We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful park”

Gooseberry Falls State Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This North Shore park is home to a spectacular four-level waterfall, scenic overlooks and is ideal for trout fishing.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful park”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Beautiful park to walk and see some fabulous scenery. Recommend walking down to lake -- Had we planned better, we would have brought our lunch and had a picnic. There are many picnic opportunities along the way.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatieS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    223
    30
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We went during June 2013, and the weather was sunshine and about 60, which was beautiful. This park is gorgeous, and I loved taking pictures of the falls. I think we could have done much more, but the park was busy, much of it was closed due to construction, and my husband was sick. I would like to go back! We stayed at Larsmont Cottages the night before, and it was amazing and a short drive from the falls.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 562gingerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camdenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hiking and waterfalls!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent the day hiking at Gooseberry Falls State Park in July. There are many different trails you can choose depending on how far you want to go. The rangers in the visitors center were very friendly and helpful. It was very interesting to see the changes in the climate and foliage as you get closer to Lake Superior. In the interior of the park it was quite warm, but once we got closer to the lake, it was very cool. The different falls were beautiful and running hard since the area had just experienced quite a bit of rain. Dress in layers and don't forget the insect repellant!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JO_in_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Minnesota Scenery at it's Best!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you have never been to Gooseberry Falls at Two Harbors, Minnesota then you are missing a wonderful hiking, viewing and photo opportunity. The state of Minnesota has done a wonderful job of servicing the public with ample parking, a beautiful visitor center and well maintained trails with good signage. Oh yes, the "Falls", certainly not at their peak when we visited, but nonetheless a beautiful sight.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“take the trail to the lower falls - it is spectacular.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

If you don't want to do a lot of steps, a zig-zag path bypasses all steps for your added convenience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank H Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gooseberry Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Gooseberry Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing