We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding weekend”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The lodge did a great job of everything we needed for a beautiful wedding. Service, food, rooms all were wonderful. The view from rooms and the Splashing Rock can't be beat. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub also. The location is great for the north shore sights, shops and restaurants. We must return!

Room Tip: Room 105 - awesome for couples, room 112 great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMom8082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    123
    54
    28
    30
See reviews for
172
212
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beach Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

A couple of stays here in recent years were memorable. Nice views of the shoreline, quiet atmosphere prevailed, Manicured grounds and beautiful lodge rooms. We enjoyed the in-house eatery. Price specials made this property affordable for us. Staff was responsive and friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My two teenagers and I spent three days at the Grand Superior Lodge and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff was very attentive, the room we stayed in was neat and furnished in a cabin-esque style. The beds were comfortable and the view of the lake was amazing. The food at the Splashing Rock eaterie within the lodge was tasty and filling. The evening campfires along with smore fixings were a nice touch. We truly felt spoiled during our vacation at the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
275 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We would imagine this place takes on a much different persona during warmer weather than it does in the winter; but, no matter what time of the year this property sits immediately on the shores of Lake Superior and the views can be inspiring. Its proximity to Gooseberry Falls and Split Rock Lighthouse is excellent.

The first thing to know is the "Lodge" is a building that holds the restaurant, gift shop, pool and small meeting facilities as well as a handful of hotel rooms. All other accommodations are located all over the expansive property and are privately owned homes that are rented out by the hotel. During the cold of winter, there is little incentive to head off to the small indoor pool if you are staying in an outer building.

The parking area for arriving guests is very limited outside the "Lodge" building and was poorly cleaned of snow and ice. We were disappointed there was no fire in the fireplace at any time during our visit. That alone left us with a cold feeling rather than a warm and welcoming feeling that this simple act of hospitality would have generated. Dusty chandeliers and burnt-out light bulbs were not hard to miss and we cannot help wonder how the staff missed such basic attention to details.

Signage around the property is not too obvious and that may have been due to the large amount of snow being present. Even with a small map given to us at check-in, we had some initial problems finding our unit.

We stayed in a private home and we were disappointed in the maintenance quality of the unit. We though our room would have been in the Lodge building. There is "free" internet; but, even getting basic email was a challenge. If you need more speed it can be had for an additional charge. We wish the hotel was more upfront with information on what constituted "free" internet as it would have possibly changed our hotel selection. The in-room coffee was a welcomed amenity.

The comfort with our unit was limited and the bed proved to be comfortable. Being so remotely located this property offers a limited variety of cable television channels, especially for during wintertime when outdoor activities are more limited. The lighting in the bathroom was limited to that above the vanity and the tub/shower area was quite dim. The bath linens were very basic and not in keeping with a luxury property.

The most important point we would like to get across to readers is this property is "grand" in many ways; but, it is not luxurious as we were expecting based on this property's website content.

Room Tip: If you want room service, or convenient access to the restaurant or pool, you should stay in the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondurant, iowa, usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Took my family with 4 children up for the weekend. This was our second trip to Grand Superior Lodge, but our first stay in the lodge. The room accomodated our family of 6 with 2 Queen beds and a sofa sleeper very comfortable and spacious. Got a great off season rate. Did not have a view of the lake but the lake seems to always be there so didn't feel like we were missing out since it was winter. The front desk workers were friendly and accomodating, checked out movies and snowshoes, since not many guests this time of year had no issues with that. The pool and hot tub were nice but a bit small if everyone at the lodge wanted to use them. Sat at a fire outside one night, beautifull setting next to the lake. The resturant had great food, had breakfast and lunch. Great location for Two Harbors, Gooseberry and Split Rock. I would recommend Grand Superior to anyone that asked. We will return.

Room Tip: staying off season is less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
277 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Rustic log resort. We stayed in a three bedroom cottage. Very well doone and appointed with great views of Lake Superior. The staff was good. The bar area also had great views of the lake. Parking was difficult althought he resort was full and it was due to snow mobile trailers parked where they were not supposed to be. I can't wait to visit in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbythegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillman, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We spent a long weekend in one of the lodge rooms. The room was clean and comfortable with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. We spent the weekend snowmobiling so we really enjoyed the whirlpool and sauna. The snowmobile trail is conveniently located just across the road and connects to a main state trail 10 miles away. There are hundreds of miles of nicely groomed trails that run up the north shore. The Blu Ice Bar is a very unique.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
10.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Property: Grand Superior Lodge
Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing