We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If You Need To Escape in the Winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
275 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“If You Need To Escape in the Winter”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We would imagine this place takes on a much different persona during warmer weather than it does in the winter; but, no matter what time of the year this property sits immediately on the shores of Lake Superior and the views can be inspiring. Its proximity to Gooseberry Falls and Split Rock Lighthouse is excellent.

The first thing to know is the "Lodge" is a building that holds the restaurant, gift shop, pool and small meeting facilities as well as a handful of hotel rooms. All other accommodations are located all over the expansive property and are privately owned homes that are rented out by the hotel. During the cold of winter, there is little incentive to head off to the small indoor pool if you are staying in an outer building.

The parking area for arriving guests is very limited outside the "Lodge" building and was poorly cleaned of snow and ice. We were disappointed there was no fire in the fireplace at any time during our visit. That alone left us with a cold feeling rather than a warm and welcoming feeling that this simple act of hospitality would have generated. Dusty chandeliers and burnt-out light bulbs were not hard to miss and we cannot help wonder how the staff missed such basic attention to details.

Signage around the property is not too obvious and that may have been due to the large amount of snow being present. Even with a small map given to us at check-in, we had some initial problems finding our unit.

We stayed in a private home and we were disappointed in the maintenance quality of the unit. We though our room would have been in the Lodge building. There is "free" internet; but, even getting basic email was a challenge. If you need more speed it can be had for an additional charge. We wish the hotel was more upfront with information on what constituted "free" internet as it would have possibly changed our hotel selection. The in-room coffee was a welcomed amenity.

The comfort with our unit was limited and the bed proved to be comfortable. Being so remotely located this property offers a limited variety of cable television channels, especially for during wintertime when outdoor activities are more limited. The lighting in the bathroom was limited to that above the vanity and the tub/shower area was quite dim. The bath linens were very basic and not in keeping with a luxury property.

The most important point we would like to get across to readers is this property is "grand" in many ways; but, it is not luxurious as we were expecting based on this property's website content.

Room Tip: If you want room service, or convenient access to the restaurant or pool, you should stay in the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    123
    55
    28
    30
See reviews for
172
213
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bondurant, iowa, usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Took my family with 4 children up for the weekend. This was our second trip to Grand Superior Lodge, but our first stay in the lodge. The room accomodated our family of 6 with 2 Queen beds and a sofa sleeper very comfortable and spacious. Got a great off season rate. Did not have a view of the lake but the lake seems to always be there so didn't feel like we were missing out since it was winter. The front desk workers were friendly and accomodating, checked out movies and snowshoes, since not many guests this time of year had no issues with that. The pool and hot tub were nice but a bit small if everyone at the lodge wanted to use them. Sat at a fire outside one night, beautifull setting next to the lake. The resturant had great food, had breakfast and lunch. Great location for Two Harbors, Gooseberry and Split Rock. I would recommend Grand Superior to anyone that asked. We will return.

Room Tip: staying off season is less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
277 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Rustic log resort. We stayed in a three bedroom cottage. Very well doone and appointed with great views of Lake Superior. The staff was good. The bar area also had great views of the lake. Parking was difficult althought he resort was full and it was due to snow mobile trailers parked where they were not supposed to be. I can't wait to visit in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbythegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillman, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We spent a long weekend in one of the lodge rooms. The room was clean and comfortable with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. We spent the weekend snowmobiling so we really enjoyed the whirlpool and sauna. The snowmobile trail is conveniently located just across the road and connects to a main state trail 10 miles away. There are hundreds of miles of nicely groomed trails that run up the north shore. The Blu Ice Bar is a very unique.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Our (8th?) annual family getaway to the North Shore in winter. Located just 12 miles north of Two Harbors, and 1.5 miles south of Gooseberry State Park, this is a great location for winter getaways, about 3 hours north of the Twin Cities.

We rent one of the Lake Homes for our extended family of 10. This provides you with a walkout lower level studio, a main floor one bedroom unit with a full kitchen, and two additional suites on the upper floor, all with gas or woodburning fireplaces, with their own full baths, including whirlpool tubs. Great lakefront views from every unit. Comfortable beds, very clean, and the staff is very responsive to your needs (more towels, trash pick up, etc.)

The kitchen comes fairly well equipped for most basic needs, but bring your own specialty cooking items {and if you like to cook bring your own knives!}. The pool and hot tub in the main lodge is available for use, but neither are large. The ice bar is a memorable experience, even if you don't drink, go grab a hot something and enjoy the experience (weekends only, Fri & Sat).

The best perk is quick acess to Gooseberry for winter hiking or nordic skiing, depending upon conditions.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here over Christmas. Our family booked three rooms in the lodge. Quiet and comfortable sleeping.
Wish the Ice Bar would have been open but it is only open on weekends and Christmas was not on a weekend so it was closed. We would probably go back again, it was a bit pricey for not having much for extra perks but it is a nice place and our kids enjoyed the pool and whirlpool.

Room Tip: Slightly cheaper if you do not have a "lake view" and if you are in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was a great place to stay. The room was clean and the views are amazing. The food isnt the best. I got a suite for my girlfriend and I. Nothing to complain about. I would reccomend this hotel to couples rather than a large family. The location is great, very secluded and close to Goosberry falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
10.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Property: Grand Superior Lodge
Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing