress forgot one of them which made for one unhappy child. We didn't eat there again. Not sure I would come here again unless the price was MUCH cheaper (we paid $215/night) and it was cool enough to leave the door to the deck open all night without worrying about mosquitoes.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in a one-bedroom condo in the Burlington Bay units and were happy to be close to Two Harbors with a nice view of the bay, but we wishes there was more than just a very short walking path to get out and enjoy the setting. We would probably never come here again unless we got a much better deal. We had a couple complaints that we felt really go way below what you expect from paying $260/night to stay somewhere.

We reserved for a family of four, so obviously we weren't all going to be staying in the one king bed in the one bedroom.The pull-out bed in the couch did not work -- they left a sign on it that said "Do Not Use" -- and instead of fixing it or getting a new one they threw a cheap flimsy air mattress in our closet, which was a hassle to roll out and roll back up each day and did not even hold air very well.

Then on the morning we were leaving, the one and only elevator in the building went out of order with some people temporarily trapped inside. We were on the ground floor and the parking area is behind the building (on a slope) at the third floor, so we had to drag our stuff up three flights of stairs. Instead of offering us any assistance in carrying all our stuff, the many many staff members we passed (maintenance, housekeeping) actually seemed amused by the whole thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisR35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed with a friend in main lodge in lakefront suite. Overall the room was nice-looked much better than in the online photos (which desperately need to be updated.) Two room problems-the aero bed was defective-over the course of both nights we stayed the bed completely deflated. And there was no wifi service that worked. The size, layout and functionality of the room was great, minus those two factors. The area close between the lodge and like was nice. We were there before the summer season really got rolling, and I can see it getting filled with kids as the summer goes on-great if you have kids, probably louder and less terrific if you don't.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LovePVMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The only reason I didn't give this 100% rating was because the hot tub was shut down. I was very disappointed to see this after a long day of driving.

The rooms were nice and clean - spacious and up to date. Stayed in Burlington Bay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank iver0185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Not sure what this place does not always come up on searches. I type in the name and it seems like a competitor down the road somehow always comes up first. We have stayed here a few times and always a great experience. Sometimes we stay in the lodge area... a bit more rustic feel to it but nice and sometimes we stay in the Burlington bay area which has its own pool and parking lot, separate from the lodge. This time we were at Burlington. Great view of the lake, quiet as always and a great nights sleep. Enjoyed the adults only time in the pool/whirlpool as I was the only person in it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Decided to bring our dog with on a recent road trip. did a internet search of dog friendly hotels in the Two Harbor area. Pictures of Superior Shores looked really nice. Our room however didn't match any of the rooms on their web site. Maybe it was because we were in a dog friendly room. A little disappointing. The lobby area was decorated with the Northern Woods feel which was really nice. Made for some nice pictures with the taxidermy animals scattered around. The restaurant is great. Service and food quality were excellent. The restaurant is located on the second floor and has a beautiful view of Lake Superior.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a pet you'll get stuck in a pet room. If not upgrade to a suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
509 reviews
21.4 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
2.0 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
44 reviews
6.8 mi away
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Property: Superior Shores Resort
Address: 1521 Superior Shores Dr, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Superior Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Shores Resort is located on Lake Superior in Two Harbors, Minnesota, twenty miles north of Duluth. The resort offers a variety of accommodations at three unique properties that include the Main Lodge, Burlington Bay, and the Lakehomes. Situated on sixty acres of north woods forest, the resort features over a mile of Lake Superior coastline. Conveniently located at the center of many North Shore attractions, including Gooseberry Falls, Split Rock Lighthouse, Canal Park and the Superior Hiking Trail, the resort is the perfect base camp location for your day tripping activities. With something for everyone, visit Superior Shores Resort and experience the North Shore at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Superior Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superior Shores Hotel Two Harbors
Superior Shores Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing