We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property on shore of Superior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Grand Superior has a good mix of nice cabins and a lodge with hotel rooms. We stayed in the lodge, renting two rooms for our party. The one bedroom suite was nice and we used the living room for our gatherings, as the other room was a standard hotel type set up with two queen beds in one room. The grounds are nice but for some reason people tend to leave trash about, especially at the places where camp fires are built. The staff was friendly and gave us some tips about places to visit along the shore. Breakfast in the restaurant was good and the prices aren't too high. Retail is 10 miles away in Two Harbors so plan for a trip or two for supplies if you are staying in a cabin with a kitchen or want some beverages other than from the bar. The bar has a nice deck with great views. Overall a very nice property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddog87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at Grand Superior Lodge. We are happy that you enjoyed the accommodation as well as the location of our facility in accordance to the many different hiking and state parks conveniently located near our resort. We thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

My adult daughters and I came to the Grand Superior Lodge to celebrate their birthdays. We stayed two nights in a two bedroom log cabin. We thought the cabin was very nice, comfortable and clean. We enjoyed playing the games in the cupboard and sitting on our deck in the evening. We especially enjoyed the campfires down by the lake in the evening! Overall, we enjoyed our experience, but I do think the cabin was too expensive given the accommodations. A two night stay was $800! We ate one meal - breakfast - in the Splashing Rock restaurant. The food was very average, but we were especially disappointed in the caramel sticky bun. It was neither caramelly or sticky! It had two pecans in the entire roll. We should have sent it back............Otherwise, the service was pretty good at the resort and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliebartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I attended my best friends wedding at this resort this past weekend. There were issues when booking a room 6 months ago and the issues didn't stop when we arrived.

Check-in was at 4:30 but we were able to check-in at 3:30pm when we arrived; which was nice. The bride and groom couldn't check-in until 4:30pm. The bride and groom brought welcome baskets for their guests, labeled with guest names according to rooms and the front desk staff put the wrong baskets in the guest's rooms, leaving the bride having to direct the front desk staff and make changes to the baskets already in the rooms.

We were able to decorate the banquet room Friday night for the Saturday wedding; which was great. However; the linen color was wrong and I had to tell the front desk to change the lines, there was a brown colored liquid dripping from the ceiling on the head table, which I had to go tell the front desk about also and was told "we don't have any maintance people available overnight"! The linens were changed later that day and the leak was fixed the next day but the stafff was not very accomidating to concerns and didn't seem to have the time of day to take care of guest concerns.

The biggest frustrations came the day of the wedding! The bride and grrom's contract stated that if all of the wedding block rooms were not filled then the music had to stop at 10pm, however I was told at 10am by the front desk staff on the day of the wedding that all of the wedding block rooms were booked but that I would need to talk to Reba, the wedding coordinator, about extending the time of the music. Twenty minutes later the front desk staff found the wedding party in the restaurant and stated she spoke with Reba and the music could go until midnight as all of the wedding block rooms were booked by wedding guests. So the DJ was contacted and arrangements were made for the music to go until midnight. At 8pm, the bride was approached by Reba stating the music was needing to end at 10pm as not all of the rooms in the block were booked and other guest was complaining of noise. The bride should not have to deal with this HUGE error on her wedding night!!!! So as the maid of honor, I spent 1 hour negotiating with Reba about how this screw-up by the resort was now the bride and grooms problem. I was told by Reba "we need to take care of all of our guest"! Well there was no takign care of the 60+ guests who were at the wedding who rented $200+/night rooms at this overpriced resort. Rebas included a manager, Dee, who was very friendly and accomidating. The dance was allowed to go until 11pm as the room that complained agreed upon that. This kind of service is just unacceptable! Especially at a $200+/night facility.

Prior to the wedding starting I also I had to call the front desk to have chairs set up when the wedding was starting in one hour and the patio was yet to be set up. We also had to rearrange the chairs as the spacing was ridiculous.

As I was saying at the beginning the issues started at the booking process. Many guests of the wedding were either told there was no block and placed outside of the block or that the block was full. Major miscommunication!!!!

The resort has beautiful views but the service is subpar and the cost is overpriced!!!!!!!! I would not recommend this place except for the view!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I love it's location, two miles from Gooseberry Falls and 6 miles from Split Rock Lighthouse. The lodge itself is very clean and cozy. Right on the shore, very beautiful. We stayed into room, not cabin, and I thought it was very pricy, about twice as much as I'd like to pay, but we did have a gorgeous view. So if you're not on a low budget, you'll enjoy it. It has very gorgeous location and view.

Room Tip: The one with the view on a lake is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were quite disappointed with our stay. The property is not worth the price tag. Customer service at the front desk and restaurant was lacking. We had issues in our room including a backed up sink drain, poor to no internet service and leaking bath tub. All problems were reported to the front desk on the first of our three day stay and none were handled by the time we left - even after a couple of prompts. We could not enjoy the bike rental because the trail begins 2 miles down the road from the lodge and the only option to get there via bike is on the busy highway. Certainly not appropriate riding with an 8 year old. S'mores were great at night but even then, finding graham crackers that weren't crushed was difficult. The weather was gorgeous during our stay and we would have loved to open our windows but they had no screens. Overall the property would be fine if paying $115 a night. Unfortunately neither the service or the property lived up to the "luxury" billing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MWTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to personal apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually to do our very best for all of our guest and its unfortunate that you were not able to receive the hospitality you expected. I am happy to report that the clogged drain and leaking bathtub have all been fixed in the unit you had stayed in last month. As for the complimentary bikes, the nearest trail to our resort would be 2 miles north as you enter Gooseberry Falls. The side of the road has been zoned for bikers and runners but it is ultimately up to the discretion of the guest if they would like to bike up to the trail head. Nightly complimentary smores at our fire pits are endless. We are sorry that other guests had crushed the graham crackers for you but they are refilled throughout the night.
Again, we apologize our resort did not meet your expectations and hope you are able to give us another chance in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We chose Grand Superior Lodge for a week's family stay to celebrate a wedding anniversary. Our accommodations were the 4-bedroom family-style log home on Lake Superior, which is half of a large lake shore home. There was one bedroom downstairs, one on the main floor, and two upstairs. Accommodations are semi-self-hosted, and the log home was furnished with a full kitchen (fridge, stove/range, dishwasher, coffee maker), as well as a basic supply of cooking pans (one pan each size) and dishes with place settings for 12. The two bedrooms upstairs (where the kids ended up for obvious reasons) contained king beds; the main floor and garden level bedroom contained below-average-comfort full-size beds (odd, considering there was plenty of space for kings). Accommodations are near a busy road, and are what one might call a suburban-style getaway instead of an isolated one.

Pros: Rooms are rustically but tastefully decorated, with gas fireplaces and jacuzzi tub access for each bedroom. Shower water pressure is good upstairs (but poor in the lower level). The view of the lake from the log home is spectacular. Other pros include: lakeside family campfires (Lodge staff will provide firewood and light it for you); and spacious living areas for family to gather. The Splashing Rock Restaurant is onsite (I will do a separate review of that). There are some onsite activities offered for kids (such as bracelet making, sidewalk chalk fun, and smores making) - these were well organized and enjoyed. Maintenance staff responded promptly and cheerfully when direct requests were made for firewood, trash pickup, etc.

Cons: one expects a certain level of service from a property in this price range - even for a semi-self-hosted accommodation. The issues relating to the Grand Superior Lodge are, in my opinion, due to a lack of staff development/training and supervisor oversight. Examples include, 1) Our check in experience: we arrived at 3:15, were told check in was at 4:30 (this seems exceptionally late). No suggestion to enjoy a coffee or a drink at the restaurant, etc. We were tired from driving, so we returned to our vehicle where we read the paper and napped. Returned at 4:30 to check in. However, the staffer interrupted our check-in by taking an outside telephone call from a potential customer. No "excuse me," or anything like that, nor did she put the call on hold until the customer in front of her - us - was taken care of, and we were left standing there. Note: we were the sole guests checking in then. Another staffer eventually finished our check-in. 2) The Lodge advertises guest ability to participate in a number of activities such as guided fishing, but there is no concierge service to arrange activities, and staff are not trained to adequately direct guests to activities services. We ended up locating and scheduling some activities on our own. 3) Guest room preparation - we variously had to call for dishwasher soap, a working lightbulb for a lamp, and additional kitchen towels/dishcloth and garbage bags, which should have been in adequate supply for a week's rental (same goes for the toilet paper). In addition, rooms contained cobwebs, we picked up broken glass from the kitchen floor and deck, and the clock radio was broken in one room. 4) Staff response to wi-fi interruption was poor. Called 3 times over the course of 24 hours, and was variously told "it was the rain," "it should work soon," etc. Finally got a front desk shift that said they called the ISP. Called again after another hour, and was eventually put in touch with the ISP myself after front desk confusion - the ISP said that should have been done immediately; turns out the ISP has a 24/7 trouble line that could have been used by staff to clear up the problem when alerted 24 hours earlier. 5) the indoor pool is quite cold, 6) the shared lake homes are not well-insulated for sound, and we were woken by the occupants of the other half of the house clomping around and up and down the stairs.

Likely the majority of guests will not notice these service issues, and will enjoy their stay at Grand Superior Lodge; however, guests who expect a certain level of service should take note of these potential issues and be prepared to prompt staff or adjust their expectations.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Inge1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us in July. We are overjoyed to hear that you found our amenities such as bracelet making, sidewalk chalk fun, and smores making as well as the complimentary fires along the shoreline exceeded your expectations. As for your accommodation, you mentioned that your unit had two king beds upstairs and a full bed on the main level of your unit. Due to the fact that all of our outside units are individually owned, it is up to the owners which size beds are put in each unit. That is why it may have seemed odd to you that there was not a King bed in the downstairs of that particular unit.
You had mentioned in your review that the check in time seemed "exceptionally late" and so I wanted to address why we have a later check in time. Because we are a destination resort and our lake homes and cabins offer full kitchens, living rooms, fireplaces and whirlpools, our check in time may be slightly later compared to a hotel or motel. We only guarantee our rooms to be ready at 4:30pm. If our rooms are ready before then we are more than happy to check our guests in.
We do have several amenities that are offered at our resort such as the charter fishing, Guided kayak tours, complimentary smores and fires on the beach. Our activities for the day as well as the week are listed at the front desk where you would have check in and we go over all the amenities when you check in. I do apologize if a staff member was unable to adequately inform you of the amenities taking place. I will personally talk to each member of the front desk staff and make sure they are well versed on the amenities our resort offers.
As for the items in your unit. I am not sure if it was mentioned to you when you had made the reservation but this is explained as a part our our reservation process that there is no stay over service in our outside units meaning housekeeping does not go into each unit each day of your stay, so additional items that guests need are brought out complimentary. I do apologize for the broken glass and cob webs. There is no excuse for that and have talked to our housekeeping manager regarding the issue.
Our WiFi is available complimentary however, as is the norm along the north shore, poor weather conditions can affect the service WiFi. We do have a help line located at the front desk, but as in past experiences by calling them we still had to wait out the weather. I do apologize that you were unable to connect to your internet devices. We do however, have a complimentary computer along with a printer located in our main lobby for guest use.
Finally, the noise you mentioned from the lake homes. It has never been brought to our attention from past guests, that doesn't mean that there hasn't been noise. Having our lake homes situated 50 feet from the shore line, guest often take advantage of opening their windows at night and listening to the waves splashing which provide a perfect white noise for those light sleepers.

Again I would like to apologize that certain aspects of our resort was unable to provide the certain level of service you were expecting. I will look into each of the issues that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel polices. We do hope you are able to come back and give us another chance to show you true customer service.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We came here for a wedding. Which is very picturesque and has lots of great photo opportunities on sight for a wedding. That being said I didn't book the place for the amenities and was pleasantly surprised with what was included with the stay. Kayaks, canoes, bikes, numerous firepits, movie rentals, pool and crafts for kids.

It was close to Gooseberry Falls(2mi) and Split Rock Light House (10mi) which made it nice so I could get a run in and enjoy the sights :)

I left wishing I had more time to utilize all of their activites and hope to return in the future. It was a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billigj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
451 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
547 reviews
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: £64 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing