We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Superior Gateway Lodge
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at Superior Gateway Lodge last weekend. It surpassed our expectations. Pat & Joe were wonderful hosts. Their relaxing surrounding were tranquil and serene. The jacuzzi was a nice finishing touch to a busy day. We are looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: The King suite with the double jacuzzi is a most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfhelp1948, Owner at Superior Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
It's a pleasure to host our Canadian friends! We sure enjoyed our visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
79
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Best 40th birthday surprise! We stayed just for one night, but the accommodations were exquisite! The owners are lovely and the location is peaceful and serene. I will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollins1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our weekend trip to Superior Gateway was our first B&B experience. We were accused of being a no show Friday, when our reservation started on Saturday (the owners acknowledged it was a mistake on their end but it still started our weekend on the wrong note). Then we arrive at the pre-communicated check in time to find the owners gone. There was another couple at the house who said they had been a left a note and their room key. The owners had forgotten to leave us a note or key so we had to awkwardly wait an hour until they returned. That left us feeling forgotten and quite disappointed. My husband and I are reasonable and patient people and we really wanted to have a good B&B stay but our weekend got worse and worse and it all stemmed around the very poor customer service. They never apologized for not leaving us our key or a note saying where they were. They simply shrugged it off like no big deal. The lodge and room were absolutely beautiful but it didn't make up for the disappointing service. I wouldn't wish our experience on anybody else and we will probably never stay at a B&B again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Superior Gateway Lodge last weekend and celebrated a birthday. I was amazed and enlightened by Joe and Pat. The Log Cabin is charming and cozy and the visit with them was a real blessing. They are such kind and loving people and really do their best to make your stay the best. My husband and I will go back again, hopefully during the summer, so we can enjoy the gardens next time.

Room Tip: Inquire more on the settings for the whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at the Superior Gateway Lodge for the first time this winter. The temperatures were bitter cold but they were no match for the cozy atmosphere of the lodge and the warmth of the hosts. The lodge is a stunning log home with an amazing story behind it and the wooded setting is spectacular! Joe and Pat are incredibly gracious hosts! They serve up a bountiful gourmet breakfast blending a variety of world cuisines with locally grown ingredients. Truly unique and delicious! Their vast knowledge & experience of the area was extremely helpful to us as we planned our activities during our stay. They genuinely understand and walk out true hospitality. We highly recommend this B&B as a peaceful oasis and a wonderful "gateway" to the area that is the beauty of the North Shore"!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfhelp1948, Owner at Superior Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We enjoyed an opportunity to serve you and share the wonderful North Shore area with you!
The majority of guests are surprised by the spectacular surroundings of Lake Superior and the countryside that is so rich with wildlife.
Hope to meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What a wonderful experience with very helpful & accommodating hosts. We visited in the dead of winter, but what a wonderland of white against a forested backdrop. Joe & Pat were willing to share their knowledge as little or as much as we wanted and went the extra mile to make our stay an experience. Beautiful views from our room as well as throughout the guest areas. Comfort at every turn, home grown produce was used as a preference and breakfast was a feast all cooked/prepared from scratch were possible with local produce.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelxxxxx19523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfhelp1948, Owner at Superior Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your response. We enjoyed your visit tremendously!
Pat & Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at this beautiful log-home bed and breakfast. It is a very peaceful place nestled in the woods, so we definitely felt like we were getting away from the hustle bustle of the city atmosphere. Yet, we were just a few miles from all the attractions. Pat and Joe were great hosts, very accommodating. They prepared a wonderful gourmet breakfast each morning. We definitely hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgs75028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfhelp1948, Owner at Superior Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
It was a wonderful to have you join us this fall for a getaway, at the lodge.
Be sure to come again for skiing, snowshoeing, winter sports or just a quiet time away.
We are also just off the MN State Trail and near Superior Hiking Trails.
Keep warm and have a wonderful winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
12.4 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
496 reviews
24.2 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
515 reviews
5.9 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
4.6 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
182 reviews
4.6 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Gateway Lodge

Property: Superior Gateway Lodge
Address: 465 Westover Rd, Two Harbors, MN 55616-1397
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Gateway Lodge is a majestic handcrafted White Pine log lodge that beckons you to stay a while. Located near Two Harbors, MN, this vacation rental is perfect for that special group or family getaway. We feature luxury Jacuzzi suites, a full kitchen, and a kitchenette. Make this your special "Gateway" to Lake Superior's spectacular North Shore attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing